We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 1,379 Xi'an B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the nicest places we stayed in China.  Rooms were of 3 star standard pretty much.  Great shower and comfortable beds.  Room was quite dark and a little cold in the evening but I didn't mind that.  Location is good about a 15-20 minute walk from the Drum Tower and Muslim Quarter.  Staff were friendly and the food at the bar was okay.  Drink were quite expensive tho so we made use of happy hour.  They had live music on the nights we were there which was cool.  The music always stopped around 11pm
So it didnt keep us up. We also got our laundry done for a good price and did a tour to the terracotta warriors which was worth doing - our guide lady JaJa was amazing and we learnt lots. The reception staff also managed to find some people from another hostel to arrange a tour to the Emperor Jingli tomb which was worth doing - good service. Wi-fi was good although almost ground to a halt when it got busy. Good place to meet people too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    60
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
140
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in a queen room with ensuite in early October 2013. I would highly recommend this hostel.

The room we stayed in was small - just enough room for the bed, and a console/desk. However, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It also had a flat screen TV. The bathroom was relatively large, modern and clean with a western toilet. It was a great place to stay - very centrally located in the middle of the old city of Xian. Very quiet at night. There was also a locked security door to the bedroom section that only guests could access.

The hostel is professionally managed, and the staff were all friendly, efficient and spoke excellent English.

The restaurant downstairs served excellent coffee, and the food was okay too. If you want beer, I suggest you try buying cans in the shop across the road - as it is very expensive in the hostel.

There was very comprehensive information about local sites and tours available in the restaurant or from hostel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple (we are all in our mid 60's) had a wonderful stay at Hantang House. The staff was very helpful. Daisy had corresponded with me several times and set up our transportation to and from the airport. The food was great and we enjoyed the "dumpling party" . It was an excellent location. The hostel provides a tour to the Terra Cotta Warriors, so it was easy to arrange and we met people that were also staying at the Hostel. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamalley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the centre of Xi'an in a silent and quiet street. It's in front of a shop where you can buy bottles of one and half litre of water for only 2,5 RMB each. They speak english. Our room was large with three big single beds, air conditioner and a clean and large bathroom decked with a plant. You can eat and drink in there. In the evening you can learn to do ravioli-dumplings, listen to music or other activities. I advise you to take part in their tour of terracotta warriors: no shopping, with a tourist guide who gave us the chance to visit with calm the location. Then you can eat tasty meal in a restaurant for juas 30 RMB.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diditi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

As a couple of reviews have stated before - this is not a hostel. The only reason they can call themselves this is because they have dorm rooms. In every other sense it is a hotel and doesn't cater to backpackers.

We didn't eat or drink here as there are loads of cheap delicious restaurants and street stall nearby. But if we did, it would chew through our daily budget in a couple of meals - the prices are ridiculous (28RMB for tea!).

The staff aren't hugely helpful or friendly. We asked for a local market to buy fruit and they directed us to a seafood centre (?!). Eventually we found loads of cheap fruit near the bird market. It seems they can only offer information on the tours they have available, not much else.

On a positive note, the dorm rooms were very clean and comfortable with individual lights and an en suit bathroom.
A good location too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holliesherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really high-level hostel, above european standards for cleanliness and confort. Big single beds pretty confortable, amazing common room where to meet guys from all across the world.
Also enjoyable are the little trips organized by the staff, the Terracotta Warriors one is amazing and very valuable for the quality/price rate

Room Tip: tried only private room with 3 beds, but it works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mango991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very clean accommodation and helpful staff. Michael taught us how to count to ten in Chinese.

Price of beer was expensive but they are happy for you to buy beer from supermarket across the road and drink outside.

Food was cheaper across the road too but you had to eat it, on a table, in the street. 4 yuen for wonton soup was good enough for breakfast. Most people ate further down the road - 10 yuen but you could sit indoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.8 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,550 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Property: Hantang House
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,379 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hantang House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing