We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I MADE A VERY GOOD DEAL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 1,370 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I MADE A VERY GOOD DEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the centre of Xi'an in a silent and quiet street. It's in front of a shop where you can buy bottles of one and half litre of water for only 2,5 RMB each. They speak english. Our room was large with three big single beds, air conditioner and a clean and large bathroom decked with a plant. You can eat and drink in there. In the evening you can learn to do ravioli-dumplings, listen to music or other activities. I advise you to take part in their tour of terracotta warriors: no shopping, with a tourist guide who gave us the chance to visit with calm the location. Then you can eat tasty meal in a restaurant for juas 30 RMB.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diditi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    131
    60
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
136
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

As a couple of reviews have stated before - this is not a hostel. The only reason they can call themselves this is because they have dorm rooms. In every other sense it is a hotel and doesn't cater to backpackers.

We didn't eat or drink here as there are loads of cheap delicious restaurants and street stall nearby. But if we did, it would chew through our daily budget in a couple of meals - the prices are ridiculous (28RMB for tea!).

The staff aren't hugely helpful or friendly. We asked for a local market to buy fruit and they directed us to a seafood centre (?!). Eventually we found loads of cheap fruit near the bird market. It seems they can only offer information on the tours they have available, not much else.

On a positive note, the dorm rooms were very clean and comfortable with individual lights and an en suit bathroom.
A good location too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holliesherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really high-level hostel, above european standards for cleanliness and confort. Big single beds pretty confortable, amazing common room where to meet guys from all across the world.
Also enjoyable are the little trips organized by the staff, the Terracotta Warriors one is amazing and very valuable for the quality/price rate

Room Tip: tried only private room with 3 beds, but it works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mango991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
191 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very clean accommodation and helpful staff. Michael taught us how to count to ten in Chinese.

Price of beer was expensive but they are happy for you to buy beer from supermarket across the road and drink outside.

Food was cheaper across the road too but you had to eat it, on a table, in the street. 4 yuen for wonton soup was good enough for breakfast. Most people ate further down the road - 10 yuen but you could sit indoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México, D.F.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hantang is a perfect option if you are thinking about a good hostel in Xi'An. The location is perfect, near a metro station and principal attractions in the old part of Xi'An. The rooms are almost new and very very clean; the staff is helpful and they have good options for tours. You will spend around 7 dolars a night for an incredible clean room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Before I start I will say my partner and I are 25 and 23 and have stayed in a lot of hostels in Australia and Asia in the past 14 months whilst travelling so we are not picky or judgemental.

Positives are 8 bed dorm room was great. Comfy beds, great shower and toilet facilities.

Negatives is the hostel charge extra for everything. I am travelling on a budget yet its 100RMB deposit per room key. Towels are 30RMB deposit. Extra butter and jam for breakfast is 2RMB. Free hotpot night on a Thursday is in fact not free its 15RMB per person.

Hostel is extremely expensive for food and drinks considering your in China. Example, hostel beer is 20/30RMB yet convenience store 10 paces away has large bottles for 2.5RMB. However, this may be to do with the fact that a coffee chain is based in the hostel.

Wi-Fi not great struggled using it in rooms and even sometimes in the lobby area.

Considering all other hostels we have stayed in over past year, this has zero traveller spirit or atmosphere. Think they are trying to be a hotel/B'n'B rather than a hostel and it tells.

Special note to Abby behind reception who came with us to China Unicom store and sorted us with Chinese SIM cards, would have been impossible task otherwise.

All in all, if I was booking again as a traveller I would choose elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighPhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at hantang house in a private double.
The room was spacious and clean with a private toilet and shower.
The staff at the hostel were good when asked for information we even went on their free walking tour of the muslin district with them despite know how to get there it was good to speak to a local and they even helped us with haggling and ordering some food.

The main reason to come to xian is the terracotta warriors and we went on the hostel trip to this. It was good we got an airconditioned coach and the guide was very knowledgable. The lunch maybe wasnt the greatest though we were asked do you want lunch and we agreed so you have an opt out. It was CNY30 per person for a selection of dishes in a restaurant near when the bus parks. At just over £3 its not alot and you can try some dishes so its ok it was just that some people expected to pick their lunch from a menu so i thought i would mention it. Overall the tour is worth doing to get extra info and avoid the crowds even thought you can get a bus to the site yourself and save money.

The hostel had live music most of the nights we were their it could be heard from our room on the second floor however this wasnt a big issue as it started at half 9 and finished before 11 so wont interrupt anyones sleep just prepare yourself for some Neil Diamond.

Food in the hostel was good but a bit on the higher end of the price scale for china as were the drinks thought there is a supermarket right across the street and may street vendors around if your counting the pennies.

Overall a very good hostel with a nice atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#45 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Property: Hantang House
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,370 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing