We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location, excelent quality-price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 1,370 Xi'an B&B and Inns
México, D.F.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location, excelent quality-price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hantang is a perfect option if you are thinking about a good hostel in Xi'An. The location is perfect, near a metro station and principal attractions in the old part of Xi'An. The rooms are almost new and very very clean; the staff is helpful and they have good options for tours. You will spend around 7 dolars a night for an incredible clean room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    131
    60
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
136
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Before I start I will say my partner and I are 25 and 23 and have stayed in a lot of hostels in Australia and Asia in the past 14 months whilst travelling so we are not picky or judgemental.

Positives are 8 bed dorm room was great. Comfy beds, great shower and toilet facilities.

Negatives is the hostel charge extra for everything. I am travelling on a budget yet its 100RMB deposit per room key. Towels are 30RMB deposit. Extra butter and jam for breakfast is 2RMB. Free hotpot night on a Thursday is in fact not free its 15RMB per person.

Hostel is extremely expensive for food and drinks considering your in China. Example, hostel beer is 20/30RMB yet convenience store 10 paces away has large bottles for 2.5RMB. However, this may be to do with the fact that a coffee chain is based in the hostel.

Wi-Fi not great struggled using it in rooms and even sometimes in the lobby area.

Considering all other hostels we have stayed in over past year, this has zero traveller spirit or atmosphere. Think they are trying to be a hotel/B'n'B rather than a hostel and it tells.

Special note to Abby behind reception who came with us to China Unicom store and sorted us with Chinese SIM cards, would have been impossible task otherwise.

All in all, if I was booking again as a traveller I would choose elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighPhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at hantang house in a private double.
The room was spacious and clean with a private toilet and shower.
The staff at the hostel were good when asked for information we even went on their free walking tour of the muslin district with them despite know how to get there it was good to speak to a local and they even helped us with haggling and ordering some food.

The main reason to come to xian is the terracotta warriors and we went on the hostel trip to this. It was good we got an airconditioned coach and the guide was very knowledgable. The lunch maybe wasnt the greatest though we were asked do you want lunch and we agreed so you have an opt out. It was CNY30 per person for a selection of dishes in a restaurant near when the bus parks. At just over £3 its not alot and you can try some dishes so its ok it was just that some people expected to pick their lunch from a menu so i thought i would mention it. Overall the tour is worth doing to get extra info and avoid the crowds even thought you can get a bus to the site yourself and save money.

The hostel had live music most of the nights we were their it could be heard from our room on the second floor however this wasnt a big issue as it started at half 9 and finished before 11 so wont interrupt anyones sleep just prepare yourself for some Neil Diamond.

Food in the hostel was good but a bit on the higher end of the price scale for china as were the drinks thought there is a supermarket right across the street and may street vendors around if your counting the pennies.

Overall a very good hostel with a nice atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. We had a nice double room, it was really clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was really clean, more a wet room but the hostel provided towels which I thought was really good. It had a nice atmosphere around the place with a pool table downstairs and a ping pong table and couches upstairs. The staff were really friendly and we booked our tour to the terra-cotta warriors with the hostel and it was really good fun with a great guide Ja-Ja!! we also booked the panda tour through the hostel which we found to be the highlight of our trip to china! The location was so great, really easy to walk around with shops and restaurants nearby and the metro very close.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor for 2 nights and the 1st floor our last night and we had wifi in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank total_ledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

While Xi'an isn't the most beautiful city in China, this hostel brightens your day from a long and exhaustive trip through the city. There is some (not all) English-speaking staff and are really helpful. There's good food, laundry service, wi-fi, etc... The best thing was that I met a lot of Western travelers. It feels good to speak your own language or English to people in a country where you don't understand anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great hostel - the rooms are clean, staff are friendly and it's incredible we'll set up for travellers. The shower was great and to have such an on suite at a hostel is a first.

I would also recommend the tour to the warriors. It was informative and then tour guide was excellent.

Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor as the live music can make it a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebloom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely chilled out hostel located in the centre of Xi'an convenient for everywhere an they organize excellent reasonably prices tours to all the major attractions.
Reception staff especially Daisy are extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and good facilities, we had a twin room for 200 which I thought reasonable.
I wasn't mad about the hostel food and the beers are much cheaper at the food staffs just outside the front door where you can sit, sip a cheap beer and soak it all up.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#44 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Property: Hantang House
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,370 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing