We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hantang House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
157
155
64
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
155
64
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hostelhan tang househostel hotelno elevatormuslim quarterterracotta warriorsbell towerbeds are super comfortablefree walking tourprivate bathroomtrain stationbed dorm roomthird floorsocial atmospherewestern foodsmall supermarketlight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 401 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the dorm but the quality of the room was impressive - clean, spacious, new and cosy. Location is also great - close to bell tower, metro and bus stations, can even try walking to the South Gate like I did. The only thing I didn't like was slow and sporadic wifi - but this is only a minor issue and the hostel was great overall. Also good value for money as I paid half of what I paid in Beijing. Definitely recommend and would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a double private room. The rooms are very modern and have more of a hotel feel. Really nice bathrooms and the room itself is a good size. The bed was the best we've had in China. Lovely and soft. The lobby area has seating areas a restaurant. The staff weren't overly friendly and were always so busy that we never felt they and time to answer our questions. The reception area is not well planned as there is too much going on. It is where people check in/out, where food is ordered, where questions are asked, where the bar drinks are ordered! You get the point. The staff are run off their feet!
We had stayed at their sister hotel Shuyuan Hostel also in Xi'an and we have to say we much preferred it. The layout was much better and the staff were much more accommodating.
The location of the Hantang is great though as it is near the bell and drum tower and the muslin quarter too. We also organised the terracotta warrior tour from the hostel which was really good with a great guide.
I don't think you'll be disappointed staying here as overall it is a good hostel. As long as you don't get to experience their other sister hostels then you'll think this one is great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night. Actually, it turned out that we had made the booking for the wrong date but the staff was very helpful and we were able to get the last two beds in a dorm. Inside the hotel it had a great atmosphere, however, there didn't seem to be much social going on the night we were there. But we experienced a bit of a problem with our room. The aircondition wasn't working for a reason we didn't quite understand. And the fan in the ceiling was only working when the lights were turned on - which is not ideal when you want to sleep. We asked the staff about this and they couldn't do much to help other than get a small fan in the room which made it an incredibly hot night. This may seem like a small thing but in the situation it is quite important that something like this is fixed.
The next day we went on a terra cotta warriors tour arranged by the hostel and the tour guide was so nice. She was really attentive to the fact that we had to get back at a certain time to be able to catch our flight. And this was much appreciated.
Overall, the hostel was good but not great as it didn't have the small things that make it really nice compared to other hostels

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mads R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the best hostel in my opinion. The beds were comfortable, the toilet was modern and clean. The dorm we stayed in could've passed as a hotel! Did not try the food but the rooms were really the best I've stayed in! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a private twin room for 1 night - the room was very big, especially for a youth hostel, and the very nicely furnished. The beds in particular were very impressive - more comfortable than the 5-star hotel we stayed in in Shanghai, and my bed at home.

The food was decent, and it was nice to have a decent approximation of fish and chips so far from home.

Staff mostly had good english skills, and were quite helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews