We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot in Xian, very obliging staff”
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 1,403 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Located an easy walking distance from the Muslim night market, this guesthouse was a great place to stay in Xian. The rooms were very nice, almost hotel standard though the vibe remained that of a hostel. The staff organised a private driver to take us to see the terracotta warriors then on to Jingdi's tomb, as none of their tours offered what we wanted. This was very reasonably priced and perfect for us. Would recommend to pretty much anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you ever visited China you'll understand why a staff that speaks English can be so invaluable. But these guys go the extra mile and are always trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They'll tell you how to visit Xi'an main attractions without breaking your bank.
The hostel is a good value for money, it's well located, and has a bar/café that serves western food (if you stay long enough in China, you'll miss it!).
Just a warning that the rooms can be very noisy during weekends, as there is live music in the bar, so it may not be the right choice for families with kids.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If you're coming to Xian you should stay at the Hantang House or Inn. This hostel
Completely made our experience in Xian. They had fantastic food and REALLY good coffee. A really fun atmosphere and a great selection of tap beers. I was so surprised when we got up to our room
and it was like a hotel. I've never stayed in a hostel that was that fancy, clean or comfortable. The beds are SO
Comfortable. Usually Asian beds are hard but these were soft.

The tours they offer are good and quite good value. We did the terra-cotta warriors and the dance show/dumplings.

The staff are AMAZING. I can't believe how helpful they are. They would do anything for you and answer any questions and do everything they can to make sure you enjoy yourself.

I am 28 and enjoyed the 'hostel' side of it which is the bar upstairs. My mother stayed with us and she is 60 and she enjoyed it too. So pretty much all ages.

Highly recommend it. I'll go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a Double Room. Han Tang House was the best and least expensive hostel we stayed in China (not sure why it is listed under B&B/Inns). Details of our stay:

Pros
- Room: more like a hotel room than a hostel! Modern, clean, comfortable size.
- Location: within the city walls. Easy to walk to Bell Tower, city walls, and Muslim Quarter; public transportation nearby.
- Tour Coordination: no need to book anything before arriving- variety of trips offered daily.
- Free Wifi: only works in common areas.
- Staff: very helpful and friendly, all spoke English quite well.

Cons
Minor, but-
- Food and beer is expensive (but good)
- Live music can be a bit loud

Suggestions
- House vs. Inn: Han Tang has 2 hostels on the same small street. Know which one you are staying at to avoid momentary panic that you don't have a reservation. Coming from the airport bus you will pass the Inn first.
- Grocery Store: directly across the street

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtwsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Han tang house is a retreat in this busy city. We would stay here again, but the hotel should stop all smoking in the cafe area and think about noise from other guests returning in the night.
The hotel is very clean and we definetly recommend to stay here if you go to Xi'an.
The staff is the most competent and wellcoming people we have meet in China. If you nede anything, Sasha can help you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Han Tang Inn (the sister hostel of Hantang house) late in the night after 2am. Even if we booked before for Hantang house they moved us here. When we arrived in front of the building didn't know what to believe but because it was late there was no point to be suspicious and afraid of the accommodation (in China it can be tricky sometimes). So we step in, took the key and went to sleep. The room was amazingly good.. big and warm with 2 single beds bigger than the normal size, a desk and a tv. Inside this hostel it's like a small paradise with many courtyards (first floor and roof top) and sauna. Every morning we had breakfast in the hostel before going out. The breakfast is also cheap and consistent so you can have energy to explore the beauty of Xi'an. The stuff are nice, friendly and useful, giving us a good advice every time we asked. And even if you usually expect younger people in a hostel here you could find all the ages.
Also it's close to the Drum Tower (5min walking) so really convenient while visiting and when you don't have too much time to lose.
Amazing hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You should know that if you rent a private room, there's lots of variation. The type I reserved was apparently unavailable when I arrived, so they put me in another for the first two nights, then let me move for the next three. The first (201) was clean but VERY small, with no desk or table of any kind and a bathroom where the shower almost points right down at the toilet. It also was loud, as it was right next to the stairwell and the shared bathrooms. The second room (505) was wonderful--big, quiet, with a desk and large bathroom with separate, enclosed shower. Both rooms were clean, but there are no toiletries besides a towel (which is not changed out daily). The cafe/bar is nice, with good wireless and three shared computers. The tours they book are good and don't have forced shopping or weird stuff like that. One of the staff members is always grouchy, but all the rest are extremely friendly, helpful, and patient in communicating in English, even if they don't know it perfectly. (I speak Chinese, but I heard them talking with lots of travellers who don't.) If I went back to Xi'an, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,643 in Xi'an
908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#60 of 2,643 in Xi'an
921 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,643 in Xi'an
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,403 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range: $10 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hantang House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing