We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good surprise!!!”
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 1,388 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good surprise!!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Han Tang Inn (the sister hostel of Hantang house) late in the night after 2am. Even if we booked before for Hantang house they moved us here. When we arrived in front of the building didn't know what to believe but because it was late there was no point to be suspicious and afraid of the accommodation (in China it can be tricky sometimes). So we step in, took the key and went to sleep. The room was amazingly good.. big and warm with 2 single beds bigger than the normal size, a desk and a tv. Inside this hostel it's like a small paradise with many courtyards (first floor and roof top) and sauna. Every morning we had breakfast in the hostel before going out. The breakfast is also cheap and consistent so you can have energy to explore the beauty of Xi'an. The stuff are nice, friendly and useful, giving us a good advice every time we asked. And even if you usually expect younger people in a hostel here you could find all the ages.
Also it's close to the Drum Tower (5min walking) so really convenient while visiting and when you don't have too much time to lose.
Amazing hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    143
    64
    14
    7
See reviews for
38
147
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You should know that if you rent a private room, there's lots of variation. The type I reserved was apparently unavailable when I arrived, so they put me in another for the first two nights, then let me move for the next three. The first (201) was clean but VERY small, with no desk or table of any kind and a bathroom where the shower almost points right down at the toilet. It also was loud, as it was right next to the stairwell and the shared bathrooms. The second room (505) was wonderful--big, quiet, with a desk and large bathroom with separate, enclosed shower. Both rooms were clean, but there are no toiletries besides a towel (which is not changed out daily). The cafe/bar is nice, with good wireless and three shared computers. The tours they book are good and don't have forced shopping or weird stuff like that. One of the staff members is always grouchy, but all the rest are extremely friendly, helpful, and patient in communicating in English, even if they don't know it perfectly. (I speak Chinese, but I heard them talking with lots of travellers who don't.) If I went back to Xi'an, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were 4 ladies between 49 years & 69 years. We only require a clean safe budget hotel, and Hantang House met these requirements plus. I was a little worried because it was REALLY cheap but it was great. Twin rooms small but normal for China and beds comfortable. Food was good, and we ate there a couple times because too tired to go out in the evening. Mikki in the bar was great fun and a wealth of info plus she spoke very good english. Actually the whole staff was great. Helped take all our luggage upstairs. As others have mentioned there are stairs.

Direction info: We took airport bus to city stop at Melody Hotel. Walk toward the Bell Tower. Go down the under pass and come up to The East Street (it doesn't matter which side of the street). Walk to next signal light and go left (Nanxin Jie). About 1 1/2 blocks you'll see sign for Darling Hotel and that is entrance to ally. A previous poster showed a picture of ally entrance that helped us. It is an easy walk unless you have tons of luggage.

If we return, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed at the hantang for 3 nights in march,location is ideal to visit the bell and drum towers,muslim street and shopping centre,we booked the terracotta tour from here which was ok and included a nice chinese buffet lunch,rooms were clean and comfy,staff helpful and polite,live band on in bar on 2nd floor but couldnt here it from our room on same floor which was good,food prices seemed a little dear compared to other places,but when it arrived was plentiful and tasty,a plesent stay and worth the money.,

Room Tip: no lift so lower floors if bags are heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEMOON95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sattahip, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hantang House is not to be confused with Hantang Inn, a sister property.
Apart from what must be the best value hotel I've stayed you couldn't a more friendly hotel with such a great atmosphere. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble when my wife wanted to know about the salad dressing they used, it turned out to be their own recipe, not only did they give her the recipe but ordered one of the ingredients we couldn't find.
The location is excellent, but when we arrived by airport bus (melody hotel) there was difficulty in getting a taxi, but it's not that far a walk.(so download a map)
There were different free activities arranged for each day, including walking tours, good strength free wi-fi in the public area. Food was of excellent quality and not really overpriced when compared with similar food outside.
Cons No toiletries but what the heck! I prefer to use my own anyway. If you wanted clean sheets or towels you had to request themj from reception.
BIG HINT Book your tours through Hantang They are CHEAPER and don't take you shopping!!!!!
When we visit Xi'an again guess where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATTAHIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A few friends and i stayed a few nights at Hangtang house and we enjoyed it. we stayed in the hotel rooms. rooms clean. You do have to climb stairs to room. bar area was great fun to hang out in. Does get a bit noisy on weekend evening with live music but doesn't go on too late. we found everyone to be extremely friendly and helpful. food in bar was very good. prices were american but food was very good. Defintely lot's of younger people staying there from all over the world. We were definitely the older group ( allof us over 40) but we had a great time .

Room Tip: if you like to go to bed early i would choose a room on floor as far away from bar. This means more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girltvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful room in a very cheap price before Luna New year. All the facilities in the room are awesome. Great bathroom, really really clean room. Although the WiFi doesn't work in the room, but I still thought this is the greatest hostel I've ever visited

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,582 in Xi'an
866 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
1.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,582 in Xi'an
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Property: Hantang House
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,388 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hantang House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing