We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“xian hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 1,382 Xi'an B&B and Inns
MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“xian hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed at the hantang for 3 nights in march,location is ideal to visit the bell and drum towers,muslim street and shopping centre,we booked the terracotta tour from here which was ok and included a nice chinese buffet lunch,rooms were clean and comfy,staff helpful and polite,live band on in bar on 2nd floor but couldnt here it from our room on same floor which was good,food prices seemed a little dear compared to other places,but when it arrived was plentiful and tasty,a plesent stay and worth the money.,

Room Tip: no lift so lower floors if bags are heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEMOON95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    134
    60
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
138
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sattahip, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hantang House is not to be confused with Hantang Inn, a sister property.
Apart from what must be the best value hotel I've stayed you couldn't a more friendly hotel with such a great atmosphere. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble when my wife wanted to know about the salad dressing they used, it turned out to be their own recipe, not only did they give her the recipe but ordered one of the ingredients we couldn't find.
The location is excellent, but when we arrived by airport bus (melody hotel) there was difficulty in getting a taxi, but it's not that far a walk.(so download a map)
There were different free activities arranged for each day, including walking tours, good strength free wi-fi in the public area. Food was of excellent quality and not really overpriced when compared with similar food outside.
Cons No toiletries but what the heck! I prefer to use my own anyway. If you wanted clean sheets or towels you had to request themj from reception.
BIG HINT Book your tours through Hantang They are CHEAPER and don't take you shopping!!!!!
When we visit Xi'an again guess where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATTAHIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A few friends and i stayed a few nights at Hangtang house and we enjoyed it. we stayed in the hotel rooms. rooms clean. You do have to climb stairs to room. bar area was great fun to hang out in. Does get a bit noisy on weekend evening with live music but doesn't go on too late. we found everyone to be extremely friendly and helpful. food in bar was very good. prices were american but food was very good. Defintely lot's of younger people staying there from all over the world. We were definitely the older group ( allof us over 40) but we had a great time .

Room Tip: if you like to go to bed early i would choose a room on floor as far away from bar. This means more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girltvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful room in a very cheap price before Luna New year. All the facilities in the room are awesome. Great bathroom, really really clean room. Although the WiFi doesn't work in the room, but I still thought this is the greatest hostel I've ever visited

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rentrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hantang is well located and i never really had any trouble finding it. The layout of the city probably played a part in that. The Twin rooms where comfortable although the beds where a little hard. Well priced hostel. This place has great potential during the on season with the roof top entertaining area and pool table. Stay here, all should be good.... ; )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is by far one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, especially in China. It was warm, welcoming, and had such a nice atmosphere in the midst of a cold winter in Xi'an. The location was great-close proximity to drum tower, muslim quarter, public buses. The staff were all friendly. The rooms were so clean. I loved having central heating and a heated faucet, that's very difficult to come by in China. The price was exceptionally reasonable. The security was fantastic as well. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: You can easily have a family stay here, as my friend did with her folks. They had a private room, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hhruhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a very well run hostel, with some really friendly staff.
As soon as you book, you are sent a confirmation email with exact instructions in how to get there (plus the address in Chinese to give to taxi driver - very useful for westerners who can't speak the language!)
We stayed in a six bed dorm. It was average sized, clean and fairly modern. Each bed has its own reading light and plug socket. There is a heater in the room. No electric blankets, but the heater seemed to suffice (even in the dead of winter!) There are en suite bathrooms in each dorm - these are fairly small, but perfectly adequate. It can be a bit of a pain if everyone in the dorm wants to use the bathroom at the same time. The only communal bathroom is on the ground floor.
The hostel organises group activities every night (quiz, table tennis, hot pot night etc), though they didn't always seem to go ahead. I think that this may be because it was the low season and there wasn't a great deal of interest.
There are many tours available in Xian, and pretty much all of these can be booked here. They guarantee that none of the tours will dump you in a shop and hassle you to buy stuff (happens a lot in China!)
There is also a really nice roof garden. It was winter when we visited, so we didn't go up there much, but it looked like it would be pretty awesome in the summer.
A few minor gripes - they have a train station pick up service, but this is only from 12-2 in the afternoon. It's fine if your train arrives then, but if not, you're on your own (though it's not actually that far). They will also book train tickets for you, but this costs an additional 40RMB on top of the price. Whilst I understand that a booking fee is necessary, 40RMB is by far the most expensive we have encountered in China.
Wifi is available on every floor. It's very reliable, though tends to slow down at busy times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,523 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,523 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#47 of 2,523 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Property: Hantang House
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,382 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hantang House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing