We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hantang House
Ranked #1 of 629 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A few friends and i stayed a few nights at Hangtang house and we enjoyed it. we stayed in the hotel rooms. rooms clean. You do have to climb stairs to room. bar area was great fun to hang out in. Does get a bit noisy on weekend evening with live music but doesn't go on too late. we found everyone to be extremely friendly and helpful. food in bar was very good. prices were american but food was very good. Defintely lot's of younger people staying there from all over the world. We were definitely the older group ( allof us over 40) but we had a great time .

Room Tip: if you like to go to bed early i would choose a room on floor as far away from bar. This means more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girltvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    125
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
34
132
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful room in a very cheap price before Luna New year. All the facilities in the room are awesome. Great bathroom, really really clean room. Although the WiFi doesn't work in the room, but I still thought this is the greatest hostel I've ever visited

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rentrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hantang is well located and i never really had any trouble finding it. The layout of the city probably played a part in that. The Twin rooms where comfortable although the beds where a little hard. Well priced hostel. This place has great potential during the on season with the roof top entertaining area and pool table. Stay here, all should be good.... ; )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is by far one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, especially in China. It was warm, welcoming, and had such a nice atmosphere in the midst of a cold winter in Xi'an. The location was great-close proximity to drum tower, muslim quarter, public buses. The staff were all friendly. The rooms were so clean. I loved having central heating and a heated faucet, that's very difficult to come by in China. The price was exceptionally reasonable. The security was fantastic as well. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: You can easily have a family stay here, as my friend did with her folks. They had a private room, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hhruhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a very well run hostel, with some really friendly staff.
As soon as you book, you are sent a confirmation email with exact instructions in how to get there (plus the address in Chinese to give to taxi driver - very useful for westerners who can't speak the language!)
We stayed in a six bed dorm. It was average sized, clean and fairly modern. Each bed has its own reading light and plug socket. There is a heater in the room. No electric blankets, but the heater seemed to suffice (even in the dead of winter!) There are en suite bathrooms in each dorm - these are fairly small, but perfectly adequate. It can be a bit of a pain if everyone in the dorm wants to use the bathroom at the same time. The only communal bathroom is on the ground floor.
The hostel organises group activities every night (quiz, table tennis, hot pot night etc), though they didn't always seem to go ahead. I think that this may be because it was the low season and there wasn't a great deal of interest.
There are many tours available in Xian, and pretty much all of these can be booked here. They guarantee that none of the tours will dump you in a shop and hassle you to buy stuff (happens a lot in China!)
There is also a really nice roof garden. It was winter when we visited, so we didn't go up there much, but it looked like it would be pretty awesome in the summer.
A few minor gripes - they have a train station pick up service, but this is only from 12-2 in the afternoon. It's fine if your train arrives then, but if not, you're on your own (though it's not actually that far). They will also book train tickets for you, but this costs an additional 40RMB on top of the price. Whilst I understand that a booking fee is necessary, 40RMB is by far the most expensive we have encountered in China.
Wifi is available on every floor. It's very reliable, though tends to slow down at busy times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hantang House is located in a small alley (Nanchang Xiang) that you can easily overlook. Even after I got to the hostel and saw the alley, when I tried to find it the other day, after taking a trip around the city, I couldn't remember where it was. So I'm adding a photo of the entrance to the alley, so you can memorize it. You can also take the Shaanxi People's Government as a landmark - the Nanchang Xiang Alley is located southern to it, just a few minutes' walk.
I arranged a pick-up from the airport to the hostel (but had to ask them again and again that they will really pick me up, because their reply wasn't very clear) which cost me 150 yuan. It was a good choice to take the pick up, because my flight got delayed 4 hours and I arrived in Xi'an at 1 in the morning. I was worried that the pick-up won't wait for me that long, but I was happy to see that they waited for me.
The hostel itself looks very modern. The room is very clean, but I had a feeling that the heating wasn't that good. Music is playing in the first floor and bar all day long, which is nice. The staff were all very nice, smiled and were willing to listen and spoke English well. The food that they serve is mostly Western (and so is more expensive). I could find only around 4 types of Chinese food in the snacks menu. The tours that they offer look great and their prices aren't very high. Overall it was a nice stay.

Chinese address for taxi: 西安市新城广场南新街南长巷32号 (I would recommend you to print out important addresses before you arrive in China, because it really helps)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenlior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent friendly staff and service willing to help with anything...great English..rooms and bathrooms immaculate and hot showers! Great cheap tours and Great night entertainment and overall best place to stay in china! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimzmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,330 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,330 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,330 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Property: Hantang House
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing