We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Moroccan food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #227 of 1,670 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Woodbridge, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great Moroccan food which made a welcome change to chinese food which always seems to be over-greasy and cooked in an oil which does not suit our tastes or stomachs. Good wine list too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice options for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This restaurant has nice options for vegetarians and has a wonderful ambience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramgopal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
590 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“A small bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

After arriving hot and tired we decided to try this. A Moroccan restaurant that does excellent mezzo, great tanginess and really at reasonable prices for the quality. On the first night it was mezzo with beef and prune tagine, with roasted vegetables and chicken kebabs and it was heaven. An excellent bottle of wine too - overall for two the prices was about 600 RMB and given the service and quality it was stunning. The other time was as good too

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
360 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Authentic, quiet, relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Sofitel’s Casablanca Moroccan Restaurant offers an oasis of quiet, tranquility, and order that is a welcome respite from the hubbub while of Xian’s busy streets. We sampled the cold mezze as a good option to try a few favorites such as hummus, tabouleh, babaganoush, and olives, all of which were quite up to Middle East standards (lived there 6 years) although the bread consisted of pancake size pita bread which while warmed was dry and lackluster. My wife’s lamb kebabs were deliciously spiced and tender; ditto for my lamb with prunes, which also came with couscous to soak up the sauces. Service was excellent and our water glasses never empty – a great pleasure following a hot day of touring. Their wine menu offers something for everyone and is moderately priced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our dinner very much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Other than the big hotel restaurant, Azur, we had a hard time finding great food in Xi'an. This was my favorite meal in this city. We ordered a selection and tried everything and it was all good! Mostly local Chinese food in Xi'an or typical western hotel food, which was fine, but gets old quickly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing