We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Moroccan food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #185 of 1,658 Restaurants in Xi'an
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Woodbridge, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great Moroccan food which made a welcome change to chinese food which always seems to be over-greasy and cooked in an oil which does not suit our tastes or stomachs. Good wine list too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice options for vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This restaurant has nice options for vegetarians and has a wonderful ambience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramgopal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
534 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“A small bit of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

After arriving hot and tired we decided to try this. A Moroccan restaurant that does excellent mezzo, great tanginess and really at reasonable prices for the quality. On the first night it was mezzo with beef and prune tagine, with roasted vegetables and chicken kebabs and it was heaven. An excellent bottle of wine too - overall for two the prices was about 600 RMB and given the service and quality it was stunning. The other time was as good too

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
356 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Authentic, quiet, relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Sofitel’s Casablanca Moroccan Restaurant offers an oasis of quiet, tranquility, and order that is a welcome respite from the hubbub while of Xian’s busy streets. We sampled the cold mezze as a good option to try a few favorites such as hummus, tabouleh, babaganoush, and olives, all of which were quite up to Middle East standards (lived there 6 years) although the bread consisted of pancake size pita bread which while warmed was dry and lackluster. My wife’s lamb kebabs were deliciously spiced and tender; ditto for my lamb with prunes, which also came with couscous to soak up the sauces. Service was excellent and our water glasses never empty – a great pleasure following a hot day of touring. Their wine menu offers something for everyone and is moderately priced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our dinner very much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Other than the big hotel restaurant, Azur, we had a hard time finding great food in Xi'an. This was my favorite meal in this city. We ordered a selection and tried everything and it was all good! Mostly local Chinese food in Xi'an or typical western hotel food, which was fine, but gets old quickly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing