We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 3m noodle...”

First Noodle Under The Sun
Ranked #8 of 1,685 Restaurants in Xi'an
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
High Point, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The 3m noodle...”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a chain, but it has character. The 3m noodle is a must when in Xi'an. This is a great city to visit and many restaurants - especially Arab Street area...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    54
    28
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The best meal I had in China!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This amazing restaurant would have been hard to find if our sweet taxi driver didn't walk us there himself. There is not an English name outside. No one that worked at the restaurant speaks English either, so again out sweet taxi driver who also didn't speak English called someone on his cell phone to try to help us. My friend was trying to say no beef or pork and the waiter only wanted to know if we wanted skinny or wide noodles. Exasperated, we finally just pointed at a picture and they brought us the most amazing dish of spinach noodles with what I assume had beef and chicken. It was just the right amount of spicy. The food here is divine and well worth your time to find it. The cost for 2 bowls of delicious noodles was $6. By the way, we only saw locals in this restaurant - no tourists. My review is making me choose a rating for a bar scene but I don't think there was a bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jb1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This lively restaurant near Xi'an's famous Wild Goose Pagoda is popular with both tourists and locals. You are seated at long wooden tables and the noise level is high - but this is not unusual as any seasoned Chinese traveller will know! The staff generally do not speak English but are good-natured about foreigners and a bit of pointing usually does the trick if you reach a language impasse. The menu is big and noodles are a speciality; but you will find a wealth of meat, fish, poultry, egg and vegetable dishes from which to choose. Some of the English menu translations are hilarious. The prices may be slightly inflated due to the restaurant's proximity to a popular tourist destination, but still a bargain by Western standards. It's a lively, happy sort of place and you will leave feeling well looked-after and well-fed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique local delicacy”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The restaurant has a great location, easy to find. The noodles are great. I like its decor also. Because of its easy access and affordability, many locals are here. Thus it might be a little noisy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank XianWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“The best thing about Xi'an...including the Terracotta Warriors”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Xi'an, itself, was disappointing. Kind of a dirty, gritty city with little of interest other than the Muslim Quarter and the Terracotta Warriors (which, also, were a bit of a let down, but I'll leave that for another review). However, I will say perhaps our favourite restaurant in mainland China was this simple little place First Noodle Under the Sun. We read about it in Lonely Planet, and thankfully it hasn't succumbed to the "Lonely Planet" effect (increasing the prices and serving bad food to tourists). There were only locals here and the food is amazing and incredibly cheap. The egg and tomato noodles were my favourite, but any of the noodle dishes we ordered were great. We got four large bottles of beer, two bottles of water, and four large dishes all for the equivalent of 11 dollars. English menus and friendly service. This place was so good that, despite the fact it was a long way from our hotel, we went back here twice. Highly recommended. Seek it out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Noodle Under The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing