We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best thing about Xi'an...including the Terracotta Warriors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Noodle Under The Sun

First Noodle Under The Sun
Ranked #11 of 1,665 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: 029-85398299
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“The best thing about Xi'an...including the Terracotta Warriors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Xi'an, itself, was disappointing. Kind of a dirty, gritty city with little of interest other than the Muslim Quarter and the Terracotta Warriors (which, also, were a bit of a let down, but I'll leave that for another review). However, I will say perhaps our favourite restaurant in mainland China was this simple little place First Noodle Under the Sun. We read about it in Lonely Planet, and thankfully it hasn't succumbed to the "Lonely Planet" effect (increasing the prices and serving bad food to tourists). There were only locals here and the food is amazing and incredibly cheap. The egg and tomato noodles were my favourite, but any of the noodle dishes we ordered were great. We got four large bottles of beer, two bottles of water, and four large dishes all for the equivalent of 11 dollars. English menus and friendly service. This place was so good that, despite the fact it was a long way from our hotel, we went back here twice. Highly recommended. Seek it out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    46
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and good taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Noodles as their specialty very good. Also other dishes tasty. English spoken, menus in english with pictures. Recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amadej L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
Level Contributor
248 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“tasty noodles, some english spoken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

some reviewers seem a little disapointed after the lp endorsement, but this is not the fault of the restuarant that does not claim to be "the best" in xian. go with realistic expectations and you will enjoy a tasty meal surrounded by locals in a typical noisy chinese restaurant. cold beers and lots of non noodle items on the menu if you wants something else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

My bf and I went to first noodle off the back of a lonley planet review. We also wanted somewhere authentic that we knew had an english menu.

The food was very average and we order more than two people should order. My bf had the signature dish which is th long noodles with garlic dipping sauce. That was actually quite good but the rest all tasted the same and was super garlicky. I love garlic but it was too much.

The tables were clean but the floor was disgusting and about 6 waitresses would serve us at a time. None could speak English though.

It was very cheap though. Under 100CNY for 4-5 dishes plus beers.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet need to go to some other restaurants!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I couldn't believe when I heard that LP rated this as one of the best places to eat in the city, it's not even close. I live nearby and am always popping in, so I am not slating the place, it's just no better than average in any way, though no worse than some other restaurants nearby.
Value-wise it suffers a little from being near the Big Pagoda, so you're looking at double figures for noodles etc, and the worst thing for me is the cold...they don't heat it at all, so in winter it's ridiculous in there, eating in my hat and scarf!
But the staff are good humoured and friendly and it certainly isn't bad at all...the menu is worth seeing merely for the Chinglish translations, of which I know not whether to be scared or just laugh...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Noodle Under The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing