We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but not a 5 Star”
Review of Hilton Xi'an

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Xi'an
Ranked #6 of 2,578 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
321 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but not a 5 Star”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Xian Hilton is a good hotel, but not a 5 star. The room was clean and the king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had separate tub and shower. Bottled water was complimentary. The lighting at the sink area was poor. Internet access was available in the room at 680 RMB per day. In-room safe, slippers and bathrobe were provided. The hotel is in a U shape. Depending upon the room you have, it pays to take the correct elevator. If you are at the wrong end of the U, it could be a long walk to your room. Our room was on level 5, which strangely enough looked out on a ground level courtyard in the center of the U.

The restaurant served a good buffet breakfast of Western and Chinese foods.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Regarding to the internet access in the guestroom, it is 60RMB per day.

The Hilton Xi'an is not in a U shape but a square shape, so no matter which elevators you take, which direction you choose, you will always get to your room. However, if your room number is from 501-526, 559 - 570, it is eaiser to take the west elevators, and if it is from 527 - 558, it is eaiser to take the east elevators.

the courtyyard you saw is actually a open air roof garden in the center of the square, spanning over 2,000 square meters, it features a large, lush landscaped garden with vibrant native plants and a tumbling water feature – the ideal spot to soak up the sun.

Hopefully my reply is helpful and I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Xi'an very soon.

Kind regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    329
    88
    23
    12
See reviews for
251
434
67
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very nice. Stayed one night as part of a tour. Great rooms . Good restaurant. Excellent buffet style breakfast. Beautiful lobby. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you have a positive visit to this hotel and found the service, rooms, food, facilities 'make' the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were upgraded to an Executive floor room as an HH Gold. The room was confortable and nice though about average in size.

The Exec Lounge breakfast was a bit on the small side in terms of choices but OK. It did not seem very busy at the hotel while we were there so maybe they were trying to save some money, which is fine.

I thought the service which has been great at all 3 Hiltons brand hotels that I stayed at on my China vacation, but this hotel seemed to try the hardest. Everyone was thanking us for staying with them and very attuned to what we needed. Check in and check out was very smooth. I actually had an employee run past me so she could open the door for me.

The location seemed pretty good as we were able to walk around the area and visit a mall near by. We had a guide with a driver and be aware the traffic is really bad maybe worse than Beijing.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamesfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Xi'an.

Regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Because the high rating on Tripadvisor and our Diamond and Gold status with Hilton we decided to book our two night stay in Xian at the Hilton. Prices were extremely low and that’s why our expectations were not so high. Luckily the hotel was very new and the location did not seem bad at all.

We arrived around 11:00 at the Xian airport from Beijing, we did not book a taxi but because the terminal was new, there were no taxis at all queuing for people so we had to wait for about 30 minutes before we could hop on a taxi. After 1 hour and 15 minutes we arrived by taxi at the hotel, it was very busy around noon when all people drive into the city.

Our luggage was immediately taken and we went to the reception desk. Ms. Tina called to the club lounge and she brought us up to the lounge by elevator. There was a big welcome from 3 or 4 people. We were offered a drink and we could take it to our room. We were upgraded to a suite on the fifth floor of the hotel. What took our attention is that on our way to our room there was a strong smell of cigarettes and many room doors just stood open.

Our room was room 535 and was not very far from the elevator. We received all kinds of info about Xian and even an Olympic pin, which was a very nice attention. The Suite had on the left a desk and separate toilet with sink. Straight ahead was a separate seating area with sofa and television. On the table was a nice welcome attention from the Manager with some snacks and drinks. Further in the room was the bedroom with a big TV and another air conditioning. Then lastly there was a dressing and bathroom. The bathroom was very big with a bath, separate rain shower and again a separate toilet.

The room was very clean but unfortunately the room was very hot, in the evening we could feel that the air conditioning in the bedroom was not working properly. There was not much of a view from our room.

In the evening we went to the big executive lounge for the afternoon snacks and drinks. The lounge is massive but very quiet. Staff : Ms. Jessica, Ms. Marria and Ms. Sherry are very helpful and friendly. Their English is good for Chinese standards. There were many different choices of food and drinks and was filled by constantly. Service was excellent and friendly.

In the evening we went to the restaurant in the hotel China Club. Unfortuanetly upon arrival we ( we were two persons only ) were put in a private dining room at a table for 12 persons. It was not very nice to sit there, we did not get any explanation or reason why we could not eat at the restaurant. As the atmosphere was not so good we hoped the food would be good. Unfortunately our expectations were not exactly met. The Foie Gras with some kind of fruit did not taste at all to Foie Gras. The main course was a Wagyu beef, it was very red and hard to eat. But we got a free desert, some fruit

Next morning we woke up early and wnet down for breakfast. There stood the General Manager, Mr. Roger and asked our room number. I looked at the place and it was full of unfriendly people of a Toshiba delegation who stayed at the hotel. He told us we also could have diner in the club lounge but that the cjhoice would be less extensive. We decided to stay in the main restaurant as the choices would have been more.

We weren’t even put in the restaurant but we got a table for 10 persons in a room next to the restaurant. Service was almost zero but we received orange juice. I ordered a tea and hot chocolate but it never arrived. Once we came back from the buffet, 8 other unfriendly people sat at our table. It is a five star hotel with shared tables at breakfast ??!! I never heard this before. It is a shame the hotel cannot accommodate it guests on a normal manner.

Breakfast itself was not good at all with almost no Western choices. Maybe they changed it for the Toshiba people. Breakfast was a disgrace.

As we were there for only one day and a half we pre booked a tour guide and spend the day in Xian. We asked for two umbrellas at the concierge. Actually our guide asked it and that wanted to charge us 50 CNY for using it as deposit. I have never, never heard it at a hotel in whole my life !

When we came back in the evening the hotel entrance was blocked totally with seats and tribunes as the Toshiba people had to make a group photo.

Next morning we had early breakfast in the club lounge which was okay.

We wanted to buy stamps but the Concierge did not have them and the reception did not have the too, what a shame, every five star hotel has them, they did not even want to post them if I gave them money for stamps.

Check out went very slow on the last day. Mr. Jack took his time.

Overall the hotel has good rooms and service but they cannot handle a big group and handle normal guests at one time.

Room Tip: Club lounge is a good extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post review on this website

We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Hilton Xi'an.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention and action. Regarding to the size of our restraurants, now it is the bigest changllege for us and we are already looking for alternative to solve this issue.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Best regards
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
320 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Absolutely great experience and a reasonable price. Not exactly close to most things like the Westin, but half the price. Service was impeccable. Buffet was my best so far on this 16 day trip in China. To pool was amazing and nobody in it. One family was there celebrating their daughter's birthday and the staff brought out a cake, complimentary. Not just a slice, but the whole cake. Room were spacious and well appointed. So far this is one of the 5 star hotels in China that truly deserves the 5 star rating. It would have been nice if the executive lounge offered eggs in their mini-breakfast buffet. Bacon and sausage and fried noodles or fried rice needs something to offset it. The breakfast felt incomplete without it. But it was free, so not complaining too much.

Room Tip: The corridors are long, best to be close to an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and found the staff 'make' the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Xi'an very soon.

Kind regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here as part of our escorted tour for 2 nights. From the location to the restaurant to the room, everything was first class. The staff was nice and helpful. The room layout was very good (plenty of plugs for recharging thoses cameras and iPhone). Now for my pros and cons.

Pros:
-the layout of the room resembled the hotel we stayed at in Beijing (Sofitel Wanda)
-separate shower, toilet, and tub.
-a lot of counter space in the bathroom
-plenty of plugs for charging
-a big TV with separate video hook ups
-a very good breakfast buffet with American, Japanese, and Chinese selections
-the dinner restaurant had good quality and service (try the chili noodles)
-Xian's Night Food Market is right across the street with live critters (not to be missed)
-there is a pedestrian street / outdoor mall a block away that you can purchase drinks or snacks for your day tours (we saw two 7-11's there)
-the City Wall is close by
-there is an ATM in the lobby
-the hotel provides 2 bottles of water for drinking in the room and brushing your teeth

Cons:
-um........I cannot think of any

Tips:
- Buy some plug adaptors before you come to China. Most phones and camera chargers work on 240v power (check your plug). We bought 3 for about $5 total (including shipping) on line. Best move we made.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Kman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and found the staff 'make' the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Xi'an very soon.

Kind regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Not normally a fan of Hilton's but this one was exceptional. Room was very nice, staff was helpful, buffet breakfast was exceptional. Because it is not located in Shanghai or Beijing, the room rate was very reasonable for the quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Xi'an.

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,578 in Xi'an
587 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,578 in Xi'an
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,578 in Xi'an
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
4.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#4 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Xi'an

Property: Hilton Xi'an
Address: No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#41 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Xi'an 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Xi'an and surrounded by some of the city's most popular shopping areas, Hilton Xi'an is one of the quintessential hotels in Xi'an that is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Hilton Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing