We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Show was good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan

Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan
Ranked #18 of 1,660 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Show was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent more than we wanted to for the show and dinner. It's defiantly a tourist spot. The food was nothing special and lacked flavor. If you have never seen a traditional show in Asia it's worth it. If you have I would pass on this show unless you can get discount tickets. It's basically a dinner theater.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    30
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor, really poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have seen many of these shows in China and in many different provinces and we all had to say that this one was the worst we have seen. If you are on a short holiday then maybe stop by but if you have seen some shows in Beijing or Chengdu for example then give this a miss!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alexballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If your schedule is tight just skip this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to this place just for the Tang Dynasty Performance Show and we bought the ticket without dumpling dinner because we believed that we can try dumplings some where with better quality.

The performance show is not that impressed to our group for the price we pay for. Only two from totally 10 shows that we feel are interesting. Others are quite simple and some show looks like magic show. Compare to other shows we have seen in China (Lijiang, Guilin, Chengdu and Shenzhen) this is not the best show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Din34eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clearly this is a tourist trap. This is the place I have seen the most white people since leaving the US! -- More than Olympic Stadium, more than the Great Wall...

The food was sub par. Clearly it was made for Americans, because they food you in bucket loads of terrible dumplings --- quantity over quality...

The show was only OK. It was the highly of the event since the food was such a miss. It may be bad to say this, but if it is geared for tourists make the show a little more entertaining. If you like traditional dance and opera, then you will like this. Its a little slow for a "late" show after being out exploring all day.

Not worth the $$.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tpouliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining & Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved the many different types of dumplings we were served, and the entertainment was beautiful and interesting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank love-the-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing