We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, really poor”

Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan
Ranked #20 of 1,687 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor, really poor”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have seen many of these shows in China and in many different provinces and we all had to say that this one was the worst we have seen. If you are on a short holiday then maybe stop by but if you have seen some shows in Beijing or Chengdu for example then give this a miss!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alexballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    56
    30
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If your schedule is tight just skip this one”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to this place just for the Tang Dynasty Performance Show and we bought the ticket without dumpling dinner because we believed that we can try dumplings some where with better quality.

The performance show is not that impressed to our group for the price we pay for. Only two from totally 10 shows that we feel are interesting. Others are quite simple and some show looks like magic show. Compare to other shows we have seen in China (Lijiang, Guilin, Chengdu and Shenzhen) this is not the best show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Din34eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clearly this is a tourist trap. This is the place I have seen the most white people since leaving the US! -- More than Olympic Stadium, more than the Great Wall...

The food was sub par. Clearly it was made for Americans, because they food you in bucket loads of terrible dumplings --- quantity over quality...

The show was only OK. It was the highly of the event since the food was such a miss. It may be bad to say this, but if it is geared for tourists make the show a little more entertaining. If you like traditional dance and opera, then you will like this. Its a little slow for a "late" show after being out exploring all day.

Not worth the $$.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tpouliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Entertaining & Yummy!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved the many different types of dumplings we were served, and the entertainment was beautiful and interesting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank love-the-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Entertaining show but average food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Tang Dynasty show was entertaining and enjoyable but I found the food to be very average. We paid RMB300 each for the show and dumpling feast.

Food is served prior to the show. There was a variety of dumplings with many different fillings. A soft drink, beer, Chinese wine and tea is also included in the price. There was certainly enough food but I thought the quality could have been better. Perhaps it's just the idea of everyone eating the same thing that didn't make it very special.

The show was very colorful and each act is introduced or announced in English and Mandarin. It lasted for about 1 hour 10 mins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing