We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Entertaining & Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan

Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan
Ranked #16 of 1,660 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining & Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved the many different types of dumplings we were served, and the entertainment was beautiful and interesting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank love-the-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    30
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Entertaining show but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Tang Dynasty show was entertaining and enjoyable but I found the food to be very average. We paid RMB300 each for the show and dumpling feast.

Food is served prior to the show. There was a variety of dumplings with many different fillings. A soft drink, beer, Chinese wine and tea is also included in the price. There was certainly enough food but I thought the quality could have been better. Perhaps it's just the idea of everyone eating the same thing that didn't make it very special.

The show was very colorful and each act is introduced or announced in English and Mandarin. It lasted for about 1 hour 10 mins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo, norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for show, the food terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The show was impressive and of high quality. Very posh Chinese. The show is just for tourists. I wish I had understood to fill my stomach some place else in prior to the show. Chinese food is just fantastic, but here the food had no taste at all. Hoever, unlike most Chinese restaurants they served ok wines.
All the Chinese just were there to see the show - they obviously knew not to bother for food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It was average at best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everyone HIGHLY recommended the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance. It was a huge hall crammed with other tourists eating food and drinks with a large stage in the front. The show was a combination of various dance, arcobatic and musicans playing. Granted they are all extremely talented but we found the show 'too touristy'...if that is a correct expression.
The show had a certain Las Vegas show feel to it.
We are glad we came to see it but in the end it was one of the more average things we did in Xian.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tang Dynasty Show and Dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This show was far better than what I had anticipated. The costumes, music and whole show were spectacular.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NormX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tang GeWu He JiaoZi Yan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing