We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ranked #34 of 2,688 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel was perfect stayed 2 nights air conditioner worked great, very clean staff very friendly , booked our tour to xi an warriors through the hotel and we found out they were very fair on there prices, the hotel is about 2 blocks always from the Muslim street great place for food and spending the night. The location and the hotel is perfect ,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel.It would be our honor to service you. We look forward to your next coming.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited Xian, stayed at Ramada Bell Tower. Room was comfortable but air conditioning was not working, took doona out of cover and just used cover. Only stayed 1 night, we were travelling with friends. Next morning on checkout to my horror my friend was confronted with the most despicable and embarrassing situation. Ladies, if you know that you are going to be experiencing a period during your stay, be advised that if an accident occurs during the night, you will be charged with extra cleaning costs and the evidence will be shown to you in the lobby. They do not appear to have any shame! The cost to her was 10 yuan. I have to say that thanks to our guide who contacted the manager the money was refunded, however who would do such a thing? Xian is just fantastic and the warriors are simply amazing.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were staying for 3 nights at the beginning of April.
First of all, the air conditioning was not working so the room became pretty warm. Despite of its modern design, the room was not practical, lack of space for placing your stuff, and strangely located light interrupters. Internet was also extremely low.
However this would have been just fine, if it weren't due to the crappy tour company that the hotel runs. Due to this fantastic business they have, those working on reception affirm they cannot call a taxi for you because it is not allow to park in front of the hotel. Of course what they can do it is to offer you one of their private cars. The problem is that this increase the price of the ride drastically. Example, we were asked to pay 50 yuan for a ride to the Shanxi museum. We denied to do it, and got a taxi out, we paid around 30 yuan. Unfortunately the last day we were loaded with luggage and we had no more option that get the service from this company, which besides everything ask you to get the money in advance. Meaning that we had to pay 150 yuan for a ride to the train station. I´m a bit uncertain but considering a ride from the airport was 80 yuan, I assume we paid basically the double.
Besides the day before we had made the terrible mistake of booking a tour with them. The tour was for visiting the terracotta warriors and afterwards seeing some kind of Chinese show. We were told that the tickets were purchased additionally and on site. What we were never told was that we it was obligatory to buy them, because according to them, a deposit of 30% of the price was paid in advance. It may sound stupid from us, for you that are reading this, but when the staff could barely speak English, it took basically one hour to pay with the credit card, and they don't give you written information about what you have actually committed to do, it is not that simple to guess...
Anyway, the day of the visit, we were caught in a big traffic jam, which means that it took 3 hours to reach the terracotta warriors, instead of one, not their fault, of course. Our English guide (we paid for her additionally) was insisting to us to go to some kind of factory, after telling her three times that we were not interested we managed to go directly to see the warriors. During our visit there, she seemed to be in a big rush, since she was basically not waiting for us to seeing everything. Aditionally, her main interest about the site was that we should meet the farmer who found at first the warriors in the 70's, because he was sitting and signing books there everyday. Meaning --> she wanted us to buy the books...
Considering we were delayed, we asked her to skip the lunch that she wanted us to take. We wanted to make it to see the city wall, so we thought to take a snack, reach the city, visit the wall, and go directly for dinner after. At first she said yes, but when we entered the car she said that no, that we had to stop for lunch. So, the next was that she decided where we should eat and she left us to eat and order alone without saying a single word. Just remember that we had paid for her to be with us. So at this point we were quite disappointed with the whole situation.
Finally we arrived to Xi'an around 17, we were fed up with them, and we wanted to see the city wall. Since we thought it was not time for everything we decided to cancel the activity of the evening. We got of course very surprise when the girl told us that that was not possible and started a huge argument about it. Of course, the most she was arguing, the least we wanted to join the show in the evening. As I said before she was asking us to pay 30% of the price of the tickets (360 yuan), after some discussion, she started with the fantastic bargaining attitude. Anyway, since we felt bad for her, as she was insisting she should pay it herself and also to avoid to destroy our day, finally we decided to pay her a part of the ticket.
Summing up, it is not about paying 50 yuan, when I should pay 30, since 20 yuan is very little money, what I don't like is to feel that they are stealing me.
The only positive thing of this hotel was a very useful man in the entrance that could speak good English and was always eager to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first, and will be our last, stay at a Ramada.

First issue is the room temperature. The air conditioning does not work as it is turned off. We were not told about this before hand, so after a night of swealtering 27℃ we do complained to be told that they don't turn aircon on till the end of April... They offered us a bottle of free water. Which is already free in the room. They said it was a government requirement not to provide aircon. Other hotels in the area do not seem to be subject to such rules.

Then we read about a dumpling restaurant that sounded nice and asked the concierge about it. He was helpful, but then a girl from the hotel said she would take us there. We said we were fine, but she insisted. When we got there she lied to us that we had to do a set menu as the a la carte menu was not available. We didn't have any reason to doubt her at the time, then she insisted we pay up front. We did this, she took her commission and disappeared. We then found that other people were ordering a la carte.


Next, the morning of our checkout, brown sludge and foam was coming out of the bathroom tap. We had to leave for the airport so informed the hotel staff and left.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were in Xian for 3 days and used this as abase to visit some of the tourist sites.

The rooms were comfortable and clean but unfortunately my room faced the very busy North Street. So it was very noisy until about 10.00 pm.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style but he layout of the dishes seemed to be a bit hap-hazard - eg. the juice dispensers were separated from the coffee/tea station; Chinese style breakfast cuisine was mixed with Continental style cuisine.

It was also surprising that a hotel of this calibre did not have a bell-boy service, so we had to lug our luggage to our rooms which we had to locate ourselves and figure out how all the light switches worked by ourselves. ( Again they were located in a very odd sequence and configuration). On the plus side, they did provide ample power points which I appreciated.

And they programmed our room access cards wrongly, causing all 4 families to be prematurely locked out of our rooms after a tiring day of sight-seeing.

But on the helpfulness side, they score full marks. My sister discovered that she had left her compact camera behind just a few hours before we were due to check in at Xian Airport. While on the way to the airport, the hotel management called to say they had found it and dispatched a member of their staff to meet us at the airport and return the camera. They really went the extra-mile on this , so on behalf of my sister a big thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from North Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Van K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were excited to stay here, but our stay was soured by the fact our room temp was 26C/79F with no way to lower it because the general manager here decided it's "not the season" for allowing guests to control individual heating or a/c.

Really? Ramada won't let guests cool their room? I phoned the Hojo's and Day's Inn in Xi'an and they both said their guests could air condition their rooms.

Plus, the internet is slow enough that none of us can even use gmail.

Other than that, the location is great, the room is clean, and the service/staff seems friendly (although they did lie about the a/c until it was too late for us to move hotels). I would love to give this hotel an other-than-terrible review, but at this price range I simply can't. Recommend potential guests shop around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

As the title says, this hotel would have been average if it would not have been for one particular member of staff called David who simply excelled in his role. He simply went above and beyond what I expect from customer service. First of all, he walked with us for 15 minutes and helped me and my wife get a local sim card and even bought it for us so that the shop owner did not over charge us. Secondly on the final day, he realised that we were going to be late for our flight (despite already asking the reception desk to order us a taxi the day before) he ran out of the hotel to his uttermost in cold windy congested conditions and found us a taxi in 10 mins.

Me and my wife did some other problems but I will not mention this as we were so satisfied with the service we received from David. The rooms were great and cosy. A little on the small side and they did get a little hot (despite it being in the middle of winter) but the air con did not seem to work. The location is perfect. Xi'an is a fantastic city and the hotel is set right in the heart.

David if you read this review you were fantastic and I appreciate all your help. If it was not for you I would have have left a poor review for this hotel.

I recommend David for management as he understands exactly how to offer exceptional customer service and is the perfect ambassador for the Ramada company.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funkyt111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.5 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#36 of 2,688 in Xi'an
361 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#65 of 2,688 in Xi'an
931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,688 in Xi'an
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower

Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#32 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $34 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing