We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 has 2 options here - an apartment or hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an
Ranked #43 of 2,459 Hotels in Xi'an
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“1 has 2 options here - an apartment or hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room that we had during our stay was laid out like a mini apartment with a full kitchen, sitting/eating area and bedroom. The bedroom had the usual hard Chinese style bed while the couch in the lounge pulled out into a bed, and this was much softer. When I indicated to the staff that I wished to use the sofa bed they were very willing to get me extra bedding. We ate breakfast in the hotel dining room and there was a good selection of Asian and Western food. The hotel is within walking distance of the Drum Tower and the Muslim Quarter which is a great place to eat out at night.

On our 1st day in Xi'an the air pollution was dreadful which to a large extent limited photo opportunities. Thankfully overnight the smog and pollution were blown away and the next day we were able to have a most enjoyable bicycle ride on the wall of the old city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shixia, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Citadines Central Xi'an that located very close to Drum Tower. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with Citadines.

We are delighted to know that your recent stay at our property was enjoyable and comfortable. we will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My son and I stayed here. I chose it because there was a 2 bedroom suite/apartment with two bathrooms. It's impressive, modern and well appointed and my son loved the breakfast which was great value. But it's SO far from all the cool things in Xi'an and there's not much around the hotel either in the way of shops/restaurants etc.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank makxberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shixia, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an. And thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us.

We are delighted to know that your recent stay at our property was enjoyable and comfortable. Our property is about 15min drive to city center and within walking distance of Ginwa Shopping Center. There are many Chinese restaurant near our apartment. Please feel free to contact our Guest Service Officer for more detailed information when you visit us next time. We will offer you more information about Xi'an city and continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights, 2 adults 2 kids (3 and 6). Room excellent- clean, spacious and well equipped. In financial area so location in not ideal for shopping and eating out but most hotels seem to be away from centre a bit. Breakfast selection good, wide range of Asian and Western options. We paid 113 Aud for the room which we were very happy with! Taxis are very difficult to get...numerous occasions and anywhere we tried in Xian, so be prepared to wait considerable times to get an available one to stop, also many of the ones who did pull over we're reluctant to travel short distances, aka China. We organised a driver through the hotel and paid 400rmb for the whole day to go to terracotta warriors, we got a safe driver (can be uncommon in China) and clean modern car. Shangri-la hotel a short walk away which had a great Thai restaurant called Siam Garden (which we read reviews of on here)-highly recommend this!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment great for families, kitchen, 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pezza4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shixia, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Geust,
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in the 2 bedroom apartment and buffet breakfast quality.
It's a pity that Taxis are difficult to get during peak traffic time in Xi'an. but it's good to hear you got a safe driver to show you around for sightseeing.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Xi'an is likely to be on many people's bucket list. A city more than 2000 years old, still thriving and more importantly revealing her past like the pages of a history book to all who care to look & explore. A must visit city!

We stayed at the Citadines Gaoxin apartment hotel. It is housed in a small , but refurbished building in the commercial heart of the city. Spacious apartment with clean rooms and a fully fitted kitchen. Staff speak English with fair proficiency, are polite & very helpful.
For non-Chinese speaking guests, it is best to request hotel staff to help arrange for sight-seeing trips. The local dialect is hard to understand and exploring without a guide may be confusing; not forgetting time wasted in searching for locations etc.

The highlight of anyone's visit to Xi'an must be to see the Terra Cotta warriors & the Hanling tombs. The attractions are mind boggling and spread out over vast areas. Prepare for lots of walking. Tourist are met at debarkation from their coaches by a fleet of wheel chairs manned by enterprising locals. Anything can be arranged for a fee....but do agree on price before you sit in that wheelchair! In a way, this 'service' enables even the physically challenged to see this 8th wonder of the world.
Vivadho

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor, to see some of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shixia, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
DearGuest,
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in our sevice and quality standards. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our Ascott serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed here for a few days for work. I had a studio room. The room was a good size, with enough space to comfortably fit a desk area, sofa/coffee table area and the bed with side tables. The kitchenette looks fine, though I didn't end up doing any cooking. Laundry service was fine. Location was good for me - halfway between the new tech zone where my office is, and more interesting parts of Xi'an. Staff were very helpful. I had hot pot at the place right next door (same building) which was quite good. It is a little noisy from traffic. I would have preferred to be asked whether I wanted smoking or non-smoking, as I would have preferred non-smoking floor. Internet access is good. Breakfast is also fine. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Maybe there are some rooms with less traffic noise - height doesn't help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shixia, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
DearGuest,
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in our room facilities, sevices and quality standards. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our Ascott serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is a gem in the rough...Although it's not located in the city centre, there is a lot to offer for this site... The hotel itself is good. There is security staff on top of the regular staff to ensure that you're in good hands. Having a fully furnished kitchenette and living room definitely made this a relaxing location. Within the same building, there are two cafes (one an italian style cafe and a chinese one that served chinese dishes...although I didn't try either for more than a coffee). A KFC will be there soon as well. In the same building, but with a separate entrance is a Vanguard supermarket (just opened as of Sept. 2011)...

Locationwise, it isn't very great (taxis to most locations can be had for under 15RMB as of this review). But with new facilities and more, it's not a big issue.

NOTE: the hotel doesn't supply laundry detergent or simple cooking supplies (oil, salt or pepper), but if you bring a little with you (especially the laundry detergent), it wouldn't hurt. You can buy the stuff next door, but buying a full bag of laundry detergent for a few days of staying isn't really economical.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wunderlust2K10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shixia, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an, responded to this review, April 28, 2015
"Dear Guest, It was a great pleasure having you stay at Citadines Central Xi'an that located very close to Drum Tower. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with Citadines.

We are delighted to know that your recent stay at our property was enjoyable and comfortable. we will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.4 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#45 of 2,459 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xian Hotel New
Xian Hotel New
#192 of 2,459 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#34 of 2,459 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#41 of 2,459 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.5 mi away
Citadines Xingqing Palace Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an

Property: Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an
Address: No.13 Gaoxin Forth Road, Gaoxin District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Citadines Gaoxin Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Gaoxin Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing