We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the Best Food Streets in China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muslim Quarter

Muslim Quarter
Book In Advance
$89*
and up
Xi'an Private Tour: Small Wild Goose Pagoda and Great Mosque
Ranked #5 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the Best Food Streets in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We are experienced food-centric travelers, yet were amazed at the variety and quality of offerings here, which eclipsed those of street food markets we'd visited in Beijing, Shanghai, and Yunnan Province. Must-try specialties dating from the days of the Silk Road include shi zi bing, (persimmon cakes)and yangrou paomo, a (lamb soup with dumpling-like bits of bread), and biang biang noodles, (onomatopoeiacally named for the sound they make hitting the table as they are stretched.) Piles of dried dates, warm vats of walnuts, and fiery chile peanuts make for great snacking. Our guide to this and the principal Xi'an attractions was Mary (maryguide@yeah.net), a delightful woman with excellent English and a great deal of knowledge about the specialties of Shanxi province. If street food is not your thing, have her take you to Defachang Dumpling Restaurant (profiled on npr 8/29/13) and dig into her explanation of their dumpling feast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank drjajekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    640
    202
    33
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Interesting food in ancient street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

There are so many restaurants here to choose from but since we had a guide, he took us to eat mutton noodle soup which was quite delicious but pricey. Not bad for the local authentic noodle soup. Everything else is interesting to look at but not as good as they look. The local atmosphere is what you get most out of this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
386 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“started seeking out muslim restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

During my travel thruout china i ate at a lot of noodle houses. I found that the muslim restaurants had larger and more ingredients then what i would find in a hun restaurant. if you enjoy mutton make sure to visit a muslim quarter. This street had plenty of open air eateries so visit here on an empty stomach and just go from stall to stall eating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very busy, exciting street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A very busy but exciting street. Food stalls everywhere. Trinkets and small items for sale. Well worth the visit. Trying to find somewhere to sit down can be challenging. I would do this again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank badbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Amazing , not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Amazing colourful Muslim Street is actually several street where you can wander for two or three hours soaking up the atmosphere. So many delicious foods on sale it is hard to choose. Sweet, savoury all looking tasty. The Mosque is worth a visit, a calming oasis in a busy busy area.
So many great photo opportunities!!!!!
Behind the Drum Tower is the start.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muslim Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing