We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bike ride it age 10+ only” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an

Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an
Book In Advance
$59.00*
and up
Xi'an Morning Tour: City Wall South Gate Opening Ceremony and Bicycle Ride
Ranked #6 of 337 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bike ride it age 10+ only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great wall, would be great to be able to hire a bike or tandem for our 5 and 6 year olds. The policy is age 10-60 only, even for a tandem, which is ridiculous for such a safe environment, which is flat with obviously no traffic being 10 metres or so above the ground, but that's the normal cotton wool wrapping the Chinese have perfected for kids!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank London_UKNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    141
    34
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Walls of Xian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

It´s a nice defense Wall . Very large , wide enough to ride bikes or go for a walk , in top of it.Encloses whole downtown Xian

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marievar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a long day visiting the Terracotta Warriors I had an hour of free time before heading to a local Opera performance. I was keen to check out the Wall that surrounded the city and to my delight there were rental bikes fore hire to bike the entire wall. It gave you a unique perspective of the old Chinese architecture vs the new. I would advise giving yourself more than an hour as I was very rushed and exhausted by the end but very rewarding and well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smccardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“9 mile bumpy ride is worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family of 5 includes three young adult sons. We enjoyed the views and the ride, despite the bumpiness. The ride is flat and easy, but padded shorts would be most welcomed. Walking 9 miles isn't reasonable so the ride is a nice alternative. We went in the early evening, and the red paper lanterns were lit by the end of our ride. Easy listening music plays on speakers so you sort of ride to a soundtrack. I remember hearing Kenny G at one point. You decide if that's a plus or a minus. The bikes were all in good condition. They want a cash deposit (it was 800 RMB for our family) in addition to the rental fee so bring your wallet. Next to the terra cotta warriors, this was our favorite thing in Xi'an.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HolyBattGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Level Contributor
317 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Walking around the wall gives an amazing view of the city. It was early evening when we went round and there were some really interesting Ti chi sessions and exercise groups going on as well as a performance of a play going on in the park below. There are some interesting models in the guard towers but difficult to see because they are not lit up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing