We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A pleasant way to spend an evening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dayan Pagoda Northern Square

Dayan Pagoda Northern Square
Book In Advance
$70*
and up
Xi'an Evening Tour: South Gate Square, Fountain Show and Tang Dynasty Theme...
Ranked #13 of 332 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A pleasant way to spend an evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The light,sound and water show may not be one of the best we've seen but it's free and a good chance to mix with the locals. If you're western they'll want to take a photo of you (you'll get used to this in China if you're blonde). Try and get to the newly developed areas of Xian center at night too for the very modern take on the traditional architecture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    195
    66
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware of the watchmen!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nobody knew the starting time of the fountain. Constantly bothered by aggressive whistleblowing watchmen which pushed the crowd and us away from the dangerous fountain and its 1/2" deep water.
When they do not want tourists they should just tell before.
One of the worst experiences in many years in China

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I felt like i travel back in Tang Dynasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went at night time with those cheesy music fountain which im not really fond of.
but the lighting setup with the chinese ancient music background, it gives you a sense of what Tang Dynasty (one of great Dynasty in chinese history ) was like, I wish there's a costume shop to get dressed like those old time style. It took me about 20 mins walk from the closest subway station, still it's a worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A MUST visit in Xi'an.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Set in beautiful gardens the Dayan Pagoda or Wild Duck Pagoda as it is known by locals is a must visit. Be careful at the local gift shops where they tend to charge you more than else where in Xi'an. Call into the History Museum, only a short walk away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laird Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buddhist monastry, very peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

if you have a private tour, you guide would recommend this venue, on site we saw the Happy Buddha, and we were told by our guide that this was one of the most famous temple in China. Our guide also took us walking around the pagoda to see the music fountain square on the back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TimKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayan Pagoda Northern Square also viewed

 

Been to Dayan Pagoda Northern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing