We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If you're into archaeology, check out this museum.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Banpo Museum

Xi'an Banpo Museum
North of Banpo Village, Baqiao District, Xi'an 710038, China
029-83512807
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$84*
and up
Full-Day Bus Tour of Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village
Ranked #27 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're into archaeology, check out this museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This museum is really great because you can walk around the actual site itself and see the things that can't be put on display in a museum like house foundations, post holes, and burials. There is a museum section, too, where you can see all the ceramics, and the collections are really beautiful. Coming from the perspective of someone who is into archaeology, I loved this museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    55
    28
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't go alone ... not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked a tour to go the terracotta army and this museum was included in the tour (Eastern tour). However, the museum is not that interesting. You will see some reconstruction of the ground where the houses where, some tools or stuffs like that. There are very few explanations, just the name of the stuff you are looking at.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Le_Gaumais_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My cabbie recommended and I believed he got rebated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was part of the "tour" of the local taxi driver's day trip plan after the museum of terra cotta worrior, it's rated as national tier 1 museum in china since the discovery of the earliest archaeological trait of chinese. Not much collection inside the house, the best part was, the ranking of popularity of Chinese last name. But the part of the fortune teller house, matter of believe it or not, not my cup of tea.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Travel back 6,000 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

While this site is interesting it is an active and ongoing excavation site.
The history of the society is interesting, with well designed huts or houses.
The Matriarchal hierarchy made being a male very lucky...LOL...your guide will give the full story when you go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our guide and driver suggested a stop at Banpo Museum when I decided the imperial hot springs didn't look that interesting and we therefore had some extra time in our day. I'm so glad we stopped at Banpo to see the remains of a 6,000-year-old matriarchal society. Not only was it fascinating to see a peaceful civilization to contrast to the Qin emperor who killed his father 4,000 years later, but the museum itself was clean, well laid out, and full of interactive high-tech displays. My kids (13 and 10) had a great time seeing early tools and the beginnings of a written language. Highly recommend a stop here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank haveboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an Banpo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an Banpo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing