We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't go alone ... not worth it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an Banpo Museum

Xi'an Banpo Museum
Book In Advance
$84.00*
and up
Xian Full-Day Tour of Terracotta Warriors Museum and Banpo Neolithic Village by...
Ranked #26 of 337 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't go alone ... not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked a tour to go the terracotta army and this museum was included in the tour (Eastern tour). However, the museum is not that interesting. You will see some reconstruction of the ground where the houses where, some tools or stuffs like that. There are very few explanations, just the name of the stuff you are looking at.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Le_Gaumais_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    67
    32
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My cabbie recommended and I believed he got rebated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was part of the "tour" of the local taxi driver's day trip plan after the museum of terra cotta worrior, it's rated as national tier 1 museum in china since the discovery of the earliest archaeological trait of chinese. Not much collection inside the house, the best part was, the ranking of popularity of Chinese last name. But the part of the fortune teller house, matter of believe it or not, not my cup of tea.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
606 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Travel back 6,000 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

While this site is interesting it is an active and ongoing excavation site.
The history of the society is interesting, with well designed huts or houses.
The Matriarchal hierarchy made being a male very lucky...LOL...your guide will give the full story when you go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our guide and driver suggested a stop at Banpo Museum when I decided the imperial hot springs didn't look that interesting and we therefore had some extra time in our day. I'm so glad we stopped at Banpo to see the remains of a 6,000-year-old matriarchal society. Not only was it fascinating to see a peaceful civilization to contrast to the Qin emperor who killed his father 4,000 years later, but the museum itself was clean, well laid out, and full of interactive high-tech displays. My kids (13 and 10) had a great time seeing early tools and the beginnings of a written language. Highly recommend a stop here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank haveboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treasure of history and culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Banpo Village historical site is well worth the effort of seeing on a visit to Xi'an, especially if you thought that the Terra Cotta Warriors was the only game in town.

The Village depicts an agrarian, matriarchal society which flourished in the broad river basin some 6000 years ago.

There are plenty of panel displays, with English subtext (a little too small for my taste) and some very effective video animations about how the various dwellings were constructed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an Banpo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an Banpo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing