We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Xi'an Banpo Museum

Xi'an Banpo Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Museum Bus Tour from Xi'an
Ranked #17 of 332 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our guide and driver suggested a stop at Banpo Museum when I decided the imperial hot springs didn't look that interesting and we therefore had some extra time in our day. I'm so glad we stopped at Banpo to see the remains of a 6,000-year-old matriarchal society. Not only was it fascinating to see a peaceful civilization to contrast to the Qin emperor who killed his father 4,000 years later, but the museum itself was clean, well laid out, and full of interactive high-tech displays. My kids (13 and 10) had a great time seeing early tools and the beginnings of a written language. Highly recommend a stop here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank haveboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    130
    66
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treasure of history and culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Banpo Village historical site is well worth the effort of seeing on a visit to Xi'an, especially if you thought that the Terra Cotta Warriors was the only game in town.

The Village depicts an agrarian, matriarchal society which flourished in the broad river basin some 6000 years ago.

There are plenty of panel displays, with English subtext (a little too small for my taste) and some very effective video animations about how the various dwellings were constructed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were not sure what our guide was taking us to. It's interesting to see how dwelling forms and communal living occurred so long long ago. If you want to know about Chinese society and history, this is interesting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeeglutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Banpo Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

6,000 years ago (Old Testament Times) the Chinese were already using very advanced tools. Often overlooked in one's visit of Xian. This village is well worth a visit if you are not in a hurry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Westiekhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“6000 years ago village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We will see some old houses of 6000 years ago and the oldest pottery jar and stone facilities.It's a neolithic matriarchal village.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chinatourhighlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an Banpo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing