We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location & Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest City Hotel
Ranked #61 of 2,331 Hotels in Xi'an
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location & Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in Forest City Hotel October 2013 for 2 nights. We found the hotel to be in a very central area down a quiet street the double room we stayed in was large and comfortable and very clean. We ate at the hotel both nights the food was really good and very cheap especially the beer which was approx 50p a large bottle. The staff speak little English but we're really helpful trying to work out what we wanted. If we ever returned to Xi'an we would definitely stay there again due to the location and excellent price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hillyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Forest city hotel is located in a quiet street off the bustling Dong Da Jia. Staff are relatively friendly and soft spoken. Rooms are huge and clean. But some have leaking water problem in the bathroom. Like many places in China, mosquitoes are found in the room too.

Overall it is a fair and good hotel to stay in Xian. Its only 10 minutes walk from the Bell Tower.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOKKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 19 dec to 29 dec 2012 and were very disappointed with it. Although it was a 4 star establishment, it failed in sustaining it. The 1st night we checked into the room the toilet bowl mal - function and the dirty water leaked out of the joint and floored the toilet , they refused to let us changed the room till the same thing happened the 2nd night and then we insisted this time.

The cleaner actually smoked inside our toilet while cleaning and left the ashes behind. We could smell it once we were back in the room, she didn't bother to change the bed sheet or pillow cases the period we were there. Half the time the wireless was not working , the doorman never bother to open the door for us when he saw us coming , he just walked away !
When we checked with the receptionist for information most of the time they said they don't know! We speak fluent Chinese by the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailortraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here overnight during a visit to see the terracotta army (of course). The location could hardly be bettered: very central, but down a quiet side street. My room was large and comfortable, with a good bathroom and excellent shower. Would've been 5 stars except:
(1) This was the only Chinese hotel I stayed in - including some of much lower standard - that didn't provide bottled water (I'd assumed my room hadn't been properly serviced, but no, you have to get your own water!)
(2) Unrolling the shower mat revealed a large and offputting blotch of mould.
I suppose Westerners staying more than a day or two might be disappointed by the lack of an English-language TV channel, or Western-style breakfast options, but overall: good value for a brief stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It is a standard business hotel with Western style interior. The room cleaning was actually better than the average for Chinese hotels (which can often be quite appalling) and so recommendable for this reason. We had mixed experiences with customer service (even compared to other Chinese hotels) - on the one hand, we were given another room when the air condition broke down on our floor. On the other hand, reception staff refused to help us with calling a taxi and we were accused of stealing a towel at check out, and we had to go upstairs and show them that wasn't the case. Many of these problems are probably due to language barriers, as next to no English was spoken and it was clear they weren't used to foreign guests. Hotel restaurant though was a treat and worth trying!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#36 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#37 of 2,331 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#38 of 2,331 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.0 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest City Hotel

Property: Forest City Hotel
Address: Juhuayuan Road NO. 9 East Main Street, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#61 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Forest City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing