We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great room, terrible service, bar prices ridiculously high” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn City Centre Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn City Centre Xian
Ranked #164 of 2,331 Hotels in Xi'an
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great room, terrible service, bar prices ridiculously high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent rooms but hotel is in rather run down area although taxis to town very cheap. Hotel service at best inept and often surly. Main bar closed at 10 and cheapest bottle of wine in the other smaller bar was £70+. No wine by the glass. Breakfast room very crowded and service very slow particularly coffee which was from a domestic type machine and you had to queue.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ST0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    112
    62
    20
    18
See reviews for
26
35
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Location wise is perfect, right in the middle of the main street, walking distance to everything you need in the city.

Price was quite cheap.

The hotel itself was quite ok - excellent room and vast chinese breakfast with just some western "snacks".

The problem I had was communicating with the staff especially in the evening. They were not able to pass a phone call to my room!!! (since the night staff didnt speak a word in English).

During the day, they had an english speaker running around hence we could sort out issues easily.

If only the stuff would improve on their english......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Only 5min walk from the Drum and Bell towers, and 2 min from the Muslim Quarter, which has some of the best souvenir and street food shopping you'll see in China!

However, the air-con didn't work, they tried to fix it and gave up. The toilet blocked repeatedly, there was a small hole in the bathtub and the bathroom would flood.

Hardest bed I have ever slept in as well. Its like concrete.

The included "western buffet" breakfast consisted of toast (on one side of the bread), and cereal with hot milk, and a fried egg.

Staff spoke next to no English, which I don't mind so much, but even when having a friend translate, they were not helpful. I genuinely hate giving bad reviews, but this one was a bit of a bad egg.

But for location, you won't find better.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very loud, bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Plus points: Cheap, good location . Thats it.

Really disappointed with days inn chain expected far better even for a budget hotel. Hotel really old rooms big but really rundown in need of refurbishment, paint , new carpet. Aircon was shocking, nights way to hot, other people with the same problem. Room smelt of smoke even though non smoking room. Staff appeared friendly but very limited English. Breakfast pretty poor. Beds very hard. Wish we had paid slightly more for a better budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and had a very good experience, staff was very helpful with all our questions, they even recommended us how to get to Terra cotta soldiers with local buses even thugh hotel had its own toura, but they were obviously pricy.The great location was helpful, since we had short time and we could easily get everywhere, even taking cheap shuttle bus to airport from a hotel not far away. Breakfast had big choice and was good.Room was very spacious and cleaned properly every day. All to all we had good time at the hotel, the only disadventage was wifi which was avaliable only in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ola182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
531 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Within easy walking distance of Bell Tower and located on a main street this property can be ideal for exploring the city.

Our room was pretty basic but clean with a nice bathroom. Our only disappointment was that Wi-Fi is only available on certain floors and in the lobby area although the hotel advertises free Wi-Fi.

If this is important to you then request a floor where it is available, if not you will have to hangout in the lobby to get a good signal.

Days Inn does have a travel agency and small convenience store on property which is nice. There are also a few employees that speak and understand English well enough to get you pointed in the right direction.

One employee was kind enough to even walk us to the right bus stop to make our way to see the Terra Cotta Warriors.

Although this property can use some improvements, we would still consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've booked 2 rooms in this hotel , due to good location and pretty good review. I have booked a month before the day. When we are checking in, the girl gave us same floor room but distance apart, one room at the front and the other room at the end of the hall.
the first room was reasonably ok but got this smell. the second room at the end, it was the worst ever. It looks like it hasn't been sleep in for years and smell like garbage. My dad was so angry. good thing there's this nice lady helping us to swap room and apparently there is empty room just across the first room. I don't understand why they didn't give us that room at the first place.
There is other nicer hotel around Xi'an.
Do not be fooled with the location.
This experience totally ruins our mood on that day, very disappointing.
Luckily we are only staying for 1 night
the only good thing is the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee_t_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
0.8 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#36 of 2,331 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#38 of 2,331 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.2 mi away
Aurum International
Aurum International
#47 of 2,331 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn City Centre Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn City Centre Xian

Property: Days Inn City Centre Xian
Address: No.99 North Main Street, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Downtown , Lianhu District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn City Centre Xian 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn City Centre Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Xian Hotel Xi`An
Days Inn City Centre Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing