We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Outside the Walled City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
Ranked #44 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I chose to stay outside the hustle and bustle of the walled city. Tang Dynasty Garden is a beautiful oasis with lush courtyards, fish ponds and a view of the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. My emails with the hotel were answered promptly and clearly. Information in Chinese about how the reach the hotel by taxi was emailed before our arrival. Check in was smooth. English is not widely spoken here but a few employees know enough to communicate.
The rooms are not perfect. There's some peeling paint and the beds are a little hard, but what this hotel lacks in its condition is more than made up by its character. You could feel like you are living back during the Tang Dynasty with some staff dressed in imperial garments, musical performances in the evening and tranquil gardens. Ask for a room that opens up into the courtyard, otherwise your room will face the street. For those who need it, free in room wifi and an in room computer is available to stay connected. Our teenaged sons reported a smell of sewage from their bathroom but our room was fine.
The location is 4-5 kms from the walled city, easily accessible by taxi ( around 15¥ metered) or bus. Currently there is no Metro station nearby but they are hard at work building a new north to south line.
There are a lot of restaurants within a 10 minute walking radius north, south and west. This area seems to really come alive in the evening and at night (8:30 or 9:00) there is a fountain/light show to music in the north plaza.
Breakfast is included (they will give you a breakfast voucher at check in) and has both western and Asian food. Not the greatest tasting but certainly adequate to get you started for the day. I'm happy with the decision to stay at the Tang Dynasty Garden Art Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that opens up into the courtyard, otherwise you will back onto the street or pedestrian m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightningboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

We wanted to spend three days in this hotel, which came recommended, but I guess the positive postings here are fake or bought.

We were told, our booking was some kind of misunderstanding, the offered discount (30%) could not be offered anymore, so it was abt. 1.000rmb/night.

It's always bad to change hotel at the same day, but almost hopeless at chinese new year.

So we checked the room, which had a poor bathroom, pretty basic interieur, loud, as all rooms facing courtyards which are open to everyone.
Not pleasant at all.

Overall impression: it seems very much like a state-run hotel, lack of maintenance, staff speaks very little english if at all - the sign said it: 'foreign tourist receiving'.
While I was looking for a restro, I bumped into breakfast room and woke up the staff sleeping on the tables and chairs.

We disliked this place so
much, we rather spent twice the money and a lot of time to find another place to stay than staying here for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in December and were surprised at how comfortable and well equipped the Chinese-style rooms are. The hotel comprises several attractive linked courtyards, and the bedrooms are accessed from these, as is the breakfast room which provides a wide selection of mainly Chinese foods. The hotel is situated next to the Dayan Pagoda in a modern area outside the city walls of Xi'an and the area is a major tourist attraction with many restaurants and street activities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDovecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Lovely traditional Chinese style hotel, with modern comforts, suitable for all types of groups. The hotel is arranged in a number of attractive courtyards, and has traditional Chinese furnishings - so a great option of you want a taste of China rather than a faceless Western hotel.

We recently stayed in a family suite with our 2 young children. The suite was a large room with 2 standard double beds, plus a raised platform with thin mattress and extra bedding, so could probably accommodate larger family groups as well. There was also a large sofa and armchair, with TV (Chinese channels), computer, WIFI, minibar etc, so the room was a comfortable place to relax after sightseeing as well. Our ensuite had a good shower (but no bath).

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was largely Chinese but with cereal, toast, fruit and basic fry-up available so you could eat Western style too. A full range of free fresh coffee (inc cappuccino) was available over breakfast, which was very impressive for a Chinese hotel.

Service levels at the hotel were good, with nice additional touches such as a traditional Chinese instrumental group in the foyer in the evening (who were happy for our children to try out their instruments), and souvenir quality key rings gifted on departure.

The location worked really well for our group - the hotel is right next to the Big Goose Pagoda and evening fountain show, and within 30 mins walk of the Shaanxi Museum, so you can easily fill a day sightseeing on foot. The whole Pagoda area has been sympathetically developed as a tourist area, with many restaurants and a large pedestrianized area (very useful if you have toddlers who need to run around). Also, because it is not in the centre of town it is very easy to get out to visit the Terracotta Warriors without being stuck in traffic jams. We did not investigate the public transport into town as we had hired a driver, but there appeared to be a number of bus routes and they are in the process of building a subway line.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were at this hotel last August. This hotel is a traditional one and has a reasonable price. We really enjoyed the patio and the room that was comfortable. The night we were staying there was a concert of traditional music in the patio while we were having dinner at the restaurant. The food is really delicious but could be quite spicy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The courtyards are fabulous and it is located right in the middle of all the city action. The water displays at night are beautiful. The desk attendants were very helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was large and western. The city has a lot of smog but one morning the sky of blue and a wonderful breeze was blowing through the gardens. The breakfast was a tasty combination of East meets West. We all enjoyed staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Art Garden Hotel is arranged around a pair (or was it 3?!) courtyards. It's modern, but has been tastefully constructed in traditional style. My room was in the furthest courtyard from reception, which was a wonderfully serene place to sit and read in the daytime. Indeed, the gardens are well kept, and the Goose Pagoda towers benignly over the courtyard wall.

This brings me nicely to location. Many feel they should be within the walls of the old city, and this is where most of the larger hotels are. Honestly, I think the sights of the old town are highly bereft of the character that overly romanticised tourist guides attribute them with. The main mosque is worth seeing, but the street markets surrounding it have no really interesting wares or foods on offer anymore that can't be found elsewhere. It might just be because I'm used to the bazaars of India, but there really is little "authentic" character left in Xi'an old city. With this in mind, the surrounds of the Art Garden Hotel make a welcome change. It's situated on the edge of a huge public square, at the centre of which lies the Goose Pagoda and it's surrounding temples. The square itself features a huge (and I do mean HUGE) musical/lightshow fountain and some modern mall-type buildings. This might not sound that interesting, but it's an absolute mecca for locals and families in the evenings, and offers a great insight into modern, middle class life in Xi'an. There's all sorts going on - inpromptu line dancing, men cracking massive whips, rollerblade slaloms etc. There's also a street that runs north off the square that has a host of more upmarket restaurants - but be warned, in many the staff speak no english at all, and in some they don't even have those picture menus that make speaking redundant. The hotel is also on the right side of the city, and near enough to main roads, to make the trip to the Terracotta Army extremely easy. We arranged this at the hotel and had an extremely comfortable door-to-door ride.

The rooms are extremely well appointed, and very comfortable indeed. It had everything I could ask for, including a desk area complete with PC. The bathroom was very nice, though in some ways a triumph of style over substance. This is largely in reference to their decision to put 'traditional' bamboo style bathtubs in, which are not bolted down and make for a slightly awkward thing to shower in. It's not a real issue, but it does mean the entire bathroom gets flooded unless you remember to tuck the curtain into the bathtub - you'll find out for yourself if you go ;)

I only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but it was most agreeable. It's mostly Chinese (as indeed I think are the hotels customers) with little western fare on offer. However I suggest you use this as an opportunity to and try the interesting combination of barrista coffee with fish-fragrant chicken or some such similar delicacies.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place. It's extremely comfortable, well decorated/maintained, and offers a much more interesting alternative to the rather bland massive international chains that dominate the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SebT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,658 in Xi'an
735 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,658 in Xi'an
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,658 in Xi'an
758 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,658 in Xi'an
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#40 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#52 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $102 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing