We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great guide, good value”
Review of Warriors Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warriors Apartment
Ranked #3 of 1,386 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good location, great guide, good value”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

For most of our trip around China we stayed in hotels, mostly in the £80-£100 bracket, some much more but having read the descriptions of the Warrior Apartments in Trip Advisor we decided to take a chance.

To book we tried the web site, there is an English version, an email address and a mobile phone number. After many attempts at getting a reply I gave up and booked via Ctrip.

I then needed to contact Clarence (the owner) to arrange pick up from the station and a tour to see the Warriors, still no reply. Eventually I asked Ctrip and they kindly gave me a different mobile number. I texted Clarence my request and got the reply "OK", that was it, no more so I was a little apprehensive but as we were arriving at 9am in Xian we took the view that if it all went wrong we had time to find a "proper" hotel.

Our worries were further increased when there was no one to meet us, but about 10 minutes later an apologetic Clarence arrived to take us to the apartment.

We were a bit perplexed with the location shown on the interactive trip advisor map, it is wrong, the apartments are in a very convenient position near the Bell Tower, ignore the Trip Advisor map.

You need to be met at the airport or station as finding anywhere in Xian is very difficult, the local maps are awful, we looked out for a decent map and were unsuccessful. The apartments are in a not very nice block of offices and flats, they remind me of student accommodation, everything you need, but fairly cheap and cheerful with a bit of maintenance required.

As everyone else has mentioned, every where you look there are warriors, warriors in the bedroom, warriors in the kitchen, warriors in the living room even in the shower.

Would we recommend staying here? Yes, it would not be ideal for a one night stay but as a base for 2-7 days we would highly recommend it. It is very close to the Muslim area so it was great to be able to get good street food within walking distance, the metro is about a 10min walk away as is the airport bus. Most of the hotels seemed to be outside the city walls so not very convenient at all and at less than £50 a night the apartments are really good value.

Of course the reason most visitors come to Xian is for the Terracotta Warriors and you would be hard pressed to find a better guide than Clarence so make sure you book a days tour when you book the room. He charges £50 a person but that is a full days tour (not just the warrior site) and includes all the tickets, road tolls etc as well as a very nice lunch.
Both he and his wife (sorry, I don't remember her name) were very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had two families stay in the Warriors Apartment. The owner was very accommodating and met us when we arrived and allowed us to leave our luggage in one of the apartments for a late checkout. The kids loved all of the statues and artefacts and dressed up in the warrior costumes and took pictures. The two apartments we had were adjacent to each other which was very convenient. Everything worked well and we had a great time. The apartments had a washing machine and places to hang clothes to dry and that was much needed in the middle of a 10 day trip. All the laundry soap etc was provided. There were kitchens in both but we never used them. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you are travelling as a family, this is a must. Kids will LOVE it. We were not, but still loved it. Take the apartment for what it is, a tribute to the terracotta warriors. It is not 5 star luxury so if that is what you are after, don't come here, but if you want a unique experience, this is it. Clarence and his wife make sure you are well looked after, in fact Mrs Clarence has to be the most energetic and busy ladies ever. Great to be able to do own laundry. We did the tour with Clarence which was well worth it, but bear in mind, Clarence has done this 6,000+ times. He is therefore in a little more of a hurry than we were! The restaurant he took us to gave us the best food we had in China in 3 weeks. The Muslim quarter was a 5 minute walk away. Try the pottles of spicy potatoes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank april f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

First off, the decorations here are the reason to stay. And they are impressive. I am glad I stayed here and will remember it for a long time. Clarence and his wife were both very nice and accommodating. I took the Terra Cotta tour with Clarence and you will not find a more knowledgeable guide. You will walk away knowing more about the Terra Cotta tomb than everyone else. Having said that, the 7th floor apartment I stayed in was a little rough. Exposed electrical outlets with nothing in them, conduit, lighted decorations that do not light up. The top of the toilet tank was gone and you had to pull up on a wire to flush the toilet. And there was no wifi, although I'm told the other 2 apartments have wifi. If I owned the apartments, I would keep them in better shape.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duaringa, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the apartments for three nights and it was spacious and a good place to have a much needed break. It is very well located and has all the amenities you could ask for including a washing machine and soap which was very welcome. As other reviewers have mentioned I would probably look for another tour to the warriors other than the one offered by the owner of the apartment. Overall it is a great place to stay and would recommend it for families as there is plenty of space. A quick tip if you are looking for a food change there is a great Italian restaurant nearby it is called Colabro, very nice and does take away or dine in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star hotel. However, we enjoyed our stay very much. The owners are very nice and were very willing to please. They have remodeled two apartments into fun, and entertaining rentals. We stayed two nights. It was fun to view all the different warriors that have been added everywhere in the apartment. We were not to sure about the location at first. But after staying there and enjoying the short walk to Moslem market street, we ended up liking the location very much. Do not stay at this place for luxury, although it was spacious and fairly comfortable. But stay here for the fun (we were in China for three weeks, we didn't need 5 stars the whole time). We took lots of picture of the place. It was very intertaining, even for our 4 year old that got to dig for warriors and artifacts in the little sand box. This was the place we talked about the most when we got home!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Warrior Apartments for three nights in April 2011, we were two families with children and the accommodation suited us very well. It is comfortable and well-maintained and the warrior theme is a lot of fun. We enjoyed the decor and the kids loved dressing up and excavating warriors from the sandbox. It was also nice to have breakfast and drinks provided and you can cook other meals if you want to, very useful if your kids want a change from Chinese food. The location is also excellent, a few minutes walk from the Muslim quarter and within easy walking distance of other attractions.

However those booking should be aware that it is a B&B not a hotel, so don't expect 5 star hotel standards in terms of the plumbing and amenities. We were not bothered by noise outside as some other reviews stated, but we live in China and are used to life in this type of apartment complex.

We did the tour with Clarence and it was interesting to hear his perspective - he has a very different interpretation of the history of the warriors than the standard one - but I agree with some other reviewers that he was not very enthusiastic about the tour in general. I also thought the temple and cave dwellings included in the tour were not that worthwhile, we would have preferred to spend more time at the warriors site or to go elsewhere. You might want to make other arrangements for site-seeing.

To sum up, an ideal place to stay, particularly for families, if you want flexible, quirky accommodation and are not expecting top class hotel standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHopeRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#57 of 2,578 in Xi'an
907 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,578 in Xi'an
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
1.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#41 of 2,578 in Xi'an
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warriors Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warriors Apartment

Property: Warriors Apartment
Address: Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,386 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Warriors Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warriors Apartment Hotel Xi`An
Warriors Apartment China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing