We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and memorable - a little rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warriors Apartment

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warriors Apartment
Ranked #3 of 629 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Unique and memorable - a little rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First off, the decorations here are the reason to stay. And they are impressive. I am glad I stayed here and will remember it for a long time. Clarence and his wife were both very nice and accommodating. I took the Terra Cotta tour with Clarence and you will not find a more knowledgeable guide. You will walk away knowing more about the Terra Cotta tomb than everyone else. Having said that, the 7th floor apartment I stayed in was a little rough. Exposed electrical outlets with nothing in them, conduit, lighted decorations that do not light up. The top of the toilet tank was gone and you had to pull up on a wire to flush the toilet. And there was no wifi, although I'm told the other 2 apartments have wifi. If I owned the apartments, I would keep them in better shape.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duaringa, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the apartments for three nights and it was spacious and a good place to have a much needed break. It is very well located and has all the amenities you could ask for including a washing machine and soap which was very welcome. As other reviewers have mentioned I would probably look for another tour to the warriors other than the one offered by the owner of the apartment. Overall it is a great place to stay and would recommend it for families as there is plenty of space. A quick tip if you are looking for a food change there is a great Italian restaurant nearby it is called Colabro, very nice and does take away or dine in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star hotel. However, we enjoyed our stay very much. The owners are very nice and were very willing to please. They have remodeled two apartments into fun, and entertaining rentals. We stayed two nights. It was fun to view all the different warriors that have been added everywhere in the apartment. We were not to sure about the location at first. But after staying there and enjoying the short walk to Moslem market street, we ended up liking the location very much. Do not stay at this place for luxury, although it was spacious and fairly comfortable. But stay here for the fun (we were in China for three weeks, we didn't need 5 stars the whole time). We took lots of picture of the place. It was very intertaining, even for our 4 year old that got to dig for warriors and artifacts in the little sand box. This was the place we talked about the most when we got home!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sichuan, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Warrior Apartments for three nights in April 2011, we were two families with children and the accommodation suited us very well. It is comfortable and well-maintained and the warrior theme is a lot of fun. We enjoyed the decor and the kids loved dressing up and excavating warriors from the sandbox. It was also nice to have breakfast and drinks provided and you can cook other meals if you want to, very useful if your kids want a change from Chinese food. The location is also excellent, a few minutes walk from the Muslim quarter and within easy walking distance of other attractions.

However those booking should be aware that it is a B&B not a hotel, so don't expect 5 star hotel standards in terms of the plumbing and amenities. We were not bothered by noise outside as some other reviews stated, but we live in China and are used to life in this type of apartment complex.

We did the tour with Clarence and it was interesting to hear his perspective - he has a very different interpretation of the history of the warriors than the standard one - but I agree with some other reviewers that he was not very enthusiastic about the tour in general. I also thought the temple and cave dwellings included in the tour were not that worthwhile, we would have preferred to spend more time at the warriors site or to go elsewhere. You might want to make other arrangements for site-seeing.

To sum up, an ideal place to stay, particularly for families, if you want flexible, quirky accommodation and are not expecting top class hotel standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHopeRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My only regret is that we only had one night to stay in this place! We were pleasantly surprised when walking in to see the many warriors that Clarence had made. This place is definitely unique! It is clean and well-equipped - toothbrushes, toothpaste, kitchen basics, etc. If your visiting Xi'an to see the warriors, then then I would say that this place is a must. Kids would love this place! Also located in a convenient location to the old part of Xi'an - close to many restaurants.

We had a 2-bedroom apartment - both rooms quite large. The kitchen was fully equipped with pantry basics although we did not use because we were only there for 1 night. Bathroom was also nicely decorated. This would be a great spot to stay for an extended period - 3+ nights, although it was great for one night as well.

Definitely recommended and the price was right too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great apartment! Lots of life size figures around! Very friendly owner who left us some beer and did our laundry for us.
Comfy rooms and nice bathroom. Slightly odd location, down an alley (dark but still felt safe) and waking distance to most sights.
Great atmospheric apartment but sadly no cooking facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

When we booked the Xi'an Warriors Apartment I expected your average hotel room with a simple kitchen. This place turned out to be beyond charming. It is decorated with warriors everywhere! Don't waste your money on photos at the pit. You can stand amidst the full sized warriors in your very own room! 100 warriors held up the bed, full sized warriors in the walls and more surprises everywhere you turned. We had a large group so several rooms and one room even had a sand box the children could dig and find little buried warriors!!

Clarence was extremely helpful and met us at the building to let us in (its not a regular hotel with a reception desk). He was prompt and helpful with everything we needed and left his phone number in case we had any troubles. He was wonderful and I enjoyed reading the book he wrote on the warriors in the apartment.this place isn't your 5 star hotel with spas but was just my style if fun.

I highly recommend this delightful surprise!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zufelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
9.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
13.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#35 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
9.4 mi away
Hantang House
Hantang House
#1 of 629 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
10.0 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#14 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warriors Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warriors Apartment

Property: Warriors Apartment
Address: Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Warriors Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warriors Apartment Hotel Xi`An
Warriors Apartment China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing