We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A unique quirky experience - but not for everyone!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warriors Apartment

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warriors Apartment
Ranked #4 of 1,370 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Jersey-Channel Islands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A unique quirky experience - but not for everyone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The apartments are exactly as described. Absolutely not suitable for anyone who likes luxury and a sense or order!
The apartments are full of character and reflect Clarences phenomenal knowledge of warrior history.
The kitchen was not very clean (but we didn't need to use it) as the location was amazing. The apartments are really central and within 3 mins walk of the amazing muslim quarter with local food outlets galore and only 5 mins from Starbucks and other western food outlets.
The mosque and the bell and drum towers are all within very close walking distance.
Mrs Guo was a star and washed all our clothes. Our flight was delayed by several hours and we arrived at 5am! Mrs Guo met us on the road to direct the taxi with a huge smile and you would not have known that she had been woken at 4am and travelled to the apartment to greet us. So incredibly hospitable.
Clarence gave us a brilliant tour. We thoroughly recommend taking a Clarence tour to the warriors. His knowledge is second to none and his challenging theory on the Warriors brings the whole experience alive.
We stayed in apartment 703. It is the least attractive of the three and does not have wifi . They kindly gave us the key to 203 for use of wifi as it was unexpectedly vacant at the last minute. We wish we had relocated apartments as 203 and 201 are significantly nicer than 703 and I would recommend requesting them. Apartment 703 only has seating for two and we were a family of four adults.

In summary. As so many other reviewers have said. This is an experience and provided you know what to expect the experience is a good one, but it does not suit everyone and we had mixed opinions within our family group!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoola2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hi, this is Parry from Singapore. I have been staying in the same apartment with friends for the last two years each time I visited Xi'An. Both Clarence and his wife (Guo Jie) are very warm and helpful.

The location can't be any better. Whether you arrive by air / train / bus. It's easy to locate.
I took friends who visited Xi'An for the first time to stay there, it has been their hot topic whenever they talk to friends about their Xi'An experience.

Across the street is Muslim mosque, street food, shopping paradise, jade market etc.

An ideal place for stop over or "just arrive" from somewhere to rest before heading to other nearby provinces/place of interest/book your on-forwarding train/air ticket.

Each morning, Guo Jie loaded our fridge with fresh fruits, ice cream, refreshment, food. You can prepare your own simple home cook food here if you are not used to local food. And washing machine is available to do your own laundry.

Very much a home from home ! Definitely I will go back again ! (I don't have the photos with me now, but will put up some photos later :) )

Cheers !
Parry Tan
Singapore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParryTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had trouble to find it but once you are there (call and meet in front of fire station) its a great place to stay in Xi´An. No better starting point to head to the wonderful streets of the maket area or drum tower / bell tower. The many terracotta warriors in the rooms, bath and bedroom are a great introduction to the trip to the originals. Fully recommended also because the owners run the 3 appartments in a very friendly and personal way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dojolowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here when the weather in Xian was not too good but the apartments, which are everything recent reviewers say and moreover the personality of Clarence the owner lit up our stay in Xian. Do not stay here if you only want standard rooms and standard tours. This is the mirror image.
The flats are comfortable but whimsical and warriors loom out of every nook and cranny. Facilities are fine but each item is an individual and it is like being in someone's home rather than a hotel. That said the service provided by Clarence and his wife is top class and do not miss his full day guided tour of the Taoist temple, the cave house and the warriors museum and do them (as he advises) in that order so that you can enjoy discussing Clarence's views on the warriors.
We would not have missed this experience and will be advising all our friends to visit Xian (spend a few days) and stay here but I can imagine that there are tourists who would not like it

Room Tip: We were in pit 1 which has the weakest internet link. If you must be wired all the time pit 2 is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 day nights at these fantastic warrior apartments. Our kids aged 6 & 4 loved all the warriors and dressing up in the warrior clothing provided. We stayed in Pit 1, which was a little cramped, dusty and had dodgy wiring but the beds were comfortable and the shower worked really well. Eggs, UHT milk and beer were provided. We brought our own cereal with us for breakfast and for evening meals we ate out in the local Muslim Quarter..you will find great food here and lots of stalls to buy replica warriors.

Clarence had the kids digging for warriors in a sand pit and Mrs Gou gave the kids soft Pandas which was very kind of them. Mrs Gou also did laundry for us. Only bad thing my daughter left her favourite headband on top of a warriors head and cried all the way to the airport! :-)

I too recommend doing the tour with Clarence as its unlikely you would get to see the cave village otherwise. We did it with two other lovely families. The lunch we had in the local village was fantastic and the tour of the Warriors themselves was impressive. The sheer scale of the Pits was amazing to see. Unfortunately we visited the day after Ching Ming festival so it was incredibly busy and therefore not easy to hear to Clarence.

Be sure to visit the Xi'an City wall where you can hire bikes and view the city. The Bell and Drum towers are a must also. A very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Be sure to do a tour with Clarence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wonderfully quirky, as everyone here attests to. It is centrally located, and if you are lucky, there will be yummy crepes for sale at the street entrance in the morning. One thing I did not realize when I booked this room was that Clarence also will work as a guide. He is very friendly, and his english is good. I would look into hiring him next time, for convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatheyW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are visiting Xi'an specifically to see the Terracotta Warriors site, complete the visit by staying at Clarence Gou's Warrior apartments. This is not a 5 star hotel. Take it for what it is: customized apartments near the Muslim Street, set up as a themed B&B residence.
The location is great for visiting the excellent food and shopping market. The apartments are clean, a little musty when the windows aren't opened but jam packed with Terracotta Warriors and artifacts in every room (modestly, they face backwards in the bathroom).
Clarence picked us up at the airport, provided breakfast foods and snacks at a reasonable cost and was our day's tour guide out to a Taoist temple, a visit to the hill folk and of course the Terracotta Warrior site. Excellent day trip, rustic accommodations and terrific service and attention to detail. You can do laundry too if you have been traveling for a while.
There is wifi although it was a bit hit or miss. Hit one day, miss the next.
Buy his book, it is excellent. Ask questions, he is very knowledgeable. Enjoy a different experience. Don't miss the Muslim market.
Thank you again, Clarence!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougupinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
12.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
9.7 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#45 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hantang House
Hantang House
#1 of 1,370 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
10.0 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#14 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warriors Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warriors Apartment

Property: Warriors Apartment
Address: Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,370 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Warriors Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warriors Apartment Hotel Xi`An
Warriors Apartment China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing