We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with some glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City
Ranked #48 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with some glitches”
Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the holiday inn of Xi An for 3 nights. The stay was very comfortable but I had some issues that caused me discomfort and annoyance. The biggest issue is that my room was facing a huge construction site that is working day and night, meaning no comfortable sleep during the day and night!

Also, I had issues with my Internet connection in the room where I had to stay on the line for nearly 40 minutes to have it resolved. Internet speed was good when working though.



However, the hotel was quite, friendly staff, rich breakfast, good value for money.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WorlTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    102
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
7
7
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hotel is about 45 min away from the airport - mainly highway, hence quite easy to reach. It is in the south of Xian.
Rooms are typical Holiday Inn style, quite OK.

Bathroom has only a walk-in shower, which I actually prefer. The bed was comfortable, for Chinese standards soft, but for western standards normal.


TV has only a few English channels, with CNN, HBO and a few others. No DW.


Internet costs money and the speed is acceptable. Skype, VPN and FaceTime works.


Food in the coffeeshop is quite good, only at breakfast is a big rush, hence you may want to be early there to quietly eat your breakfast.


Electric plugs are next to the desk and at both sides of the bed. The plugs are multi use, meaning UK, German, US and of course Chinese plugs can be used without an adaptor.

During my last stay I had some trouble with less than standard service, but the hotel followed up nicely on my comments and this time everything was good.

So I will stay there gladly again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel .
Never been a great holiday Inn supporter , but must admit this one was a very pleasant surprise all the way .
Located in the suburb of Xian , in an industrial and business area under intense development ; forget the surrounding area , even for a walk . Nothing to see .
On the other hand , downtown area is around $20. away by cab .
Recent construction , 30 story building american style .
Rooms are spacious , extra clean , large windows , very quiet and comfortable .
Impeccable service with a smile ; you feel welcome .
Modern and efficient business center on top floor , with free WI FI service ,
open from 7:00 to 22:00 .
Food is very good , especially breakfast buffet style like at home .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

It is OK for business. The surrounding area is nothing special.You can not just leave the hotel and walk around. Only efficient way of transport in that area is a taxi. During my time in Xian, taxis were rare, you you need to consider some waiting time to get one. The hotel is OK, but the Gym is too small from my point of view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hirsch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. Xian in general has a shortage of taxis and we are now trying to negotiate with some local taxi companies to send more taxis to line up outside the hotel. We look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks and found the hotel to be quiet, clean and the staff very friendly. I thought the food in the Chinese restaurant was better than the western restaurant on the first floor. However, the ice cream desert on the western restaurants menu had fruit mixed in and was excellent. There is a group of 5 or 6 restaurants within easy walking distance near a park with a small lake. It was quite pleasant. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Be sure to visit the Terra Cotta Warriors, the Ancient Xi'an City Wall and the Big Goose Pagota while in Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. The management and staff of the hotel look forward to welcoming you back to Xian and back to the Holiday Inn Xian Century City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked 2 double rooms. The location was a bit far from downtown Xian but the shuttle bus which we booked in advance, as we were 4 passengers with luggage was nice enough and it took about 45 mins from Airport to the Holiday Inn, in the middle of the industrial Hi-Tech area, far from the center.
The hotel was definitely of US standard, with a big hallway - reception area, with a fabulous rich breakfast room, plenty of variety of continental, american and of course chinese dishes, which were of all of us taste.
The rooms were very big. Once funny and original thing was the glass window separating the bathtub and the bedroom. And the shutters were actually outside the bathroom, so it is under control of the person in the bedroom, rather than the person taking a bath for example. Kind of weird intimacy controls! The executive lounge where we could hang out provided afternoon tea and baozhe as well! We enjoyed our stay there very much and the big bed allowed a good resting time, after a long day of walk and visit in Xian Terracota soldiers location.
Highly recommended. Congratulations!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

After five nights stay with husband and kids, we left with mixed experience. We pleasantly found that the facility including room and swimming pool is much updated compared with other Holiday Inns. It's a shame that the hotel room doesn't have wireless internet, only wired internet service available. Hotel staff have a good attitude but lack professional training. They double charged my credit card though I've made full payment in advance and reminded repeatedly not to double charge me. During communication with one of the hotel staff, one person even didn't understand the difference between hotel website and an email address and kept asking me to send email to hotel website. Moreover due to heavy construction going on surrounding the hotel, the interior glass window of the hotel is very dusty. I can tell the area will transform into a modern and bustling sub city center in 3-5 years once all construction completed. All in all it is still a good choice for business traveler in Xian High Tech Park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YI_IVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn XI'AN BIG GOOSE PAGODA
5.9 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,582 in Xi'an
867 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
#17 of 2,582 in Xi'an
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,582 in Xi'an
477 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
7.4 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City

Property: Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City
Address: No.5 Jinye Road, Hi-Tech Zone, Xi'an 710065, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#21 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#40 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#42 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Xi an Greenland Century City is a brand new international hotel within Xi an the High-Tech Industries Development Zone that offers Stay Real experience to both domestic and international guests. The hotel is walking distance to Greenland PICO Exhibition Center, Administrative Committee of High Tech Industries Development Zone and 5 minutes away by car to entertainment and dining establishments. Designed with the Everyday Heroes in mind, whether they are on business, attending a meeting, exhibitions or just simply taking a break, Holiday Inn Xi an Greenland Century City is a place where guests can relax in a modern, fresh, friendly and comfortable atmosphere to help them achieve their life s dreams. The hotel has 386 contemporarily designed guestrooms including 3 Executive floors, 10 Non-smoking floors and 40 suites. The hotel features All Day Dining , Chinese Restaurant, Lobby Lounge and Fun Bar. Meeting facilities total capacity up to 860 people. After staying at Holiday Inn Xi an Greenland Century City, some have even said simply relaxing and fantastic. But our other favourite has to be Great Hotels Guests Love . We do not just offer you service we offer the Hallmark of Holiday Inn. Xi’an Xian Yang International Airport Shuttle Bus is Available on Holiday Inn Xi’an Greenland Century City Airport shuttle buses depart from the Airport every hour from 8:30 to 17:30 daily. Airport shuttle buses depart from the Hotel every hour from 8:40 to 20:40 daily. The airport shuttle bus services are available at RMB25per single trip. Please arrivals at shuttle bus stop outside of the hotel lobby at least 10mints prior to departure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Xi'an Greenland Century City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Xi`An Greenland Century City Hotel Xi`An
Holiday Inn Xi'An Greenland Century City China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing