We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loses out on the smaller items”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xi'an Yihe Palace Hotel
Ranked #1,115 of 2,588 Hotels in Xi'an
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Loses out on the smaller items”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Several earlier reviews for this hotel call it old-fashioned but I think it has had an update as my room was newly carpeted and had very modern, golden glass walls between the bathroom and bedroom. Another good point was that all light switches were stamped with their use so there was none of that having to flick on every switch to see what lit up. I didn't find any staff who spoke English but I don't know of any English hotels where the staff speak any of the versions of Chinese. We got by fine on sign language and the staff were very helpful. The Chinese breakfast buffet was good and generous. My one complaint was on those little things. There was a kettle but an extra charge if you made coffee (and there was no coffee), tea, toothpaste etc all cost extra. It was only pence but even budget hotels usually manage to provide such items as part of the service. The bed was a bit creaky. The very modern bathroom had old hard towels distinctly on the grey side of white and although the shower was very modern the floor was not very clean and extremely slippery without a non-slip mat. I don't think I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were high up on floor 24 and I am told these are the best rooms but didn't see others so cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pursuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel dated and bedrooms worn out. Not as described with some areas deserted and empty. The westerners restaurant is in the reception area which was not heated and unwelcoming. The Chinese restaurant allows smoking and when we went to eat there it was thick with smoke and could not stay there.
Very little English spoken and hotel situated a good 30 minutes by taxi to city. Also Internet in room but when we enquired how to use it, we were told we could not use it. The hotel appeared to cater more for the China market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

For Those Who Think ThatThis Hotel Is REALLY Bad, You Are Wrong Because Now They Have Changed Everything Including Carpets, Toilet Flushing, More English Speaking Staff, Really Good Breakfast ! Personally, I Liked This Hotel Really Much And I Recommend The People Who Are Planning To Go To Xian (Choose This Hotel)

Room Tip: The Standard Rooms Are Great As They Have An Amazing View Of Xians Night Life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My English is poor please consider that.

You can tell why this hotel ranked #151 of hotels in Xi'an

We stayed in the Yihe Palace hotel for 3 nights in January.
There were only Chinese and Korean tour group people.

This hotel was disappointing, the carpets were stained and dirty, the toilets didn't flush so dirty water overflowed directly into the room.
Breakfast was so poor.
This hotel was very far out of the center and you can never take a taxi on the street, because taxis are so rare in Xian.

I'll never stay here again.

Room Tip: Please select hotel around city center because it's so difficult to take a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beylimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Good value when you are in a tour group where the hotels have been chosen by the land operator

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel looks good, the buffet looks very appetising. The staff are very impolite, their knowledge of English is close to zero and they dont make any effort to help the guests in any way. The rooms are spacious. More or less clean. The buffet could have been a bit more international in content.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our group stayed two nights at the Yihe Palace and of the 6 hotels of our two week tour of China, this was udoubtedly the worse. The beds were hard and worn, the carpets were stained, the floors were dirty, the air conditioning barely worked, the toilets didn't flush, and the front desk spoke little if any English. To top if off, upon check out they demanded an additional 70 yuan for items they said were missing from our rooms (coffee spoon, laundry bag, adaptor). Ater trying for 30 minutes to explain that the items were left in the room we eventually paid the money as we were late for our bus. Tthe other hotels on our trip were great. The "Palace", however, was a major disappointment!

Room Tip: There are lots of great hotels in Xi'an. Stay away from this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,588 in Xi'an
627 reviews
2.9 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,588 in Xi'an
1,013 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,588 in Xi'an
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,588 in Xi'an
435 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#42 of 2,588 in Xi'an
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Yihe Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Yihe Palace Hotel

Property: Xi'an Yihe Palace Hotel
Address: No.3 Hanguang South Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710065, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Yanta District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,115 of 2,588 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xi'an Yihe Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Xi'an Yihe Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Yihe Palace Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing