We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xi'an Garden Hotel
Ranked #45 of 2,355 Hotels in Xi'an
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The way this hotel is designed is beautiful. They have a marvelous court yard in the center in which swans and peacocks inhabit. If you're lucky, you'll get surprised by a peacocks open tail! The rooms are good, but the beds are quite hard. This is something that arises everywhere in China that I have stayed, though. The curtains are blackout, which is wonderful! The hotel is located a good bit outside of the city center, however there is a new development filled with restaurants and bars a quick 3 minutes walk. It is also adjacent a Pagoda, which is a must see.

Room Tip: We were in the 2000 wing, on floor 4. If you exit the elevator to the left, rooms on the left side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for choosing Xi’an Garden Hotel! Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. Here you could find the beautiful Chinese Garden with lively animals. There is also Tai Chi performance every morning. All these would definitely be attractive to you. We hope our friendly service would make your travel experience brilliant and plentiful, and welcome to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    163
    66
    14
    2
See reviews for
21
55
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

grand entrance big lobby fantastic center garden with geese, ducks, koi, and 2 pair of peacock. free tai chi lessons in the morning pretty nice breakfast buffet (could have been better juice selections). close to many attractions and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for choosing Xi’an Garden Hotel! Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. Here you could find the beautiful Chinese Garden with lively animals. There is also Tai Chi performance every morning. All these would definitely be attractive to you. We hope our friendly service would make your travel experience brilliant and plentiful, and welcome to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
277 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

best thing about the hotel is its beautiful inner garden area- ask for a room with a good view of it. many trees, flowers, ponds but also noisy peacocks!!
location is good for walking- the large wild goose pagoda, a beautiful park, many restaurants nearby.
buffet breakfast was excellent.
the rooms have an older feel to them. there was some mold in my bathroom and the water temperature in the shower varied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your attention and recognition of Xi’an Garden Hotel. The architecture of our hotel is combined with artistic features of Tang and Chinese gardening arts, which has attracted numerous Chinese and foreign guests. The tranquil garden, lively animals, as well as the beautiful inner court lake let you feel close to the nature. Our hotel facilities are gradually updated. With your support, we would continue to offers better service for you. Looking forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
332 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel looks impressive on first look, and the grounds and lobby are lovely. Our standard room was quite large but it was also shabby. The furniture was worn, the carpet stained, and the bathroom had black grout. The air conditioning seemed to go off at night so the room became warm. There is free wifi in the rooms; just call the operator for a password.

The breakfast buffet was good, but not great. Western dishes weren't quite right.

This hotel is very close to the Wild Goose Pagoda. There's a fountain-light show in the park every night at 9:00 (we had read it was 8:00 and had to wait an hour). Across the street there is a food court with many kinds of restaurants, including Pizza Hut, Dairy Queen, and a good vegetarian restaurant called Bo Zhou. There's a big shopping mall down the street near the entrance to the Pagoda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your valuable comments. Our facilities are being updated. We wish to offer you a more professional and attentive service in the future. We would also improve the variety as well as the quality of the breakfast. Welcome to stay again and hope you have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

An hour away from the airport, an hour away from the warriors. It took us a full hour to catch a cab for the Muslim quarter as the staff were content to chat and smoke while vaguely looking in the direction of the road.

We turned in our key the next morning to check out before we went to grab breakfast, and we were barred from our prepaid breakfast. They refused to acknowledge that we had already paid for it and refused to rectify the situation.

The rooms were the smallest on our entire trip. The carpet in the room was unnaturally stiff, and the carpet in the hallways were wet. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattingly_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your valuable comments. We are very sorry for your experience in our hotel. In the future, we would strengthen the training to improve staff’s professionalism and service awareness. Our facilities are also being updated. Xi’an Garden Hotel looks forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

On a group tour of several cities in China, this was definitely the best hotel. The internal gardens and pools provide a serene environment. Rooms are larger than usually encountered in China, and quite comfortable. Large, weloming lobby. Friendly, accomodating staff. Extensive, varied breakfast buffet. A short walk to the nightly 'dancing fountains' water show. Oveall, a winner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oria11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your attention and recognition of Xi’an Garden Hotel. Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. It is also the best place to experience the Chinese garden-style living. With your support, we would continue to provide the most considerate and attentive service to our guests. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in 10/2012 and was very pleased. Nice breakfast buffet, beautiful landscaping, lagoon and walkway thru interior garden.
Our room was quite comfortable and yes some rooms can be a bit of a walk from the lobby, but I personally enjoyed the stroll.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcspoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Yitel Hotel Xi'an Dayanta
Yitel Hotel Xi'an Dayanta
#713 of 2,355 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,355 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Barony Xi'an
Grand Barony Xi'an
#25 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#27 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Property: Xi'an Garden Hotel
Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#36 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#50 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing