We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grey hotel in a grey city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Ranked #16 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A grey hotel in a grey city”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel is next to city's ancient wall. So it's just 5 minutes to the downtown.
The room was quite big. There is a kettle, free wired internet but no Wi-Fi in the room. Wi-Fi is only in the lobby. And it's as well free. Staff's English is very poor. My room was in building "B" and it was a little uncomfortable to get there from the reception as they are in separate buildings. Therefore the rooms in building "B" are cheaper. All my 3 days I spent there the city was under smog. Maybe that's why the towels were grey.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building must be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOZ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    250
    77
    24
    8
See reviews for
71
218
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here with a group for two nights. The room and washroom were clean. We would recommend this hotel. The room as large and overlooked the city. They have a nice breakfast. The A/C did not work well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a long holiday in China. Check in was quick, and we were surprised to find we had a whole suite, not just a room. It was huge, and very nicely decorated. The only drawback was that there didn't seem to be any rules about smoking, and there was a slight stale cigarette smell . A couple of times when we got in the elevator, there was someone smoking in it, which we found very unpleasant.

The breakfast buffet is one of the biggest I have ever seen, and the food is nicely presented. There seemed to be something for everyone, with both Chinese and Western foods.

The location was a little bit outside the central city, and was not so nice for walking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Titan Times which turned out to be a good hotel with excellent rooms and views of the city wall but the crazy traffic makes it difficult to get out from there. It is less suited to those who want to wander through the city therefore and you need to take a taxi for the otherwise walkable trip to the inside of the walls. We did try to find a restaurant locally to the hotel and outside the city walls but it was not possible. The good news though is that the hotel itself does have an excellent and reasonably priced speciality Chinese restaurant as well as the buffet restaurant. The bar does start to close up at 11-ish so don't expect a long evening there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Titan Times for 3 nights, arriving at 1.30am on the first night. Room on 15th floor and overlooking the Ancient City Wall - huge bed, ensuite, lounge room and extra toilet, but not a good sleep the first night as the beds were hard and could hear noises from the alley and traffic below. Shower flooded, so don't leave towels or bath mat on the floor! Breakfast was okay with a variety of western and Asian food - even a lolly bar. Tried to order drinks in the cigar bar, but no staff to be found. When we did order, we waited half an hour and then went searching for our drinks. We found the drinks in the coffee lounge in the lobby, but by then we had given up. Just because they have a cocktail menu doesn't mean they understand what the cocktail is or can make it. Staff other than reception staff have little understanding of English! Stick to beer - it's a lot easier. Be aware that your room will be checked on departure! On the bus, we had hotel staff accosting travellers accusing them of stealing glasses or using the minibar - when this was denied, they had people sign blank pieces of paper where they had to state they didn't steal. Not very nice! Okay for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MareeandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've recently stayed at this hotel with my family for 2 nights. We were 3 adults in one room - the room has plenty of space, more like an apartment than an average hotel room. Beds are very hard, and elevators are a weak point of this hotel - you can wait couple of minutes until you get one, especially at mornings.
Breakfast buffet was quiet disappointing for the western travelers, there isn't enough "western food" there.
Most of the staff doesn't know English, so we asked our guide to help us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38_traveler_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found this hotel to be of a high standard and well located in the city of Xi'an.
Our room consisted of two rooms located on the 24th floor. The first room, on entry, was a large room with lounge and arm chairs, a large wall mounted flat screen TV, breakfast bar and en-suite toilet. The separate bedroom was also ample in size, fitted with a large wall mounted flat screen TV and a large en-suite bath/shower/toilet.
The view was of the walled city and surrounding parkland.
This is a modern hotel worthy of 5 stars vis; Australian standards.
Breakfast was a treat with many options to chose from. The hotel caters for tour groups but this did not present a problem during our stay - if you prefer a quiet breakfast you may have to pick you time to avoid the tour group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.4 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
2.1 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,582 in Xi'an
866 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,582 in Xi'an
435 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,582 in Xi'an
475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#40 of 2,582 in Xi'an
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Titan Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Titan Times Hotel

Property: Xian Titan Times Hotel
Address: No.360 Huancheng West Road North, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Titan Times Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xian Titan Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xian Titan Times
Xian Titan Times Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing