We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent suites, hardest beds around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Titan Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Ranked #16 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Seattle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent suites, hardest beds around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Xi'an as part of a vacation package we booked that included hotel. We got rather spoiled in Beijing and were pleasantly surprised with the second leg of our journey in Xi'an at the Titan Times. It is centrally located, near the city wall (on the outside of the old city) close to the metro. It only took about 15 minutes to drive to other parts of the city, so it was very well located, with restaurants nearby, as well as one onsite. There is free wifi in the lobby and on the floor two bar. The rooms are huge, well laid out suites that were comfortable and spacious. They are well decorated and well kept, ours was always clean and housekeeping did an excellent job during our three night stay. Our room on the 16th floor had two bathrooms, which was great, a mini fridge and two flat screen TV's one in the living room and one in the bedroom (they were a little tricky to get working at first). The view from our room was great of the city. The breakfast that was included in our package was ok, nothing to write home about, but they did have a fairly good selection of options, however a lot of the food was very greasy for my taste. The bathrooms in the lobby were nice and well kept. The staff was ok, a little short at times (possibly the language barrier is attributable to this) but overall helpful. Despite all the good, and there was a lot of good, three complaints about the hotel I had, #1- the beds: one of the hardest beds I have ever slept in, so the rest factor was not great. Although this is a cultural difference and China typically has harder beds that us cushy US folks are used to, but still, big minus for me. #2-The elevators were very slow. In the scheme of everything this was minor. #3- the room temp: it was always super hot in our room, and the climate control didn't really work so it made it a little uncomfortable. They did have working windows so we could open the windows, but then the smog and smoke from outside would waft in, so that sort of stunk (literally and figuratively). All in all we were impressed by the hotel and would recommend staying here. Hopefully they will find a way to accomodate to people who do not like the hard beds, then they would be almost perfect.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views but the elevator is slow so its a trade-off
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrottingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    213
    67
    20
    8
See reviews for
66
173
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I would rate this hotel as 3 stars. The room interiors are a bit dated, but still within the last 10 years. Room has a slightly awkward feel. The bedroom, near the window of the room, is separated from a living room. The desk, in the living room area, faces into the bedroom thru a window opening. The bathroom is a nice size and comes with a number of toiletries. The beds were a bit stiff almost board like. We stayed on the flower floor. The beds had pink comforter covers. This hotel is used by a lot of tour companies, so it can be flooded with tourists at times and breakfast can be overrunned with them. Breakfast is adequate, but not as nice as other hotels of similar class in China.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived at the hotel from the overnight train coming from Beijing. (Definitely not a recommended journey). Therefore, it was heaven to be able to check straight into our room which was clean, modern and welcoming. Our baggage was delivered super-fast to our rooms. The bathroom not only had a large shower recess but a bath as well. The wardrobe could also be opened from the bathroom. So convenient! The safe in the room gave us that little bit of extra security. Sadly the beds were not as soft as we expected. However, I have been on even harder beds in several hotels over the years. There was a computer cable attachment in the room, but unfortunately no wi-fi, which could only be accessed from the lobby. The signal was very weak from there and I could not 'send'!

The lobby was beautiful and a credit to the hotel staff. Off to the left-hand side was a bar which included a coffee shop. One night I was unable to finish my drink so was taking it back to my room. The barman charmingly asked for my room number. I assumed this was in case I absconded with the glass!

Lifts and corridors were clean and smoke free. I am sensitive to cigarette smoke, being asthmatic, and it was a pleasure to not detect even a hint of the foul weed!

There was only one incident which detracted from a wonderful stay. The Chinese staff at Reception were very friendly, but only one understood English. Further, there was a person on Reception, who by her accent and appearance, was English. She was less than helpful, indeed, one could say that she was indifferent and offhand to me.

We were pleased to be able to see the Xian city wall from our room.

On the whole a delightful and comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Xian city wall. It is beautiful at night and interesting during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here on a tour. I believe this is an all suite hotel. The room was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. The bed was hard (as almost all are in China). The breakfast buffet was the best we have ever seen. The choices are endless. The food was fresh and delicious. The views of the city are excellent. We could see the city wall from our room. The location is perfect for exploring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLCparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our China tour. It was a good stay, everything was average, nothing exceptional and nothing bad. Would probably try another hotel just to compare if we ever came back to Xian.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YOW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm not sure how the reviews for this hotel can be so high. This was the worst hotel of our whole 16 day trip in China.
The hotel is not modern and it is not clean. The beds really are hard as a rock, cold water in the showers and the hotel is extremely run down. I heard that the hotel is only 5 years old, but it is not very well taken care of at all. Room are very dirty...so much so that you will have to wear shoes in your room and the shower.
Also, you may ask for a non-smoking floor...but the floors and the rooms still smell like smoke. The breakfast buffet is also pathetic. They do have a good mix of Western and Chinese selection--but the meat is never cooked all of the way. Their western "creations" leave a lot to be desired. It is not good at all.
The only plus side is that this hotel is in a good place in the city...btut Xi'an is very crowded you are not able to cross the street safely.
Do yourself a favor and upgrade your hotel in Xi'an to a 5 star hotel. You will be very pleased you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On the X'ian portion of my recent tour of China we were booked into the Titan Times Hotel. I was amazed with this hotel. It was modern, clean, and the hotel services were outstanding. I was fortunate to get a suite and the we were on the top floor with a fabulous view of the city. It's location allowed us to see the city sites, the Treea Cotta soldiers, and the Ancient City Wall. Overall, an outstanding experience

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand New World Hotel
Grand New World Hotel
#17 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Titan Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Titan Times Hotel

Property: Xian Titan Times Hotel
Address: No.360 Huancheng West Road North, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Titan Times Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Xian Titan Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xian Titan Times
Xian Titan Times Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing