We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrocotta Warriors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an
Ranked #39 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrocotta Warriors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel as it was close to the Terracotta warriors museum. We took a metered cab from the airport which was 171 RMB. Most of the cab driver wanted a flat fee of 200 RMB. The hotel is located where either the development had stopped or is lagging far behind what was originally planned as it seems to be in the middle of nowhere. We wanted to go see the Muslim quarter. It took us an hour to wait for a taxi that the concierge had called for us. Returning from the Muslim quarter caused some grief as we were refused by a few taxi drivers. We ended up taking a taxi for 100 RMB, twice the price to get there. There seems to be a dearth of taxis as even locals were getting turned down. The hotel is 5 star. My friend ended up changing rooms because his room was too hot. I set my temp to 23C but it never got below 25C. The meals we had there were very good.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to the Terracotta Warriors and the taxi driver arranged for a tour guide. Her English was perfect. She had 10 years experience in leading tours and knew her stuff. Her cost was 150 RMB from 9AM until 2PM. She arranged for us to have a traditional lunch which was very good. The taxi driver cost 350 RMB to take us there, wait and return us to the hotel. I thought this was very reasonable to have a guaranteed ride to the hotel.
If you're only in Xi'an for a short stay, this hotel is very good place to stay. The staff speaks very good English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    103
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
21
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group and just for two nights. The only meal I had there was breakfast which was standard fare and just fine.
The hotel is stunning.....very large and quite unique with a beautiful lobby. It does seem to be off the beaten track so do not stay here if you want to go walking to shops or to restaurants.
The rooms are arranged in wings and the walk along the corridor can be long and the corridor was not well lit. The rooms themselves....again perfectly adequate in terms of amenities and quite nicely decorated.
There are two great gift shops on the lower level.
As well, the pool area is inviting but hard to find so be sure to ask directions. The lower level is a bit of a maze with conference rooms etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank whtschnauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hotel is 40 mins outside the city and it cost 50-60 RMB with taxi, therefore this not a good choice if you want see a lot of attractions downtown. It is difficult to get a taxi, because no taxis want to drive that far and empty back to the city. The italian restaurant is acceptable, I had a cibatta with was ok, but the pasta carbonara was tasteless. I liked the architecture of the building and the atmosphere inside. The room is big and had everthing you need, except T-shirts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
317 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel located in an isolated area, about 30 mins away from Xian city.
Useful for visit to the Terracotta museum as city traffic can be a nightmare.
Rooms are spacious, clean and modern.
Most hotels in China do not switch on the aircond from Oct onwards due to cold weather but luckily the 5 star hotels like Kempinski continue to allow guests this option.
Breakfast was great with plenty of varieties from international buffet to local dishes.
There were evidences of mosquitoes but not serious.
Use this hotel if visiting the Terracotta museum.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Kempinski-Xi'an has one massive problem that it can't fix. It's sitting right next to a huge man-made lake that is stagnant. This said lake is a gigantic mosquito factory in summer. When I first went to Kempinski-Xi'an about three years ago, I was swarmed by mosquitos in the bar, lobby and elevators. Their answer to the threat? They now pump in large volumes of mosquito repelent into the entire hotel that smells of some sickly, over-sweet perfume. I was planning on holding a large business event there but was sickened by the perfume smell. When I questioned employees about the odor, they shrugged their shoulders and said that I'd get used to it. No one should have to get get used to anything when they are paying top dollar. Too bad. It's a pretty nice place and only a couple of years old. If you want nice, stay in the NEW Shangrila.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I made a quick trip to Xi'an to see the Terra Cotta Warriors and thought the Kempinski would be a perfect stay. Having stayed in China for most of the summer I know that my expectations need to be lower than staying at other high tier hotels in Europe and the States.

PRO's
Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good A/C, great Paulaner Brew restaurant downstairs.

CON's
No hot water in the shower this morning. When I complained I got an "oh well" type of excuse. Give me a break, if 2 star hotels can regularly have hot water out in China, Kempinski has no excuse.
Today I asked to make an arrangement for a taxi to go to the airport and the staff here told me that getting a taxi would be difficult and that I should take either the buick(3 times the price of a cab) or a BMW (6 times the price of a cab)!!!! Plllleeeeeaasssseee. You can't find me a taxi in all of Xi'an to take me to the airport? I finally bothered enough people that a taxi was arranged for me.

I just wanted to come for a couple days get my rest, see the sights, and move to the next phase of my trip. What a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I an doing business in the Chanba region of Xi'an so the Kempinski is perfectly situated for me. I have stayed at the Kempinski at least 8 times over the past two years. The hotel is rather remote from Downtown (a minimum 30 minute drive and usually longer with Xi'an's horrible traffic) so if you are there to visit the city, the Kempinski is not the right choice.

The Kempinski is the closet high end hotel to the Terracotta Warriors easily cutting the drive by half when compared to hotels in downtown.

The hotel has a huge conference center and is excellent for conferences.

The staff is very friendly and professional.

The hotel can feel a bit sterile (still can't believe they have not added more plants which would quickly and easily add warmth the hotel interiors. The Rooms are large with half the rooms having a good view of the Ba River. However the furnishings can be rather sparse in the larger king rooms. Please bring in more comfortable sitting chairs Kempinski! The bathrooms are large with nice showers. One complaint about the bathrooms is that the lighting above the sinks is quite dim.

Nice grounds outside during the spring and summer. They have an indoor pool that is also nice.

There are three restaurants, a Chinese Restaurant, a Western Restaurant and a Pauliner Brew Haus. The food and service is excellent in all venues. I especially enjoy the Brew Haus. The Pauliner Beer is excellent. The hotel also has a lobby lounge with great views.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
8.0 mi away
Embassador International Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn XI'AN BIG GOOSE PAGODA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#8 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
5.0 mi away
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
#16 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an

Property: Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an
Address: No.6 West Section of Euro Asia Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Xi'an)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#33 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xi'an reflects the modernity and tradition of contemporary China, set in the ancient capital, home to dynasties and their treasures. Within easy reach of the airport and it is 40 mins to the Terracotta Warriors in 38 km by car, our luxurious rooms and first-class meeting facilities are elegantly designed and topped with a peaceful view of the majestic Ba River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Jiang International Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing