We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mandarin New Henderson Hotel
Ranked #785 of 2,649 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Although the entrance is not very impressive the inside is very good. Rooms were clean & comfortable. The Breakfast Buffet was very good as there was Western as well as Chinese, since I'm not much into Chinese food a good breakfast was a must in China. Once again the staff not knowing English was a short coming, otherwise they were very polite & friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DilrukshiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin New Henderson for two nights and it was a pleasant stay. Nice friendly reception and they spoke some English. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was good catering for both Asian and Western tastes, making this a good hotel for all types of tourists. We used it as a base to visit the Xian and of course the Terracotta Warriors - it was perfect

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while touring China 'on a budget'. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean, staff were always friendly and helpful. Yes, their English was limited but guess what folks, we are in China! The buffet breakfast offered plenty of choice - both Chinese and western food. My husband was delighted with the cornflakes and bacon! Wifi access was free in the hotel lobby and we had hard wired Internet access in our room (also free). We had room service one evening and the food was plentiful, tasty and reasonably priced. The only downside of this hotel is its location, 5km from the city centre and most attractions. However there always has to be a compromise when travelling on a budget. A hotel of this standard in the city centre would have cost far more. We actually walked into town one day - it was a very straightforward route - and arrived at the City Walls South Gate in a little over an hour. We caught a taxi back for around £5. There are plenty of shops and places to eat in the vicinity of the hotel so although outside the city the location is not isolated. I would recommend it as a place to stay if you have limited funds and don't mind being a little bit away from the main attractions.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

There is no room service or wake up call offered. No english food offered and no vegetarian meals. Rooms is clean, very spacious and internet for 24hours at 30yuan and a decent computer provided in room.. I loved the bathroom which was tiled black with chrome trmimmings and worked well...
Breakfast was average buffet and staff tried best to assist.. I did not have any dinners at the hotel.

Room Tip: I got a corner room 801 which was lovely and spacious as it was right near the lift but I did not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reyhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very cheap price, but good quality.
Shower booth is quite small, but room itself is spacious.
Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddaogi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were large and light. They were always clean and comfortable and the staff went out of their way to make your stay a success. We ate breakfast here every morning and there was a large selection, regularly topped up and there was always a queue for the toast machine. The restaurant was always clean and we enjoyed our food there. There was always plenty of hot water for the shower and towels were always changed on request.
The only negative about this hotel is it's location. If you stay in Xi'an I would recommend staying near the Bell and Drum Tower. It's the best area to visit either during the day or the evening. This hotel means you need transport to and from the Bell and Drum Tower area. The Hotel is lovely and the area where it's located is safe but as a tourist visiting, you need to be within the city walls.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel was shown on the map as being inside of the Xian wall part of the city. It is not. It is a considerable distance away. Thus, you must take a taxi to see anything. While Xian taxis are inexpensive, they are a hassle as few speak English.

Really, they need to honestly state their true location on the map.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kovanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.8 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,649 in Xi'an
1,052 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,649 in Xi'an
1,229 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,649 in Xi'an
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,649 in Xi'an
512 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.2 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin New Henderson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin New Henderson Hotel

Address: No.22 West Second Ring, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #785 of 2,649 Hotels in Xi'an
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandarin New Henderson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin New Henderson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin New Henderson Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing