We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Suitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street
Ranked #36 of 1,382 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly Suitable”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived very early coming off a sleeper train, our rooms were not ready but the staff where happy to look after our luggage securely while we were out for Breakfast and to explore Xian. We stayed as part of a GAdventure end of July. This hotel can also be known as Guanzhong Tarven. The hotel is close to the Bell and Drum town and Muslim quarter, it is inside the old city, all these attractions are in walking distance. Our room had air conditioning, tea making facility, hair dryer and a good large shower with lots of hot water and good pressure. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby. We found the hotel and to be of a reasonable cleanness for Chinese standards and the room was very clean. It was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Robbo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Background: Otherwise known as the Guanzhong Tavern, this hotel became the Xian stopover for our tour group as part of a three-week circle tour of China.

PROS: Location is its best asset, being a leisurely three-block distance to the Xian Drum Tower, Bell Tower and Kaiyuan Shopping Mall as well as a short ride to Xian's main attraction: the Terra Cotta Warriors. Being close to a busy intersection doesn't hurt either. Starting from £20 per night, it is cheap compared to its peers for its 3-star rating. (A good find is Yu Pin Xuan, a Taiwanese-style pastry shop around the corner.)

CONS: Several come to mind -- First, the rooms are on the smallish side and dimly lit. The carpet is worn out. There are spots of mold in places. Second, it lacks some of the usual perks expected from a 3-star establishment: toiletries, fridge, in-suite safe, etc. Third, the shower is cramped together with the toilet and only separated by a curtain. Because the shower lacks a splash guard, water run-off floods the toilet area. Fourth, they nickel-and-dime you for anything and everything inside the room (water bottles, soap, etc). In fact, they have a small store in the lobby. Fifth, breakfast is not complimentary and uninspiring. Lastly, the hotel has the seedy atmosphere of a bordello. It is surprising to find condoms, lubricants and sex toys being openly displayed and sold in the rooms!

Verdict: Overall, there are more cons than pros. I'm not a fussy traveller but the hotel's standards are borderline sub-par, even for a decent 3-star establishment. Its central location and value notwithstanding, everything else disappoints. I cannot even begin to imagine how am I going to recommend this place. Tolerable for a few days but, for longer stays, there are better options elsewhere. Enough said. Grade C.

.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The rooms are clean and I found the staff competent and business like,which was good.The room was very good and the bathroom was spacious as well.A good location.Would recommend this hotel as it is a brisk walk away from the town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

You want a room to be somewhere you seek refuge after a day of business or discovery. Here we wanted to prolong our day activities and evening meal so we didn't have to return to the Guan Zhong Hotel until we really had to. Well located admittedly, near the city walls and Muslim quarter (and actually an excellent Chinese restaurant next door and a western style bakery just around the corner with decent coffee).
However, this really was the only selling point. Even our Chinese guide had told us that the people at the front desk were unhelpful and then when we got to our room the real fun started. We'd evidently been booked into a suite room, full of a gambling table and various bizarre items such as sex oil, ladies and gentleman's underwear available to purchase in the room. However the most overpowering memory was the stale smoke and extremely dirty carpet. There was cigarette ash that the maid had left by the bedside and the bathroom was highlighted by the sink leaking. We told the reception staff about this and then, when we returned 5 hours later, this hadn't been sorted and neither had the cigarette ash been cleaned. By this time though it was very late and thankfully we departed, after a night in a hard bed (though this is the case in most Chinese hotels), the next morning. Not a pleasant experience and I'm a seasoned traveller used to slumming it at times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Came on overnight sleeper from Beijing,we were early but rooms were ready,clean. Great for a 2 night stay.

Location near coffee shops and short walk to Muslim quarter,bell and drum tower.

Functional place to stay with wifi in lobby,Safe area and good as a touring base,not suitable for longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortisei, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The place is amazing. The ambience was superb and the room was gorgeous. The staff there were so gracious and welcoming, knew our names from the first moment. Overall, this is a great place to go for relaxing. Amazing staff, great stuff to do during the day. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is well located for tour groups (many of them here), very central and walking distance to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim market area. Apart from that, the hotel has very little to appeal. Rooms and bathrooms are small and tired, carpets are stained (particularly bad in our room) and the front desk staff mainly disinterested. The hotel does appear to be reasonably clean but there is a seedy feel to the whole place. We were amused to find condoms, sex oil and disposable underware on sale as part of the minibar offerings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank albert411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,560 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,560 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,560 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.8 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,560 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,560 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street

Property: Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street
Address: No.10 Jixian Alley, Nanxin Steet, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,382 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'An Nanxin Street China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing