We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“weird, very weird” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canaan Hotel

Canaan Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canaan Hotel
Ranked #741 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“weird, very weird”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

yes yes.. the other reviews are right it is cheap and the staff is friendly. I can speak chinese and still it was a bit hard to find. The restaurant is merely chinese, don't expect any thing western or even eatable, or perhaps you like sea cucumber. The room was not as nice as expected, it was dusty and the floor was still dirty from last guests. I have stayed in other china budget hotels, and I know they can be better than this one.
We asked for non-smoking room and they sent us to 14 floor, but the building was very weird and in the middle floors there was something like a construction going on and there were always construction men going up and down the elevator, it felt weird. And also the other guest is the hotel looked like odd people, always smoking and spitting inside the elevator. The elevator does not has a god ventilation system so all the smells stayed there.
Even though the staff is nice, if it rains do not expect help from them. We asked them to help us find a taxi to avoid the rain, but they said it was better if we just walked to find the bus.

Room Tip: the non-smoking rooms are dusty maybe the smoking ones are less dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaph89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    29
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came here for the weekend and had a bit of a difficult time finding it, however the rooms were huge and we paid $15/night! Once we found our way it was easy enough to get around by foot, bus or subway.

The only major downfall was the lack of water pressure in the bathroom. It's not the most amazing hotel but incredible for the value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jchan264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in April for 6 nights. It is about 30 mins from the airport and there was a bit of confusion as there are 2 Canaan hotels in Xian so make sure the driver knows which one you are going to! Once we arrived check in was easy and we were shown to our room. Although the air conditioning was broken and the room was slightly hot, after a shower it was OK to sleep. The staff helped us a lot with buying train tickets for different places - we went to Huashan mountain by ourselves and then onto Chengdu once we left Xian. Although the staff spoke no English we were able to use the computer to communicate and they wrote what we needed in Chinese. We decided to not go with the hotel to visit the mountain as we thought the price looked high at 490 CNY per person (the board in reception is out of date with prices so check with staff). But after visiting the mountain ourselves by train, the tour does not seem so expensive . If you decide to do tours with the hotel check what is included - with the mountain, you have to pay cable car, bus tickets, entrance tickets all separately and the reception board just states entrance. There is a small shop opposite the hotel where I would recommend you buy all of your drinks and snacks from - The owner was very friendly and always charged us Chinese prices for the things we needed. Hotel has good location for the Drum and Bell Tower, and also the Muslim quarter is about a 20 - 30 minute walk. The only downside is that the beds are slightly hard!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Staff are great, don't speak much English but were helpful with the use of google translate. Wrote down what we needed for train tickets in Chinese and always made a effort to talk and communicate. Little shop directly outside hotel has a great owner called Wangjing. Does not speak much English but try's hard. Never ripped us off and always got Chinese price for drinks and anything else we needed. The location is great can walk to drum tower easily. Would recommend to anyone on a budget. Beds are hard but this is the Chinese standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The staff are the best specially a girl called "Joy". we couldn't enjoy more our stay in Xi'an without her help. She provided us a guide scripted in English and easy to understand the bus lines to get around the city and the city's attractions. Even when she is away from the hotel, she gave us her cell-phone number in case we need help.
The room service is awesome. Some staff do not know English but they were really trying to help.
If you need local traditional restaurant, just walk behind the hotels alley
I highly recommend this hotel, make sure if you need help ask for Joy, she is the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

A few days ago while in Xi'an I stayed at the Canaan Hotel as I stayed there last year and knew it to be a nice hotel.The room was sparkling clean,and to my surprise had a beautiful balcony
The staff were very polite and friendly and made me feel welcome.Apart from a minor problem with bed bugs,I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Xi'an and will definitely stay there again.

Andrew

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#14 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#35 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Hotel

Property: Canaan Hotel
Address: No.4 Red Cross Alley, Shangde Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Downtown , Xincheng District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #741 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Canaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaan Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing