We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but could use further refurbishment”
Review of Merlinhod Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merlinhod Hotel
Ranked #72 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Positives
* The Meihua Golden Tang International Hotel Xian or now known as Merlinhood Hotel is located in the center of the city in a good location close to the Great Mosque of Xi'an as well as the historic Bell Tower, Drum Tower and within walking distance to the Muslim Quarter.
* Huge rooms designed in the style of the Tang Dynasty which were clean and comfortable, however a little run down.

Negatives
* It took us 25 minutes to checkout - make sure you go down early, there was some computer problems.
* 1 Elevator which was very small and slow
* No English map of the Xian township available at the Hotel
* No clock in room
* Breakfast - very standard - less choice than other hotels

This hotel is an okay choice if you are only staying for a couple of nights. Main positive is its location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEasiajetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

First of all, the hotel's location is superb, right in the center of the city, near the drum tower and the Muslim quarter, and next to subway. We stayed in an annex, I assume with cheaper rooms than the main building.

The annex must have been a fancy hotel when built, but it is showing its age. Elevator is small, slow, and there is only one. There are stairs to the doors with not sloped walkway for luggage. Having said that, the rooms are large, bathrooms are huge, and water pressure was good.

Now, the other side of the coin... Beds were super, super, super hard. I woke up with a back pain the next day. One of the nights I was trying to take the shower, but there was no hot water. I called the front desk to inform them, and next night the problem was solved, but no discount was offered for the inconvenience of showering in cold water. Also, I needed assistance at the front desk one morning, left my umbrella on the counter, and when I returned it was gone. I don't feel I can take points off just for that as I have no proof it was someone on the staff who took it, but they were not terribly concerned that a guest's property was stolen right in front of them.

Breakfast was blah, with less choices than most other comparably-priced hotels in China, and it was not even included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Meihua Golden Tang Hotel. I am not sure what exactly is the real name for this hotel, it has 4 English names, "Meihua Golden Tang" was its name, Mehood is the name on staff business cards, posters says Merlinhod, receipt says Huamei Jiudian. It also has 2-3 Chinese names. It is a challenge and a debate with taxi drivers.

Location is good. Our top 8th floor executive lounge room has direct view of both Bell Tower and Drum Tower, they are gorgeous at night when all lights are on, but only few rooms on higher floors have this view. It is next to the Muslim Quarter and several modern department stores, in a short alley off the Main West Street.

The interior condition is very old, pealing wallpaper, dirty carpet (staff said hotel carpet should be changed every 3 years, this one was 10 years ago), it is very obvious everything is old. Our executive room is very big, but there is a foul smell, especially in the bathroom, it has a distinct sewagy smell, we requested someone to fix it, when we returned, we knew someone was there, but no improvement, since it is only one night, we were too tired to change room.

Many reviews complained being placed in smaller building next door, across a small parking lot, which has another name, but owned by same company. I talked to Chairman's executive assistant, they happened to be visiting this hotel from Shanghai HQ, they put the cheapest price guests there, but guests see the pictures of the nicer main building online.

Free airport shuttle bus 3 times a day, 730AM etc.. not the right schedule for us, we did not use it. The public airport shuttle bus does NOT stop here as reported by some reviewers, that is about 10 minutes walk across a very wide Main West Street at another hotel, which has a Chinese name very similar to this hotel, Mei-something, which is also the hotel all taxi drivers want to go to, we had to debate with driver to go to the right one.

Staff services are on the cold side, bell boys saw us coming or going with luggage but did not offer to help or take over.

We booked executive floor with lounge access, but no need to spend extra money for that, not much there, very old, dark and Chinese hotel class decor. No breakfast there, nobody and closed in the morning.

Many guests smoke everywhere and in the elevators.

This is a terrible hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is in a really great position - right in the middle of everything, very close to Drum Tower and Muslim streets, but it is off the main road down a short 'lane' so is quiet. Perfect location really. The rooms are big, if a little worn, but the bed was comfy and the daily cleaning was really good. Food at breakfast is good - plenty of variety and fresh - but do get there early as although they say it runs until 10 I went after 9 one day and there wasn't much left ! The tour desk is very helpful and there is usually someone at reception who speaks English and is willing to translate for you and help you out in organising things. All in all a great spot to stay in Xian.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkkjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Strategically located in the centre of the city if Xian. Near Shop, Macdonalds, Park, Shopping, Pubs, Restaurants all in walking distance.
Get a room overlooking the breakfast area. Its like an Italian Forum. Rooms are clean and quite.
ATM on the lobby is very convenient.
The staff may get your Laundry delayed. Make sure you double check the time. I think its a communication thing in English.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesbvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were warned by tour company that this hotel was not great but really it was O.K. EXCEPT "NO SMOKING" is a joke when ashtrays are provided everywhere and the locals certainly do not observe signs plus also smoke in rooms on no smoking floors.
Hotel position was great and Xian generally was a pleasant city. The rooms were large and well appointed also quiet. Overall this hotel was better than some we stayed in that were part of well know international groups.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good size rooms, clean, with friendly helpful staff, and much fun trying to talk to each other, with our little Chinese, and their little English ! Near to the lively center of Xi'an, with the beautiful Bell Tower, and the Drum Tower. The night markets are brilliant, and very good value. The square had people dancing most evenings, and the fountain displays were lovely.
The only drawback, is if you are in a front facing room - then you will need ear plugs! so get a side room if you can.
Beds, as ever in China, are rock hard but you get used to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilternsBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,652 in Xi'an
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mehood Hotel (Lianhu Road)
Mehood Hotel (Lianhu Road)
#48 of 2,652 in Xi'an
45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,652 in Xi'an
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#29 of 2,652 in Xi'an
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dongshe Hotel
Dongshe Hotel
#35 of 2,652 in Xi'an
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlinhod Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlinhod Hotel

Address: No.79 West Avenue, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#70 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $70 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merlinhod Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merlinhod Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlinhod Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing