We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good price, not bad over all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Tower Youth Hostel
Ranked #40 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
London
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“great location, good price, not bad over all”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

staff was very helpful, as long as you have the patience and wear a smile,
I saw other guests having conflicts, but generally they expected Western standards
in a country that is 3rd world, never mind the glitzy shopping malls. The hostel was very basic in an old post office building, with a NOISY bar, but you can walk to Muslim Quarter and City Gates and buses are cheap and plenty. We had a corner room, that was all patchwork but
okay for 3 nights, for Chinese prices, the average rate, just beware of late check-out, they
penalize you and make few exceptions, as you will lose part of your deposit. This rule is
written in Mandarin on the reception counter, but not everyone can read it :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    54
    23
    12
    3
See reviews for
6
19
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taicang, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights.
The hostel is good for trips in the city because you can walk.
The hostel is a typical hostel with walls used as guestbook, dirty and spitting people.

Our room was big with 4 beds. Our own bathroom was in our room seperated by a glass wall.. so there was a stinky smell in our room when we entered the room and outside was a temperature of nearly 40 degrees!

The stuff is friendly and the food in the restaurant is good!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlonaW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRod83
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We had a bit of trouble finding the place as the entrance is just a narrow hallway on a huge building. The first impression is not the best, the stairway is huge, dirty, with thousands and thousands of cigarette marks. The walls are all written on by the very many guests the place has had.
After we finally found the front desk they were very helpful, giving us a discount as if we were HI members for no particular reason whatsoever, wasn't going to argue with them though.
The room was very very spacious, the view was SUPERB...the Bell Tower looks amazing at night. The bathroom was kinda tiny but it served its purpose.
LIKED:
1. great location
2. great service booking tours to several places (Terracota warriors, panda visit, Mt Hua)
3. clean rooms
4. A/C
5. Clean linen
6. Room was cleaned every day
7. GREAT value
8. Very good (western) food at the restaurant
9. Laundry service for a reasonable price

DISLIKED:
1. no elevator
2. super loud bar crowded with local teens (they seemed more like children to me, but they were drinking and smoking so I hope they were at least teens)
3. the stairways smelled a bit like urine since there were oriental style bathrooms for the employees on every floor
4. Beds are SUPER hard, not very comfortable after a long day walking

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The bell tower hostel is a pretty cool place. The location couldnt be better, right in the centre of town. The bar was always busy (with a lot of locals) and there was a good vibe in general. The room was large and relatively clean and the shower fine. All in all however the hostel felt a bit worn and the corridors especially were very dirty. I didnt get a great feeling from the staff either. However i would recommend the hostel, purely because of its location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megeve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was a great place for the price. I transferred from a much pricier hotel across the circle. Single room on the 5th floor was much better than expected, the furniture had a colorful pop-art feel to it. TV worked alright, but of course no English stations! Surprised it had AC! The flights of stairs were a killer, the elevator not working. Really hard to transfer my luggage. Staff friendly, fast and efficient. Good internet. Lounge area great for the younger beer crowd. Huge variety of travelers from all countries. Good laundry service. Beautiful night time views of the Bell Tower and rotary, nice breeze coming in the restaurant area. Nice selection of beer. Plenty of tours that hostel can arrange.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grafton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I can't really understand the positive reviews about this place. It was OK.
Its positives are mainly its location. Close to the train station, close to the Bell Tower and other essentials, private rooms are adequate, internet (at a cost), restaurant and bar.
Negatives for me would be its entrance, it looks more like a commision housing flat. Its common room is smoke infested! It just leeches out from the walls even when there is no one there. The atmosphere of the common room is seedy and unwelcoming. They get alot of backpacker traffic and their main customers are young chinese which you find alot back packing through China, but as a non-smoker I couldn't handle the smoke and didn't like the atmosphere, after 2 nights I found a much nicer and friendlier hostel elsewhere. The restaurant wasn't really value for money but you could get sausages and eggs. According to some chinese people I met along the way, alot of office buildings were converted to hotels before the Olympics, this is what I think happened here.
I booked the the tour to the terracotta warriors arcoss the road at the Bell Tower HOTEL(2nd floor) and it turned out it was the same tour that the hostel books (it stopped off at a few hostels actually), but the hotel includes lunch where the hostel doesn't. Book it with the HOTEL as it ends up cheaper (as lunch is included). The only thing is that you go to Bampo Neolitic village and the REPLICA of tomb .........(?) and 2 factory shops. Your trip won't be at a loss if give these a miss and go to the terracotta warriors on the public bus and do it yourself. They are just not worth your time and money.
In summary, if you like to smoke, drink and play pool then maybe this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander1ngStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

nice place which is in the downtown, walking towards everywhere is pretty fast
but i was on Floor fifth which almost killed us, moreover the noise from outside over the whole night!
besides, the train is interesting

breakfast was good, though a little slow.
Sorry , what? just couldn't understand what were the local citizens talking about..
a trip with a whole class haha

p.s. the underground pass is really puzzling me and my fellow guys...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#57 of 2,578 in Xi'an
907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#31 of 2,578 in Xi'an
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurum International
Aurum International
#38 of 2,578 in Xi'an
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#44 of 2,578 in Xi'an
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
0.6 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Youth Hostel

Property: Bell Tower Youth Hostel
Address: No.1 North Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Tower Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bell Tower Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Tower Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing