We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, in the centro of Xi'an but dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bell Tower Youth Hostel
Ranked #46 of 332 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights.
The hostel is good for trips in the city because you can walk.
The hostel is a typical hostel with walls used as guestbook, dirty and spitting people.

Our room was big with 4 beds. Our own bathroom was in our room seperated by a glass wall.. so there was a stinky smell in our room when we entered the room and outside was a temperature of nearly 40 degrees!

The stuff is friendly and the food in the restaurant is good!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlonaW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

We had a bit of trouble finding the place as the entrance is just a narrow hallway on a huge building. The first impression is not the best, the stairway is huge, dirty, with thousands and thousands of cigarette marks. The walls are all written on by the very many guests the place has had.
After we finally found the front desk they were very helpful, giving us a discount as if we were HI members for no particular reason whatsoever, wasn't going to argue with them though.
The room was very very spacious, the view was SUPERB...the Bell Tower looks amazing at night. The bathroom was kinda tiny but it served its purpose.
LIKED:
1. great location
2. great service booking tours to several places (Terracota warriors, panda visit, Mt Hua)
3. clean rooms
4. A/C
5. Clean linen
6. Room was cleaned every day
7. GREAT value
8. Very good (western) food at the restaurant
9. Laundry service for a reasonable price

DISLIKED:
1. no elevator
2. super loud bar crowded with local teens (they seemed more like children to me, but they were drinking and smoking so I hope they were at least teens)
3. the stairways smelled a bit like urine since there were oriental style bathrooms for the employees on every floor
4. Beds are SUPER hard, not very comfortable after a long day walking

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The bell tower hostel is a pretty cool place. The location couldnt be better, right in the centre of town. The bar was always busy (with a lot of locals) and there was a good vibe in general. The room was large and relatively clean and the shower fine. All in all however the hostel felt a bit worn and the corridors especially were very dirty. I didnt get a great feeling from the staff either. However i would recommend the hostel, purely because of its location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megeve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was a great place for the price. I transferred from a much pricier hotel across the circle. Single room on the 5th floor was much better than expected, the furniture had a colorful pop-art feel to it. TV worked alright, but of course no English stations! Surprised it had AC! The flights of stairs were a killer, the elevator not working. Really hard to transfer my luggage. Staff friendly, fast and efficient. Good internet. Lounge area great for the younger beer crowd. Huge variety of travelers from all countries. Good laundry service. Beautiful night time views of the Bell Tower and rotary, nice breeze coming in the restaurant area. Nice selection of beer. Plenty of tours that hostel can arrange.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grafton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I can't really understand the positive reviews about this place. It was OK.
Its positives are mainly its location. Close to the train station, close to the Bell Tower and other essentials, private rooms are adequate, internet (at a cost), restaurant and bar.
Negatives for me would be its entrance, it looks more like a commision housing flat. Its common room is smoke infested! It just leeches out from the walls even when there is no one there. The atmosphere of the common room is seedy and unwelcoming. They get alot of backpacker traffic and their main customers are young chinese which you find alot back packing through China, but as a non-smoker I couldn't handle the smoke and didn't like the atmosphere, after 2 nights I found a much nicer and friendlier hostel elsewhere. The restaurant wasn't really value for money but you could get sausages and eggs. According to some chinese people I met along the way, alot of office buildings were converted to hotels before the Olympics, this is what I think happened here.
I booked the the tour to the terracotta warriors arcoss the road at the Bell Tower HOTEL(2nd floor) and it turned out it was the same tour that the hostel books (it stopped off at a few hostels actually), but the hotel includes lunch where the hostel doesn't. Book it with the HOTEL as it ends up cheaper (as lunch is included). The only thing is that you go to Bampo Neolitic village and the REPLICA of tomb .........(?) and 2 factory shops. Your trip won't be at a loss if give these a miss and go to the terracotta warriors on the public bus and do it yourself. They are just not worth your time and money.
In summary, if you like to smoke, drink and play pool then maybe this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wander1ngStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

nice place which is in the downtown, walking towards everywhere is pretty fast
but i was on Floor fifth which almost killed us, moreover the noise from outside over the whole night!
besides, the train is interesting

breakfast was good, though a little slow.
Sorry , what? just couldn't understand what were the local citizens talking about..
a trip with a whole class haha

p.s. the underground pass is really puzzling me and my fellow guys...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We couldn't find the hostel to begin with as it was partly hidden behind some building work that was going on infront of the property.
Check-in was very straight forward. We were also allocated room on the 5th floor, lift still not working. The staircase area looked old and run down especially with the broken lift doors. When we finally got up to the 5th floor, there were also some renovation work going on, it was almost hard to believe our room going to be somewhere around here.
There were 2 corridors on this floor and we made the mistake of going for the one obvious to us, following the room no. on the key, we eventually came to the room with our number on the door but discovered that it was some kind of herbal medicine practice!! We turned back and found the other corridor and eventually located our room.
By now, we nearly lost all expectation of finding a decent room. However, we were pleasantly surprised, the room was actually quite nice. We had a triple room, it was clean and spaceous . It has wooden floor which was great during the winter time. There is a TV in the room, tea and electric kettle are provided, no wardrobe, only some hooks on the wall.
The cafe area had a good atmoshphere, we enjoyed having a drink here in the evening, food was fine, good music too.
Staff at reception were very efficient and helpful.
The hostel is in a very good location, you can easily walk to the Muslim Quarter, the Bell and Drum Towers.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TSC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.6 mi away
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
#8 of 332 in Xi'an
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,658 in Xi'an
755 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,658 in Xi'an
732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Youth Hostel

Address: No.1 North Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 332 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range: $26 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Tower Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bell Tower Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Tower Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing