We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience in Xi'an” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
Ranked #7 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in Xi'an”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went to Xi'an with my daughter and her husband, and we shared a private room with a traditional Chinese bed.....one big sleeping shelf with a thin cushion. But, it was actually quite comfortable. The room was spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was likewise extremely clean. The public spaces were beautifully decorated, with wifi and plenty of tables...lots of socializing going on with the many international guests. They had a good selection of beers and food. The staff had several members with good English speaking skills, and all were extremely polite and helpful. And the price was very reasonable.
Located in the south central city near the city wall, lots of shopping and restaurants, and a short walk from the Muslim Street market--a must see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    138
    42
    13
    14
See reviews for
19
51
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hostel is pretty good - the staff are brilliant, the communal areas, bar and restaurant are fantastic and the private rooms are very clean and feature ginormous Chinese style beds. The shower rooms are OK, but where I think this place was let down was the state of the toilets - the men's toilet in the building at the back of the complex was filthy. The urinal wasn't cleaned at all during our entire 3 night stay, and smelled revolting.

And the title of my review? You'll notice a baby rabbit in a cage in the corner of the dining room. It has no water and no food - rabbits need to graze constantly in order to survive, and that room gets hot during the day when the sun is up. If you see it, give it a bit of cucumber or apple from your fruit salad (complimentary with the big breakfasts!)...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I visited Xian during the student demonstrations against the Chinese/Japanese island despute in Sept. 2012. Unfortunately, the walls were closed off to citizens; and although a lovely city, I spent more time in the hostel than I had wished. However, my single room with bathroom was more than adequate and the restaurant, lounge area was great place to spend the afternoons! All in all, it is a typical Chinese building, friendly and helpful staff and yes, I would happily go here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
+ An absolutely beautiful, stereotypically Chinese building.
+ Free beer or coffee on arrival.
+ Access to 4 PCs.

Cons:
- The toilets and showers are at opposite ends of the floors and the showers aren't the best.
- Wifi is only available in reception and the bar/restaurant where, unfortunately, smoking is permitted.
- We had problems with our keycards each day and we heard many others having a dreaded '3 bleeps' meaning lots of trudging up and down stairs to reception.

Location: Very good. A 10mins walk from the tube station, 5mins from many shops and there's a supermarket around the corner.

Breakfast: Not included by a good selection to buy ranging from around ¥15.

Would I Recommend To Friends?: Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I found this hostel on hotel.com and instantly like it because of its old structure and decorations. It gives you an idea of what old big household is like years back in China. Not to mention also that it is very good value for money.

We picked a double room with toilet attached. It is an acceptable room, maybe could do with a fresh coat of paint but otherwise, it is a simple and pleasant room. Toilet do get clog so do not leave stuff lying around in the toilet. Hot water takes a little while to come and water pressure is a little low but it really is fine. Do bring your own shower gel and shampoos as they are not provided, however, towels are available. I also noticed that there is a Building B which appears to me like a newer or refurbish wing. I highly recommend that you make further inquiry on it as you might get a better room.

Pick up a brochure by the reception as it is very helpful for you to get around and finding your way back to the hostel. The hostel also has assign tour daily to many different attractions daily at a very good price. The staff at the hostel is also very very friendly and helpful.

If you are not into local Chinese food, the hotel also serve simple meals that is good for foreigners at a very reasonable price. Wifi is also available on the ground floor, as well as computer station for free internet access if you don't have your own.

Room Tip: Ask for Building B!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightning Ridge, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had private rooms on the 3rd floor with ensuites - the rooms were excellent but be ware - water covers the whole floor when you shower and pools around the toilet and vanity before gradually draining away so don't leave clothes on the floor! There are washing machines to use for 9 CNY in the laundry. Wi-fi only downstairs in the reception and bar/ restaurant areas. Food is excellent and the coffee was the best we have had in China. Planty of power outlets for your laptops/ recharging needs. Only thing that spoilt was that smoking is allowed everywhere and the restaurant area is poorly ventilated so the smoke gets really thick - bad for asthmatics or anyone who doesn't smoke!

Room Tip: Go private ensuite - the communal showers are pretty poor - the communal toilets are very clean howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kymb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a great place to stay. It is located in the south of the city, if your coming from the train station (in the north) should only cost about 12rmb in a meter taxi. It is only a 10 min walk or so to the bell tower and drum tower. The interior of the hostel is lovely feels very authentic, traditional chinese lanterns dark wood. I arrived ealry morning and got checked in really quickly the girl on reception spoke good english which made life easy since i was half asleep. The room was a 4 bed dorm comprising of 2 bunk beds, secure cupboard and dressing table. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable, the wifi worked fine as well. You can organise various tours through the hostel i took one to the terracotta army and the tour went without incident. They have an on site restaurant which does decent western food and if that wasn't enough they have a very cute kitten knocking around the place. I really liked my stay here would stay here again and would definately recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AndyH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#47 of 2,532 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#22 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
1.2 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
0.3 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel

Property: Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
Address: No.16 Xiangzimiao Street, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiangzimen International Youth HostelWe are in downtown,close to the city wall,bell tower,drum tower and the muslim street. We are within walking distance to 'food Street' and many places of interest making us a perfect base for all backpackers!our address in pinyin: nan men li,xiang zi miao,shi liu hao。 Xiangzimen youth hostel truly is a home-away-from-home with unique features such as red lanterns, carved stone benches and giant vessels filled with vibrant fish adding to the character of the place。Happy time: Pool table game at every night!Dumpling party-every friday night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xiangzimen International Youth Hotel Xi`An
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing