We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
Ranked #6 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Adams
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite simply, probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Quite simply, probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Big comfy dorm bed, all the facilities and very cheap to boot. The restaurant food isn't great but a great place to sit and pass the time. And the staff are very helpful. I had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    139
    42
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
52
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private twin here (perhaps dorms are better value) and felt it was a bit over priced for the room. The bathroom was really smelly and dirty looking and the windows were drafty and couldn't be opened. It was also really noisy in our room all night but I think parts of the hostel are quieter (it's huge).
The social area was really nice and the food is pretty good- Expensive though and so is the beer!
Maybe it was the wrong time of year but it wasn't 'lively and loud' as expected from reviews.
The staff were friendly but could have been smilier.
Overall was an average stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a building with lots of character and you feel like you are staying in China rather than a generic box. It will suit both those on a tight budget, and those who have outgrown bunk bed travelling, yet like a hostel atmosphere.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They did not try and sell me the tours and gave useful advice as to how visit places like the terracota warriors independantly and cheaply (free map).

There wa swifi in the downstairs communal areas, and 4 computers, free to use (though 2 did not work). A good book swap shelf. There is a tag system, which makes leaving luggage for a few hours on the day of depature feel secure.

I had a private ensuite room for members price of 150rmb a night. The walls were a little grubby, but it was comfortable and clean - I never saw any signs of animal life. Yes, the bed was hard, but that is typical of anywhere in China and I find them very comfortable now. The room had a kettle and tv (70 channels, though none in English), and towels. Maid service emptied the bins and changed towels each day. The room had one window, above head height.

The main place to socialise is the bar and dining room area, which is very comfortable and has a pleasant atmosphere. You can hang out there even if you are not eating and drinking. It is an active place, and I had several long conversations with locals who frequent the place to meet openminded travellers and practise their English.

There are several comments about the resteraunt being expensive. As someone who has lived and travelled in China for one and a half years, I can say the prices are quite typical, especially for western food, and nowhere in the world is beer sold for the price you pay for it in a supermarket. For breakfast I had a set menu: 2 fried eggs, beans, butter, toast, fruit salad with yoghurt, and drink (called juice but really squash) for 25rmb, not cheap (especially for someone on a tight budget), but not unreasonable and it filled me up so I did not eat lunch. I was happy as I know a small tin of baked beans costs me 12 rmb when I go shopping and the bread they serve is fantasically good compared to the dire bread sold in Chinese bakeries, which shows they are making a genuine effort to cater to western tastes. The cakes deserts are 25-30rmb each, from my experience, a totally normal cost. Western food is always more expensive in China and the prices here are a fair reflection of what you pay in most places, the Chinese sytle food is more reasonably priced. If you are wanting cheaper Chinese food then there is a noodle place directly opposite, and this hostel is located within walking distance of big shopping/eating areas.

Location: 5 min walk to the south gate of the city walls; supermarket 7mins away; airport shuttle bus (26rmb) 12-15min walk. Can easily walk to the Bell Tower (15mins), Drum Tower and surrounding streets. Very easy to get buses to different locations in the city, e.g. train station, pagodas, museums - buses cost 1 rmb per trip, just get on and put your money in the slot. Sometimes they can be crowded, but they are frequent so just wait for the next one. Hostel will give you a city map, which also lists which buses to get.

I would reccomen this as a good place to stay...I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yantai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

There was a rat large enough to remove a 200 g package of food from a bag and drag it across our room. The food was too large for the rat to drag into its hole in the bathroom. The teeth marks on the food were very large. In the hostel restaurant, my friend was served food that clearly had mouse teeth marks on it. When I brought the rodent problem to the attention of the staff, they were completely unconcerned. They freely admitted that EVERY building at their hostel had rodents, but that it was okay because they were planning to get a new cat. They offered me 100 RMB not to write a bad review, but I refused the money, feeling that I had to warn other travelers. I have lived and traveled in China for 5-1/2 years, and have never before stayed or eaten at a place that had an obvious rodent problem.

Room Tip: Watch out for rats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stumbled upon this hostel by mistake, and are glad that we did. We had a hard time finding availability in double rooms around Xi'an on that particular night, and were walking around when we happened to spot this place.

The hostel is in a beautiful building, with warm lighting and gorgeous Chinese style decoration. The bar, lobby and restaurant all look very clean, with comfortable and private seating. We didn't ever eat at the hostel, as we had heard that if is quite expensive.

Most of the staff members speak English quite well, and were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Our room was a tad on the cramped side, but none-the-less it was attractive and warm. The colours in the room were a nice change from the blank hostels we've stayed in before. The beds and pillows were soooooo comfortable, which was a first since we'd arrived in China. The bathroom was a bit old and run down, but in spite of this, it was as clean as it could be, and the hot water was reliable. The windows let in quite a bit of noise though, so be prepared to listen to a bit of horn honking, vendor squawking, and dog barking.

The hostel is in a good location - within easy walking distance to the city wall south gate, shopping centres, street food markets, etc.

Overall, I'd stay here again, and we were sad to say goodbye to our little room.

Room Tip: Try and nab a room that faces the back of the hostel. While in a quieter area, the street in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneyTennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for 3 nights, if you coming by train then send a mail or phone to the hostel they will pick you up in the railway station. There is a warm welcome when you get there, there is restaurant and bar in the hostel, never try the food it is fun to look around and choose where you wanted to go. The room are clean, the shower is so good so hot like a sauna, there is tea for free and there is a wash machine available on the floor. Four computers available for free and WiFi as well.it is a great place to go , situated in the old city near the city wall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gheefrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This sizeable hostel somehow manages to conjure the charm usually reserved for much smaller places.

It's well located, less than a ten minute walk to the airport shuttle bus stop. It's about 5 minutes from the excellent market in the Muslim quarter. They run Terracotta Army and Three Gorges tours, though I didn't do anything through the hostel.

As you go in, there is a bar with a good atmosphere and a decent pool table, which is a hang out for young local people wanting to improve their English. It serves excellent (if pricey) white beer, as well as cheaper local beers.Then you go through to the restaurant, which served good mains, though breakfast wasn't quite as good.

A lot of money and effort must have gone into setting it all up. The communal areas have a fair few full size Terracotta warriors standing around, and the place has quite a grand feel to it. The room was less spectacular, but functional. The bed was firm but comfy and the shower was excellent. The heating seemed to be on all day so we slept with the windows open even though it was nearly freezing outside.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English. There is a small dvd and board game area, though it's lacking in dvds, and the restaurant and the bar are the main place for socialising,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterslide_victory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#31 of 2,578 in Xi'an
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,578 in Xi'an
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,578 in Xi'an
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
0.6 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
#7 of 289 in Xi'an
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel

Property: Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
Address: No.16 Xiangzimiao Street, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiangzimen International Youth HostelWe are in downtown,close to the city wall,bell tower,drum tower and the muslim street. We are within walking distance to 'food Street' and many places of interest making us a perfect base for all backpackers!our address in pinyin: nan men li,xiang zi miao,shi liu hao。 Xiangzimen youth hostel truly is a home-away-from-home with unique features such as red lanterns, carved stone benches and giant vessels filled with vibrant fish adding to the character of the place。Happy time: Pool table game at every night!Dumpling party-every friday night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xiangzimen International Youth Hotel Xi`An
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing