We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible reception - no knowledge of English - but ok value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel
Ranked #1,111 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I booked this hotel for one night based on reviews on tripadvisor. For $60/night, it's not bad, but the reception and concierge services are absolutely horrific. We struggled to get a cab to the railway station in the evening - apparently cabbies can, on a whim, decide whether they want to take you or not. Not even the bellman or concierge could help us get a cab. They even refused to order us a cab. But wait, it just so happened that this wonderful hotel had a 'special' hotel car (a minivan) that would take us to the railway station for a mere 150 RMB. Keep in mind that the distance is not even 8 km. Knowing that we had to catch an overnight train to Beijing, we had no choice. Daylight robbery if you ask me.

Rooms were OK at best. Broken tiles all across the shower floors. Dust everywhere as well. Wonderful view of low-income housing from our room.

Bottom line - if you are broke, then I suppose this hotel is for you. Otherwise, don't bother.

PS - the highlight was Larry's Kitchen across the street. Absolutely excellent Singaporean/HK food. We ate there three times in less than 48 hours!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creedence111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 9, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We spent one night during a a short stopover in Xian. While it is certainly not 5 star it was perfectly fine and the location was great if your time is limited. It is at sightseeing ground zero and also convenient to the airport shuttle. It's an unfortunate fact that the nicer hotels such as the Sofitel and Sheraton are not as centrally located. Yes the rooms are a little tired and yes, the front desk English can be less than perfect but for about USD60 in a Chinese owned hotel can you really complain? I frankly think the criticisms of the previous reviewer from Brisbane are quite exaggerated. After Xian we moved on to Beijing and thoroughly enjoyed four nights at the St. Regis. Is the Union Alliance in the same league. Of course not. But for what it is it is fine. One other point - the breakfast was very good and at about USD4 a great value. Compare that to the St. Regis where it is amazing but also over USD30 and I think you get my point.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourblackstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 1, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is okay and very well placed for a tour around Xian. We arrived from an overnight train journey from Beijing and got to the hotel at 8am but we still managed to get a room.

The staff very very friendly and always went out of there way to assist with questions. There English is very good and they try to find out as much for you as they can.

Margaret was a very good and helpful Manager and organised our trip to the terracotta army.

Rooms big and tidy and free internet and coffee/ tea making facility. Breafast was excellent every day and the price was very cheap for the quality. Also, as we where staying at the hotel we received a 30% discount off breakfast.

The rooms are a little tired and require some modernisation and painting. But this is still a very good hotel.

If arriving from the over night train, make sure you go to the taxi rank, you CANNOT hail a taxi down in the street, its illegal in Xian so youll never get one.

Have the hotel in Chinese script to give to the taxi driver or just call the hotel.

Concierge is excellent and do a great job. Hotel has a small supermarket inside so if you need anthing small like milk sweets etc Youll be okay

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigwag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The receptionist could hardly speak English and unfriendly but the 2 concierges were very helpful. Went out of their way to guide us. Pointed out the way for us to get out of the street that the hotel is on, as it is tucked away in a very seedy part of town. The street was rather scary at night and extremely hideous to look at in the daytime as it was full of filth and scum.
Hotel was just okay,nothing fancy. For a recent takeover by a major player, it is rather umimpressive.
The room looked old and the lights in the bathroom was just minimal.Certainly one hotel that we would not go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windermere99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I booked sight unseen from a trip advisor review. This hotel was pure luxury for a modest $. The staff were extremely helpful and genuinely cared. The Tea Garden on the 6th floor was a great place to sit quietly in the evening surrounded by beautiful foliage. The rooms are large, comfortable and modern with free high speed internet. The area had lots of local sights, markets and comercial shopping. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,081 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,658 in Xi'an
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,658 in Xi'an
739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#37 of 2,658 in Xi'an
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel

Address: No.51 Ximutou Shi, South Street, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $22 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing