We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if it's your only option available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guilin Central Hostel
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here with some friends in January 2014. Temperature in the rooms: 5 degrees. A/C barely working. We had to sleep with the electric blankets turned on all night.
Nit a lot of choices for breakfast/ other food.
This hostel was recommended by its counterpart in Xian. They don't even compare. I'd give this one 2.5 overall.

Room Tip: Choose a twin room if you stay here. A lot more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pros: Good location, just near to everything important in Guilin.
Nice size room.
Great lobby, Kind staff that knows english well.
Free computers in the lobby.

Cons: The room was not clean.
We got the 4th floor (no elevator) and didn't have Wi-fi there.
Very noisy at night - because it is right near to the night clubs and bars.
Quite expensive! Doesn't really worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good option if you want to stay in a good location and in a place that mingles chinese vibe (our room furniture) with english speaking service. Guilin is nice for a evening walk around the lakes. I suggest you do the li river cruise with bamboo raft from yangshuo rather than the expensive and crowded big boat.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joao A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I thought it was a nice but average Backpacker's hostel. I like to be away from crowds so I didn't stay there that long, though it's right next to the lakes and so you could take long walks and watch the boats go by. There is free Internet access in the lobby which was great and the place was quite clean which was a blessing. The staff spoke English and were helpful. But they must fix the door locks on the 3rd floor and perhaps all of them as they are very shabby and shoddy. I booked a standard twin room which was big and comfortable for one guest. Unfortunately, The bathroom had nothing onto which you could put your toiletries or soap or shaver. And, the room had no hooks or anything else to hang your clothes on. Otherwise fine. The room was surprisingly cool in Summer without the air conditioner being on and it was working well.

Room Tip: Before choosing a room, ask to see it first if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Christoph... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We got an airport pick up organised by the hostel which was great as the airport is a good bit away from the main centre. Hostel is centrally located. Staff not overly welcome but are happy to answer any questions. Nice lounge area that serves good food and beer too. There is free wifi access but only from the lounge. Rooms are clean and large. We stayed in a double private room. The beds are very hard but that seems to be the norm in China. Showers have plenty of hot water and are surprisingly powerful. Really good security in the hostels with CCTV cameras all around. We did some tours organised by the hostel and they give generous discounts. All in all and great hostel with loads of positives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Slept here one night. Room was quite big, but the airconditioning did not seem to work appropriately. The door to the bathroom was half broken. Also there was no proper city map available, one of the baiscs. This was much less as comparable hotels we stayed in.
We tried to arrange the boat trip to yangshuo through the hostel. At the reception they offered a higher rate than at the airport (and what the staff member mentioned who showed us the room).
When we mentioned this, they were not willing to makenany effort (like calling the guy who showed the room) but just told us to book through the airport. We did so and had a perfect trip for 380 yuan.
The spanish restaurant in the same street is very much worth the visit if you are looking for something different than chinese food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Room was basic but spacious , and clean, stuff is friendly and speak good English.
At night this place is very quiet.
Location is nice , you can walk from here to train station or bus station. It was nice place to spend night here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oremilak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.2 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 657 in Guilin
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.5 mi away
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
1.6 mi away
Wada Hostel
Wada Hostel
#2 of 210 in Guilin
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Central Hostel

Address: No.3 Renmin Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China (Formerly Backstreet Youth Hostel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range: $11 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilin Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Guilin Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing