We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guilin Central Hostel
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while waiting to board a train to Kunming.

The positives:
The location is excellent, with lots of restaurants, shops and the pedestrian streets nearby. The local wet market is also very close.
The front desk staff are friendly and helpful
The common area is quite nice. We spent almost a day and a half there while my husband did his Internet work when it was cold and rainy and found it very comfortable.
Our double room with bath was large, though the mattress was hard and the railing around three sides of the bed was weird and awkward.
We faced the front and because the road was not a thoroughfare it was quite quiet.
It's a good place to stay in order to meet fellow travelers and share experiences.
Good value for money.

The negatives:
There is no soap provided. I don't know why they think that people staying there would travel with a supply of soap.
No wifi in the room, just in the lounge.
Rooms were a little tired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaxFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
64
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here for 3 days. First hostel we've ever stayed in and we went straight for the 7 bed mixed dorm. Very clean and felt very safe with big lockers in the room and a luggage storage room.

Met some amazing people in the dorm and in the homely lobby. Staff are fantastic. Good fun and extremely helpful, spoke great English and helped us to get everywhere. In a city that speaks no English they were happy to write everything for us in Chinese to help us get around. Absolute lifesavers, and our mandarin is much better now too!

Food in hostel is good and cheap also - around 20yuan for a big breakfast.
There was a kareoke night one night too.

We did the li river cruise with them and it was worth the money with Mr panda! Very comical guide and very informative. Catered well for two vegetarians.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here and enjoyed it. We had a room with two beds and they were surprisingly large. The common area downstairs is a good place to mingle and have some breakfast and they have the usual assortment of tours to book. We actually booked our Longsheng rice terraces tour through here and it turned out really awesome. The hostel is located right in the heart of the tourist area as well with bars and shopping stores a short walk away. I would definitely recommend staying here while in Guilin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not the best hostel ever but a pretty good one. Rooms are clean and with air con. Service is OK. People are nice.
You can have a continental breakfast at the hostel. It's quite cheap (something like 20¥) and it tastes reasonnably good considering that it's China...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It has been so long since we stayed in this hostel but from what I remember it ticked all the boxes. We only stayed for 1 or was it 2 nights before moving on. There was a nice communal vibe in the lounge area i seem to remember and the staff were lovely. Location was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great hostel, great location right in the city centre. Close to all amenities. Helpful staff. Nice lounge/lobby with great music. Tasty food. Clean room with AC. Would stay there again! Some people mentioned no wi fi in their rooms. Mine was on the second floor and I had no real problems with it.

Room Tip: No lift which can be a nightmare with luggage, choose a first or second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Arrived at the hotel in a thunderstorm via flight from Xi'an late so checked in without really sussing the place out.
The room was okay, clean but a little damp feeling - maybe it was the recent weather. The staff were okay - some more helpful than others. Mainly they just wanted to sell us trips. However the hostel is central...although I would not recommend visiting Guilin at all and heading straight to Yangshuo which is just delightful and scenic, a breath of fresh air from touristic Guilin.

Guilin wasn't really suitable for us to relax so we hung around a day to let the weather clear up and booked a trip to Longshen to see the rice terraces and ethnic minority village before moving on. When we arrived it was evident that the Chinese tourist industry had engineered the contrived village. I quote from their leaflet at the ticket office, 'Being an important part of Guilin tourism industrial, Longji now has accomodation for 6000 visitors'. Clearly not authentic at all!

After that I really don't think there is anything else to do in Guilin (even the rice terrace trip will be pointless soon - recommend Sapa, Vietnam but go hiking through the rice terraces as tourism is really accelerating at a fast pace there). Shopping and eating are the other activities - I would definitely try the noodles at the rustic food stalls and little shops hidden by the side of the high street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 619 in Guilin
952 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 619 in Guilin
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 619 in Guilin
125 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Central Hostel

Property: Guilin Central Hostel
Address: No.3 Renmin Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China (Formerly Backstreet Youth Hostel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilin Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Guilin Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guilin Backstreet International Youth Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing