We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD”
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Guilin
Ranked #1 of 648 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel has an incredible architecture. Decoration is vey modern. The staff is so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARCUELLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Modern Art is a hotel where you want to stay for a while. It's a idyllic place with grounds that are meant to be strolled, dotted with sculpture that is meant to be experienced and an atmosphere that says "relax." The rooms are clean, modern and functional but nothing special; the lobby is interesting but nothing special while the lounge and dining area are comfortable but again, nothing special. The same could also be said for the food served in the dining area - nothing special. So, you come to the Modern Art Hotel if you enjoy modern art, especially extraordinary outdoor sculpture. You can also visit the workshop used by artists in residence who come from all over the world to create the works that will become a part of the landscape. I should mention that there is what looks like a wonderful spa on the premises that I, unfortunately did not have the time to experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I have to admit, I was very nervous to book this hotel. I could not tell from the website if it was neat, or just weird. I am so glad that I kept the reservation. This hotel was a much-needed retreat after spending a week in Beijing and Xian. The surroundings are absolutely gorgeous and the hotel is a (funky) work of art. The service was incredible, as we were assigned a personal attendant for our entire visit who took care of any request we had. The hotel restaurant had good food with artistic presentation. The spa was so relaxing and a must-see. I wouldn't rave about the pool, which was freezing, but we didn't come for the pool, so . . .

I have heard people complain about how far away it is from every attraction, but we did not really mind that. How can you when you are in the middle of paradise?

Oh, don't miss the Snake Farm down the road from the hotel. It was hilarious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuktuktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Picture perfect hotel! Everything about this place was unique from the sculpture garden to the beautiful restaurant. Each room was unique. Ours had a loft and a sitting area. Service was amazing. Our kids had a great time going on bike rides around the park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abnrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Hotel of Modern Art is basically a world class sculpture garden and artists studio set among the fabulous karsts of Guilin that just happens to be a hotel too. Gary the hotel manager made our stay fabulous. Don't miss the hidden cave! Also ask for a bicycle and art tour!
The rooms are quirky and interesting. Not your run of the mill luxury resort. The restaurant is beautiful and the food is pretty good.
There are a few things that I think the hotel could improve to make the place truly world class destination. A nicer pool that is more incorporated into the sculpture theme would be a big plus. Also, a real exercise room would be a welcome addition. Right now, except of the spa and restaurant, the hotel lacks a resort/ luxury feeling that people probably expect at this price.
However, having said that, this hotel is a truly unique gem. Art lovers especially should not miss HOMA. Skip the Yanghuo hotels for this one if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardeningMomNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This was a stop on our recent Enchanted China tour with Adventures by Disney. We stayed here 2 nights. I wish we could go back to this location for a weekend getaway. (Flight would be too long!)

The grounds (sculpture garden) were amazing and so much fun to tour. We used the hotel's bicycles to ride around and take photogrpahs of the artwork. We also used one of the golf carts to tour around as well.

It was a quiet respite from our other stops in large cities and in larger hotels.

We enjoyed both the hotel bar and the breakfast - what amazing settings for food, drink and conversation. If nothing else, the hotel was whimsical and fun! Some of the folks in our group did the spa and said it was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hotel grounds are amazing - a striking ( and large) sculpture park next to the Karst (?) Mountains. We were greeted at the door with drinks and cookies. We were assigned a "host" to guide us through the stay, including a personal tour of the sculpture park in a 4 seat golf cart. Our room was clean and modern; there is art everywhere. Art classes were fun but there was minimal instruction. The spa is open until late at night - very peaceful and relaxing to take advantage of spa services at 10 pm! Dinner is served inside or outside; didn't try the set meals but enjoyed the more simple a la carte menu. Our one night stay was the perfect end to a whirlwind trip through China - a great getaway before returning to Bejing.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateisadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guilin
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 648 in Guilin
208 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 648 in Guilin
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 648 in Guilin
158 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 648 in Guilin
995 reviews
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 479 in Yangshuo County
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#3 Family Hotel in Guilin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $201 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing