We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is rooms for improvement on almost everything, but the GOs are great!”
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Guilin
Ranked #1 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to Guilin club med from the 36th nov to 30th nov. The service there was nice. We had a few GOs there who welcomed us upon arrival, and a few who sent us off. The facilities there are quite okay, rooms average, but excellent GOs, all of them made us feel welcomed and happy.

Special thanks to
Ashley- the first GO we met, I love her <3
Tina- the funniest and craziest GO, always hyper
Autumn- very friendly and nice
Jade- very nice GO, had a small talk with me
Chocolate- made me feel welcome
Lasia- so lovely
Camcam- I love her <3, for everything. She has given me lots of joy these few days. For all her weird tricks in pulling us out for the activities
Victor- had a whole afternoon talk with us over lunch, my family enjoyed his company, for his effort in pulling us for the party at night but we were really exhausted
Coral-mini club med GO who accompanied my brothers
Dennis- taught my brother the cowboy dance for performance
Jinny-for bringing us to the li river
Nada& Winnie who took care of my brothers
Sports team-for the wonderful guide in the acitivites
All other Mini club med GOs- for planning the activities, keeping us occupied and happy
And lastly all the performers for everydays night events etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_everyyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I just came back from 7 nights in Club Med Guilin, China! This is my 5th Club Med resort but my 8th Club Med trip overall. The Club Med experience is really what you make of it, you can do as much as you want or as little as you want and you can be as involved in the activities as you want or not. The landscape is absolutely beautiful, filled with art sculptures. The spa is an amazing experience just on it's own. The GO's are amazing and really make your holiday amazing. I knew a number of them from previous resorts so it was great to catch up with them. Massive thank you to Steph, Sarah, Eric, Bren and Jono for really making this a memorable holiday experience. Loved this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed there for four days in early October. It was my and my 2 kids' first time to a Club Med resort. We were impressed by the friendly staff, good service, fun activities and great food. My kids have got so attached to some of the GOs, who were really friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Victor, Alit and Brent from the Sports Department! You have made our four-day stay at Club Med Guilin fun and memorable! The scenary is fantastic too! We joined a bike tour outside the village, and it was great! Our rooms were two connecting rooms, and they were newly decorated and very comfortable with great view! My kids didn't want to leave and they were so sad on the last day. We had an awesome vacation at Club Med Guilin!

Room Tip: highly recommend connecting rooms with balcony for families. very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyAngel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in Club Med Guilin for 6 days from October 26 - November 1 with our 6-year-old daughter. It was our second stay in a Club Med, the other one being Mauritius, so it was a very different experience. We enjoyed Club Med with "a Chinese Touch" but were glad that the hotel was closer to 30% capacity than 100%... The impressive park, where all the sports activities-areas and the different buildings are scattered amongst the approx. 46ha. is very nice and we enjoyed the sweeping landscape. Unfortunately we were not very lucky with the weather; it was always rather grey and misty. Food was excellent and obviously with emphasis on Asian foods (mainly Chinese, Japanese, Korean). But there was a nice selection of Western menus as well and the bread (especially the Baguette) was extremely good. One of the Club Med’s secret of success lies with the G.O.-Team. And again, they were exceptional! Jonno, the South African Golf Pro and Bran, Indonesian and teaching Archery with passion and lots of patience, Yonnie, the American Bartender who’s mixing outstanding drinks like we’re in a bar in Manhatten, the Belgium Circus couple are just a few amongst the great team around Gilles, the very kind and competent acting Chef de Village.
Our 6 year old daughter – who actually never wanted to go a MiniClub or other KidsClubs before – wanted to spend all her time at MiniClub in Guilin. Cam Cam (Camillie) and Tina and their team do an absolutely outstanding job. There was so much to do for the kids and the G.O.’s patience, kindness and loving care for all the kids is impossible to top.
If I have to put a negative remark it would be the full blast during the shows and parties. The shows and parties are outstanding with top choreographies and originality – but they were ruined a bit for us due to the crazy loud sound.
We’d like to thank all of the G.O.’s and staff at ClubMed Guilin for an unforgettable, very special week for our first vacation week in China.

Room Tip: We were at HOMA and had a family room on the 4th floor. It was rather dark in the room withouth much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinx0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a great property! Wonderful club in the middle of amazing Guilin landscapes. Huge park, every corner looks wonderful, very nice rooms with a great design, very strong presence of art throughout the club, very nice children club (your kids will love it, very nice facilities and the club staff are wonderful), fun theater shows every evening at the complex, many sports facilities, and ideal location for a simple walk through nature...

Even more importantly, the staff there is amazing, they care for you from the arrival to the end, and make you feel so important. There is a large team of dedicated "GO" whose only goal is to take care of you.

Highly recommend this place, and it is only an hour flight from Hong Kong...

I forgot... it is all inclusive, Food and Beverage and all the activities are included in the room price...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverDragonBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have spend 3 days in the last week of October visiting from France, doing a 10 days trip in China. The Club is brand new and the first impression upon arrival was very good. A very impressive park (46 ha total) with unique lights effects at night. Rooms are OK but certainly not luxurious. No bath tube and a strangely decorated bathroom (kind of gothic design all black) with a hole in the middle open on the bed ... Large terrasse on the Park. F&b is typical Club Med. Good but nothing stellar. We had to ask for fresh squeezed juice in the morning and the buffets remain somehow basic. Evening activities are 'standard' for a CM. The bar area is VERY noisy and do not give you any privacy feeling. Occupancy was less than 30% so I do not dare to imagine how this can be when the site is fully packed with 800 guests The GO team is passable +. You clearly feel they want you to be happy but something is missing. We have spent most of days scouting the area on our own so we had no chance to test the sports.

A killing detail. The club is lost in the middle of nowhere 40 km south of Guilin. You can't get taxi there so they need to be ordered on call. 1hr wait guaranteed :( Sadly the club do not inform you so you get caught the first time. No shuttle to the two local towns Yangshow and Guilin.

Overall, this new resort s not designed particularly for overseas foreigners. First segment targeted is indeed the Chinese community. Not an issue as such but good to know if your aim is to be in a quiet place where you think you will meet mostly foreigners.

My final conclusion is this club is nice with some great assets. But certainly overpriced ... Hence the average mark

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in Club Med Guilin for 4 days from Oct24-27 with our 2 children (8years old and 3 years old). It was our first stay in a Club Med and we were very impressed by the quality of service, the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. We really enjoyed our stay, parents and children alike, and our 8 year old son who attended the Mini Club every day was very sad to leave. The variety and quality of activities organised for children thru the Mini and Petit Club was fantastic, a very big thank you to Camille and her team. The facilities at the kids club for both mini and petit club were top quality, our 3 years old daughter spent a full day with the petit club and I also took her there on my own leveraging all the toys and the playground facilities. While the kids were busy we ventured into rock climbing, going on the trapeze, played tennis, jumped in the beautiful outdoor pool for a swim with a view, went on a scenic and local village discovery biking tour, had great fun with the instructors and each had a wonderfully relaxing treatment at the Spa which we highly recommend as well. There wasn't enough time to enjoy all the other indoor and outdoor sports/activities proposed but basically if you crave for them you won't be bored! The domain on which the Club Med is located is simply unique, with majestic Guilin mountain backdrop, beautiful greenery and amazing art pieces ornating the grounds. We loved the feel of the place, a great mix of cool and authenticity. The excursions proposed by the Club are also very worthwhile booking, and in particular we sidecar sightseeing and local village life discovery trip is an unforgettable family experience, thanks to Felix who runs it and to Kikka for recommended to us. The food selection and quality was great as well, we enjoyed the various options to grab a drink during the day or the night and the shows in the evening were entertaining for everyone in the family. In the tradition of the Club Med the very international staff mingle with the guests in a subtle and friendly way and their dynamism, kindness and interesting personalities made every conversation we had with them and engaging and fun moment and they were all also eager to get honest feedback on how our stay was going, we thank Gilles from the management and his whole team for their attentive care. For all the very busy moments, there were also some very peaceful, relaxing and more private ones, as the grounds are huge which is a big plus of this resort. We hope to go back with other family friends to discover the region more.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
173 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 657 in Guilin
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 657 in Guilin
1,228 reviews
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 657 in Guilin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#3 Family Hotel in Guilin
#18 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $255 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Club Med and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing