We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into a parallel world where everything is perfect”
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Guilin
Ranked #1 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed just one night, and loved it so much I kept telling my husband I wanted to live there.

A very well run boutique property with beautifully designed rooms, which were extremely comfortable and well equipped. Set in a sculpture park which is stunning. We spent a wonderful afternoon cycling round looking at the art which is offset by the amazing local landscape. It feels like a very special escape, especially as the hotel team make you feel like their most important guest ever.

Exceptional dinner in the restaurant - cooking is world class. After cycling, and a soak in our Japanese tub the superb meal just added to the whole experience. Wish we had stayed longer as the spa looked great too.

My husband and sons (7 and 9) all liked as much as I did. What an amazing place.

Room Tip: I saw a few different rooms, they are all beautifully finished, each individual. It's not a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ServalontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

We enjoyed very much the stay in HOMA during China's Golden Week (first week in October). Although this time is a very busy one in China we got the feeling to live far away from crowds of travelling people. One great hit of HOMA is the quiet place with the amazing sculpture park embedded in nice landscape with great views to the adjacent steep rocks south of Guilin. Another great hit is the excellent food served by very friendly staff in nice atmosphere. The top hit was in anyway Candy our hostess. She introduced us in best way to get familiarized with the location in shortest time and arranged in best way our individual trips (unforgetable the bamboo boat trip on the Ylong River, the visit in Shangri-La etc.). To be complete in our report we have to address one item which needs some improvement: The compacted shower and toilet section in the guest-rooms. Gertraud and Helmut Feist / Austria

Room Tip: Ask for guest-rooms with sufficient size regarding the sanitary section (shower and toilet). Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 754Helmut754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Small property in the midst of theKarst Peaks. We received excellent service from everyone, particularly Candy our caretaker during our stay.
The food was some of thebestwe had during our extended trip
Throughout Asia, particularly dinner.
They have a stunning spa which seemed a bit pricey but the serenity was wonderful.
It is the outdoor sculptures, probably a 100 of them which provides the special uniqueness of this property. Artists from all over the world have created the works which have been set in a parklike setting with ponds, trees and streams adding to the beauty of the art.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skenewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for several nights, bicycled in the hills nearby, and tried a world-famous gourmet traditional restaurant nearby. Because modern sculptures are so carefully placed around the property, we naturally asked 'Who built all this?' We learned the Taiwanese wealthy owner is what in America we call a "self-made" entrepreneur, who deeply admires modern artists and sculptors, and invites them to be his hotel guest for months, and to use his fully equippped studios. The restaurant is excellent, as you migtht expect of a Relais et Chateau. The staff go far beyond, and are smart, kind, thoughtful, and delightful. Every guest is made to feel a star. But most of all I was touched by the realization that the greatest work of art is the hotel and its architecture. The most greatest artist of all, at the Hotel of Modern Art, is the owner who brought more creativity. commitment, originality that even the sculptors. It was really great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fourwindsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at HOMA. We were assigned a most helpful host Candy Wu who showed us the hotel, gave a lengthy tour of the extensive sculpture garden and their special spa. Food was excellent, we had their special hot pot which was presented in a very elaborate way. The room layout is not very well planned - especially the bathroom.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it to our friends.

Lana and Jim

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LanaKinoshita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family stayed at the HOMA hotel for 2 nights and we wish it could have been a lot more. The hotel has acres of land, including the sculpture gardens, spa, hotel, restaurant, arts center, bike trails, and a cave.
We could not believe how beautiful and peaceful this hotel was amidst a small village. The contrast between the farmers harvesting the rice with water buffalos, and the artistic and beauty of this hotel is astonishing.
Our rooms were well appointed, although I would have to agree that other 5 star hotels have a bit more luxurious touches. We did not miss anything in the room and the bed was the most comfortable bed we slept on during our 2 week journey.
The food was fantastic. We had a five course chinese dinner which was over the top. Breakfast included egg station, pancakes, meats, fruits, and any chinese food you heart desired. If they did not have it, all you had to do is ask for it.
The Spa is worth every penny. We all enjoyed a wonderful massage. The massage rooms were huge and so well done.
Gary, the hotel manager, was very friendly and always helpful.
Totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check websites like Splendia. We got our room including r/t transportation to the airport, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandygmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the HOMA; ultimate relaxation; great food, gardens and staff service. We were assigned a personal assistant, Jessica, who made sure we were satisfied every minute of our stay. Service was impeccable. Pricey but well worth the experience. If you go to Guilin, this is the hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JS613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 652 in Guilin
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 652 in Guilin
1,226 reviews
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 652 in Guilin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#3 Family Hotel in Guilin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $241 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing