We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sculptures on the property are worth a visit by themselves.”
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Guilin
Ranked #1 of 613 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The sculptures on the property are worth a visit by themselves.”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Small property in the midst of theKarst Peaks. We received excellent service from everyone, particularly Candy our caretaker during our stay.
The food was some of thebestwe had during our extended trip
Throughout Asia, particularly dinner.
They have a stunning spa which seemed a bit pricey but the serenity was wonderful.
It is the outdoor sculptures, probably a 100 of them which provides the special uniqueness of this property. Artists from all over the world have created the works which have been set in a parklike setting with ponds, trees and streams adding to the beauty of the art.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skenewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    246
    69
    27
    28
See reviews for
666
133
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for several nights, bicycled in the hills nearby, and tried a world-famous gourmet traditional restaurant nearby. Because modern sculptures are so carefully placed around the property, we naturally asked 'Who built all this?' We learned the Taiwanese wealthy owner is what in America we call a "self-made" entrepreneur, who deeply admires modern artists and sculptors, and invites them to be his hotel guest for months, and to use his fully equippped studios. The restaurant is excellent, as you migtht expect of a Relais et Chateau. The staff go far beyond, and are smart, kind, thoughtful, and delightful. Every guest is made to feel a star. But most of all I was touched by the realization that the greatest work of art is the hotel and its architecture. The most greatest artist of all, at the Hotel of Modern Art, is the owner who brought more creativity. commitment, originality that even the sculptors. It was really great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourwindsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at HOMA. We were assigned a most helpful host Candy Wu who showed us the hotel, gave a lengthy tour of the extensive sculpture garden and their special spa. Food was excellent, we had their special hot pot which was presented in a very elaborate way. The room layout is not very well planned - especially the bathroom.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it to our friends.

Lana and Jim

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaKinoshita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family stayed at the HOMA hotel for 2 nights and we wish it could have been a lot more. The hotel has acres of land, including the sculpture gardens, spa, hotel, restaurant, arts center, bike trails, and a cave.
We could not believe how beautiful and peaceful this hotel was amidst a small village. The contrast between the farmers harvesting the rice with water buffalos, and the artistic and beauty of this hotel is astonishing.
Our rooms were well appointed, although I would have to agree that other 5 star hotels have a bit more luxurious touches. We did not miss anything in the room and the bed was the most comfortable bed we slept on during our 2 week journey.
The food was fantastic. We had a five course chinese dinner which was over the top. Breakfast included egg station, pancakes, meats, fruits, and any chinese food you heart desired. If they did not have it, all you had to do is ask for it.
The Spa is worth every penny. We all enjoyed a wonderful massage. The massage rooms were huge and so well done.
Gary, the hotel manager, was very friendly and always helpful.
Totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check websites like Splendia. We got our room including r/t transportation to the airport, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandygmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the HOMA; ultimate relaxation; great food, gardens and staff service. We were assigned a personal assistant, Jessica, who made sure we were satisfied every minute of our stay. Service was impeccable. Pricey but well worth the experience. If you go to Guilin, this is the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JS613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Gary Deng, the hotel manager took us under his wing. He treated us like royalty. Mr. Deng took us on a personal tour of the hundred, or more acres of sculpture gardens. The hotel walls are covered with modern art of museum quality. The hotel had a driver pick us up and deliver us back to the airport. They also arraigned a cruise on the Li River and had a car pick us up at the end of the cruise. Thanks to Mr. Deng, t is the best hotel stay we ever had.

Room Tip: Every room is different, but perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Spending 2 days in Homa was the best coronation of 26 beautiful days on our visit to China. The hotel is special on its elegance, service, works of art, food and ambience.
All the good things were even better with the help of Maggie, a beautiful chinese hostess that stayed with us during the 2 whole days. Her information where precious and her translation to english "saved" us. Our congratulation to Homa that hires a so special tour guide like Maggie.
We would came back ten times if it wasn't the enormous distance to Brasil.
Thank you
Valeria e Francisco Pierotti

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpierotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 613 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 613 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 613 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 613 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Property: Club Med Guilin
Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#3 Family Hotel in Guilin
#18 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing